We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Communion Dining 5 Star Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Communion Dining 5 Star Experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were a family of 11 booked for Communion lunch on 10th May.The room we were given was beautiful, and it was a great surprise to have the room to ourselves. The food was superb and the service was excellent. Our daughter was made feel like a princess on the day. I cannot rate the hotel highly enough, and to have had such an experience on a very busy day in the hotel is a credit to the staff and management.

I certainly will be returning to the hotel in the near future for other family occasions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Alison,

Many thanks for your kind review. It was our pleasure to look after you and your daughter at her recent communion. We are delighted you enjoyed celebrating her special day with us here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

All the team at Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    156
    73
    24
    25
See reviews for
256
227
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed as Father of the groom recently and can't rate the hotel,grounds or staff highly enough.The owner/ manager,Michael,is a true gent and couldn't do enough.
The rooms are cosy and well appointed.
All in all an excellent hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tadhg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Tadgh L,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you and the other wedding guests enjoyed your sons recent wedding reception with us. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and it was our pleasure looking after you and the whole wedding party.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Michael Magner and all the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This review should be in two parts
Part 1, The hotel receptionist is very friendly and allowed us to check in early without demur. The room was spacious and clean with a nice bathroom and had everything we needed. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was nice and quiet. Unfortunately the breakfast was a big letdown, it reminded me a bit of Fawlty Towers. Breakfast is served from 7.30 to 10.30 which I would suggest could be extended at weekends.. we arrived at 10.25 to find no staff around. A lady came out of the kitchen and ignored us, when I asked if we could have a table she told us yes if you can find a clean table, she then proceeded to clear the breakfast food buffet away. The attitude was it was now 10. 30 and breakfast is over. There was no bread, butter, orange juice and the hot food left was dried up. The lady, the cook I think, plated up some left overs for us.
Several waitresses finally appeared and we managed to get some tea and bread for toast. The atmosphere was awful and we got the impression we were in the way. Several other guests arrived at around 10.40 and one gentleman gave the waitress a tip to get them some hot food.
Such a pity that the breakfast left such a sour taste when the rest of our stay was without fault.

Part 2
As a wedding reception venue the hotel is superb. The food, the service and the overall presentation is without a doubt one of the best. The room is beautifully decorated and the whole reception went like clockwork. Nothing but praise for the wedding reception staff.
The hotel is set in its own grounds and is secluded. It is a few miles from Cork city center and a car is required because of a lack of public transport.
I can't make up my mind whether to give service very good for the wedding or very bad for the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bellewaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear BelleWaterford,

We are delighted you enjoyed the wedding reception with us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are thrilled that we were able to look after you and the other wedding guests so well.

In relation to the breakfast at the hotel, unfortunately we would find it difficult to extend it later as we start serving lunch from 12noon and lunch and Sunday Buffet are extremely busy here which requires our chefs to begin preparing in the morning. Also as all our food is cooked from fresh each day it requires ample preparation for lunches. We take complaints very seriously and we will be investigating your other comments about breakfast further. We constantly want to improve customers experiences here at the hotel and any issues experienced by our guests helps us to do so.

Once again, thank you again for taking your time to write the review.

Kind Regards,
All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Very customer focussed; excellent staff; beautiful clean rooms; great food and good value for money. Would go back again. Highly recommended. Staff were extremely courteous and nothing was too much effort.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Enda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Enda K,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and thank you for your lovely recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

All the team at Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling-angel01
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I reviewed this hotel already but it seems I was too hasty. Upon checking my bank account I noticed they had taken out the payment twice, one as a pre authorisation that I was told would act as payment upon check out. Well, they also took out a full amount again days later. I rang yo query this and was basically told in polite terms deal with it, we don't really care. The pre authorised amount will eventually make its way back, but I questioned the staff about whether or not it would come out twice and was told it would not. I don't know about others but I don't have money to throw away and needed that money for my direct debit electricity bill. My account will now be in arrears due to Vienna Wood Hotel. Thanks. Shoddy dealings and no attempt made to rectify it or appease the customer. Even worse we were returning customers who had also stayed at their sister hotel. Well, we shall not be returning. For shame Vienna Woods. For shame.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling-angel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear travelling-angel01,

Thank you for your recent review, we are glad that you enjoyed your evening spent with us here in our family run hotel.

As this is a public forum we would like to respond to some of your difficulties that you had with our hotel for the benefit of all of our guests.

After further investigation, the amount in question was not taken from your account – it was held as a preauthorisation by your bank and the hotel does not have any access to this money. We have to take a preauthorisation as a security measure from all of our guests.

As this is an issue with your bank and it is unfortunate that this has happened we would still like to apologise for any way that this bank fault has made you have a negative view of our hotel.

We hope the bank has since rectified the issue and we hope this will not alter your perception of your pleasant experience at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.

Kind Regards,
All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here recently for 4 nights B&B basis. We received a very friendly warm welcome from a nice chatty lady at reception. We found the room to be clean and very comfortable especially the bed and the pillows we slept very well. The bathroom was clean but was in need of a re fresh, The reception area and bar areas were nicely decorated and very clean and tidy. The breakfast room was bright and welcoming, there is a selection of hot or cold breakfast. The full Irish breakfast was very tasty indeed but the food containers did not keep the food hot at all everything was just say warm, the plates were also under a heater but again the plates were not even warm? you need to address this issue as its such a shame when you serve a lovely tasting breakfast. The breakfast staff were also very friendly and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay at the Vienna Woods and felt it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MONDRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Mondron,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are thrilled to hear you found it to be good value for money as we constantly strive to offer a competitively priced service.

Thank you for your feedback, we take customer direction very seriously and continuously look for ways to improve the experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Spent a weekend here in April, attending a wedding we had a great time. room was lovely, staff were great throughout the hotel. Food was delicious. Great choice for breakfast. Wedding Dinner was really great and the service was brilliant. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Belle1996,

Thank you for taking your time to write your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel. Our customer service and satisfaction are our main priority and we were thrilled to have looked after you when you attended a wedding here recently.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,464 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing