We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all hostels were like this - WOW!”
Review of The Ritz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just stayed at The Ritz in Killybegs this July 2013 and IT WAS AWESOME! My family of three (9 year old) had a great stay. This hostel was much closer to a hotel room than a hostel. Everything was clean in the room, bathroom and in the common rooms. We cooked in the kitchen and were happy. The other guests we met were also quite happy. The hosts were very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JA_PRUFR0CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed as I always thought that hostels were not my style.Though when I stayed at the ritz hostel I was very happy with services,the greeting was like I was one of there own family members, not to mention the lovely large rooms with your own bathroom and comfortable beds.We also got a great continental breakfast each morning and the kitchen was really large, clean and fully equipped. I was originally booked for an apartment else where though after staying at the ritz for one night I decided to stay for the rest of my holidays.I would recommend this hostel to everyone and also couples with kids really ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabrinarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spent last weekend there - absolutely one of the best hostels I've stayed in! Clean, spacious, ideal location, great facilities and very friendly staff. We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Killybegs!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galwaygaloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We selected this because it had laundry available. It was inexpensive and centrally located, but the property is old, and shows it's age. The washer was tiny, and not available after 10:00, and the dryer took two hours to dray a load. Breakfast was cereal and breads/toast that you fixed yourself. The host and hostess on duty were very pleasant and helpful, and there was a large lounge area to sit, and the kitchen seemed able to handle fixing your dinner if you didn't want to eat out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend, I recently stayed in a double room in the Ritz. Having travelled a journey from Dublin, I was greeted by Charles, a true Donegal gentleman who assisted me with my luggage.I found the room to be spacious, comfortable and it catered for all my needs. On arrival, I was very tired and settling in with ease I slept very well with no disturbances. The hostel was very clean and the staff were warm and welcoming . There was free car parking and a continental breakfast was included which was an added bonus. The kitchen was large, with all mod cons. The hostel was centrally located on main street and all attractions were within walking distance. I must commend the owner Clare for her help when I asked for directions to Fintra Beach. On a noticably busy morning at reception, she kindly took the time to advise me on the best route and recommended a local spot to stop for lunch. I enjoyed the hospitality here and I will most definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

THree of us stayed in a room for 6 located at the front of the hostel. The room was well-maintained, as warm as appropriate, and quiet. The double bed had a broken board that had not been detected by hotel staff. Killybegs is a small fishing village and their are limited things to do when it is raining, as it was on our visit. The kitchen is well stocked and the staff and manager are friendly and helpful. The lounge is quite comfortable and seems to be heated separately from the bedrooms. Clean bath and push button shower gives about 30 sec. of nice hot water. Just keep pushing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank compost4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice, big and clean family room ensuite.
Breakfast was self service but there were all the things you need for a continental breakfast. You can eat in the dining room near the kitchen. There's a small car park. The owner is very kind and is willing to answer to your questions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorenaprimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killybegs
0 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
715 reviews
8.7 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Seawinds B&B
Seawinds B&B
#1 of 8 in Killybegs
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holly Crest Lodge
Holly Crest Lodge
#5 of 8 in Killybegs
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz

Address: Chapel Brae, Killybegs, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Killybegs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Killybegs
Price Range: $63 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ritz 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Ritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing