We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country charm hosted by a delightful family.”
Review of Glenlohane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanturk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenlohane
Ranked #1 of 3 Kanturk B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Country charm hosted by a delightful family.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Glenlohane located down a beautiful country road was worth the trip to Kanturk. If you want to experience real county living it is the place to go. Melanie, Desmond and Gordon made us truly welcome and part of the family. It is a must place to stay in North Cork. Make sure you see the horses they are beautiful!. Melanie is a delightful cook, the dining room is full of charm and history. Desmond can help with anything you would like to see or do as he is a wealth of knowledge. FYI if you are on a motorcycle trip thru Cork it is the perfect location to see the south west of Ireland. Gordon will make sure you are directed to the best spots available most tourist spots are within an hour in any direction. My advice is to stay more than one night like we did as it is a perfect base to travel from you will not want to leave. Scenery is wonderful the cool quiet nights made sleeping great. D&G Canada

Room Tip: All the rooms offer a clean quiet rest that every traveller desires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your gracious note and sorry for my untimely response. We took a serious beating with the roof of just about every building and trees went down that would even make His Lordship weep - we all did. A lot I might add. On the motorcycling note, we have added a Motorcycle Touring page and do hope to bring this to a new level as - like you kindly shared - our position in Kanturk can't be beat. Who knew??! My bikes are in bits and am hoping to have one road worthy in the next week.....we shall see!
Cheers and I hope to see you again soon,
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Locarno, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

You remember that particular feeling of excitment, when you have found a real treasure; one you only want to share with your most intimate of friends and family?
.. well that’s what Glenlohane has become for us!

We have heard many a story about the Irish charm, the warm friendly welcome, the breath of fresh air, the full-bodied enthusiasm, the local knowlegde that is willingly shared with newcomers. Add to that the utmost adaptability to continous changes of our family holiday plans, an admiring resourcefullness, a never ending font of historical facts, intriguingly told anecdotes and delicious, amazingly prepared and decorated food in the splendid setting of an 18th century country Manor house. And if you think you cannot top that, you obviously have not met the genuine personalities of your hosts, Desmond, Melanie and Gorden of the Sharp-Bolster family.

Whether you choose the Bed&Breakfast accommodation at the Manor house, set in acres of landscaped garden and bordering rolling meadows, with horses, sheep, peacocks, guineafowl and dogs for company on your morning stroll along the entrance alleyway; or you opt for the quirky adorable little cottage just down the country-lane, self-catering - or you use both, arriving as an extended family as we did. Glenlohane remains the ideal base for touring county Cork and across borders into Kerry and Limerick from a quiet, well hidden and “off-the-beaten-track” base.

Desmond, Melanie and Gordon made our stay a unique, memorable and truly Irish experience, where all the kind personal touches with which they spoiled us will remain in our hearts long after we have rolled out of the comfort of those magnificent beds and driven through the stone gate posts under century old fir trees for the last time.

Why we do share our treasure now with you ?
This is just in case you run out of luck on your own “treasure hunt”!

Room Tip: All rooms at the main house and in the cottage are lovingly and individually decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archibald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
It was so great having you all. Sorry for the untimely reply to a most kind overture on your part. I do hope that you will all come and storm Glenlohane again with your warmth and your interest and your appreciation for everything. The hurricanes gave us a good beating this winter but the flowers are out offering us a gift of kindness-truly heaven sent.
Cheers,
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As a travel agent I've stayed in properties around the world and Glenlohane stands out as a personal favorite. The elegance and luxury of a five star property combine with the warmth and ambiance of this historic country home to create an atmosphere that is truly unique and memorable. Room to roam, a quiet lane to walk, a borrowed book to read in front of a warm winter fire; Glenlohane is a respite far from the maddening crowd yet it is perfectly located to explore Southwest Ireland. Add lovely hosts in the Sharp-Bolsters and my Ireland experience is made perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed but I especially enjoyed soaking in the long deep t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LdJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your timely and most gracious words (and here is my untimely response to it). We all hope to see your return in the not-too-distant future and although we have been hammered by the hurricanes, the daffodils are out bigger then ever in response to our wettest weather in 68 years I think it is! Please say hello to all on the home front and I can see you in the news so I hope that we can book an appointment with you...
Cheers,
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Glenlohane is a majestic country estate. From the well groomed landscaping to the beautiful garden cared for by the Sharp-Bolster family. My wife and i stayed at Glenlohane for her birthday. An easy drive from Shannon Airport ,from the moment we drove up the winding drive we knew we were in a magical place.

Greeted at the door by Desmond, he's a character! Always a smile and a story in a classic British isles accent. The historic country manor has been in the Sharp-Bolster family for 11 generations. I asked if they knew William Wallace or Mel Gibson, it would seem they do not, him being Scottish. But i digress. The setting is incredible. Words and photos do not do it justice. From the horse paddock and barn to sheep grazing in close-by fields.

Melanie is a true gracious lady and was extremely helpful in pointing out places to see and the best dining spots. That is if you have room after the full Irish breakfast served at times in the quaint eat-in kitchen complete with fireplace. A perfect backdrop for Desmond's stories. My wife's favorite place. Don't tell Desmond but I believe it was the fireplace!

Their son Gordon is the General Manager he was kind enough to take us on a guided tour south of Cork. I do not know if he does this for every guest, but he is full of local history and very entertaining. Must be a genetic trait.

The rooms are spacious, warm and filled with antiques. As the title of this suggests if you do not stay at Glenlohane you have missed a gem on the Emerald Isle. When you reluctantly leave Glenlohane and the Sharp-Bolsters it's as though you leaving family and a place anyone would love to call home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-the-Grape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Sir, I am desperately trying to get up to speed with everything after ye olde hurricane....and to learn the wholly grail of TripAdvisor. Therefore, and late as it is, thank you for your most kind note. You are always welcome here and the leprechauns (Sharp-Bolsters) miss you both a lot. Your friend, Gordo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2005

Locatd on a quiet country road in County Cork, Glenlohane is a Georgian country house built in 1741 by the owner's family. We stayed here for the last three nights of our ten-day trip to Ireland, and while we thoroughly enjoyed each place we stayed, Glenlohane was the MOST wonderful. Desmond and Melanie Sharp-Bolster are consummate hosts, and we felt as though we were guests of the house. When I asked if I could visit the stable yard, Desmond smiled, waved his arm and said "Of course! You may go wherever you like!" and made me feel he meant it. Desmond is a great teller of tales, to suit any interest, from horses to 16th centruy history. Both the house and grounds are very beautiful. Everywhere the eye rests in the house, there will be something lovely and interesting to gaze upon and admire. Our bedroom looked out on the green green lawn dotted with sheep, and the bed itself was soooo comfortable, with the very finest linens. And the tub! Very deep and delightful. I wish we could have stayed longer. Much longer. **Take a look at their website (---).

Helpful?
6 Thank NaMacD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon sharp-bo... s, General Manager at Glenlohane, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
By the way I am Desmond and Melanie's son Gordon and I just wanted to thank you so much for the time you took and the nice things you said. I am doing my best to get up to speed with all of the things here and, as you might imagine, the learning curve is steep; TripAdvisor notwithstanding. Do hope you might come again and Mom and Pop are well. Oh, I created a group in Facebook called Glenlohane Country House which gives a great deal of all the goings-on over here if you care to peruse it.
Cheers, Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanturk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlohane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlohane

Property: Glenlohane
Address: kanturk, county Cork, Kanturk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kanturk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kanturk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neither an hotel or a professional guest house, Desmond, Melanie and their son, Gordon, run Glenlohane as an extremely private house with an air of friendly informality so unique to Irish Country House Bed and Breakfasts. Certainly not considered a 'room for the night' type of B&B, there are no public signs at the roadside to draw the attention of casual visitors. Guests are welcomed on a pre-arranged basis and know where they are going by the detailed directions in this web site. There are no public and private quarters as in a professional place and guests may use facilities of the entire house as if staying with friends. There are family dogs and a cat in the background and animals play a large part of life at Glenlohane. Less than a quarter of a mile away, and still on the farm, is a Self Catering Cottage that can be rented on a weekly basis. Apart from farm animals, there are also horses, ponies, fantail pigeons and bantam hens in the traditional stable yard.Whether it be at Glenlohane for B&B or Glenlohane Cottage for self catering, staying is for the discerning visitor who wishes to learn more about Ireland's history and culture through personal contact with the owners. One is also well positioned for sightseeing throughout the Scenic Southwest of the country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing