We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful people. Wonderful place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wonderful people. Wonderful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Michael and his staff took excellent care of us after an unexpected event left our group of eight stranded in Cork. They went above and beyond to help us not only recover from the shock but also to enjoy the remainder of our trip in Ireland. And we did. We had a fabulous time in Ireland and our stay at Vienna Woods made that possible.

The hotel is lovely. The decor elegant. It's close enough to Cork City and the airport for convenience, but far away enough to get a taste of Irish country. We went into town for a night out armed with recommendations from the hotel staff. The restaurants and pub they suggested were both great. As for our rooms, we had no complaints. Breakfast was hearty and plenty, with a choice between Continental and traditional Irish.

If you can, I would recommend getting up early and going for a walk or run along the river nearby. Most of us did (alone or in pairs), and we thoroughly enjoyed it. (Left takes you through a small village and right takes you towards the city.) I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiaTenacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Giatenacious,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write your review. We were delighted to look after you here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and are glad you enjoyed yourself. We were happy to help assist you in any way that we could and glad that you could recover from the shock of your incident by relaxing in the comfort of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,
Michael Magner and All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    148
    64
    22
    23
See reviews for
231
218
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just stay here overnight room was fine and staff very helpful. Breakfast was good. I would liked to have stayed longer and would go back. It is outside the town so a car is essential to commute to cork city about 15 minute drive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7980forest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear 7980Forest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write your review. We were delighted to look after you here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and are glad you enjoyed yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards,
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding in Vienna woods in October.stayed in the cottages on the grounds for one night and the hotel for the second night both really nice.food excellent in the hotel and the staff are top notch.Only downside it's 20mins outside cork city which in fairness isn't alot.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithers180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Smithers180,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write your review. We were delighted to look after you here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and are glad you enjoyed yourself in our cottages which offer a nice family alternative and a home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

You can not miss the push of the hotel's desire to host weddings. The books and ads fill the lobby area. The desk staff were very helpful with check in and out, as well as directions to the room and facilities. The room was missing the hair dryer as advertised, the desk chair had way too much wobble to feel safe to sit in, and the toilet took a few handle moves to get a flush. Glad it was a bit of offseason, and we need more rest then amenities, as our first night in Ireland after a day of site seeing and travel arrival.

Room Tip: Please review that all items are in order before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking your time to review the hotel. We really appreciate your feedback.

We regret that there was no hairdryer in your room. Normally, they are in the drawers in the vanity area and every single bedroom in the hotel has its own hairdryer. If we had been made aware of the issue we would have been pleased to rectify it immediately.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself relaxing and unwinding in the hotel after a busy day of sightseeing.

Kind Regards,
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Laurel, NJ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

However, it is outside of town, so be prepared to drive if you want to go anywhere, it is not within walking distance of the town. Pros were the breakfast was good and the dinner was fantastic, so they definitely have good cooking staff. The room was very clean, but needed updating, it was dark and not inviting at all. Also, my bath was within the suite but not close to the bed, very odd shaped corner room. Cons - outside of town, my bed was not comfortable at all.
Staff very helpful and friendly. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefAnnMt_Laurel_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear ChefAnnMt_Laurel_NJ,

We were delighted to look after you during your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. While we are outside the city centre, the hotel offers a tranquil surrounding to return to and relax after a busy day of shopping and only a short ten minute drive away.

It was our pleasure having you with us.

Kind regards
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a family wedding .Was a great place for a wedding ,its in a lovely setting and the hotel is lovely inside ,food was good staff very friendly and did a great job,everyone had a great time .
Had a good nights sleep and a lovely breakfast the next morning. Love the different rooms ,would stay again any time ,so close to cork and midleton .Sorry Iam not sure what else i can write but the review has to be 200 characters , Would be a great place for any kind of faction .

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank swiwi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Swiwi51,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write your review. We were delighted to look after you here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and are glad you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

For those of you looking for an unforgettable wedding in Cork or Ireland, look no further than Vienna Woods hotel. Hotel Director Michael Magner and his team were a dream to work with from day one while looking for a wedding venue to night of the special event. He certainly has a unique way with making you feel special and making your wedding day and preparation stress free. WE had an added level of complexity as we were planning from overseas but Michael definitely made it all easy, accomodating our times and making himself available over skype.

We had many many requests of the hotel for the wedding day, all of which they accomodated without question. We really couldn't have asked for anything else. Michael orchastrated everything with a touch of class which I've yet to see at any other wedding in my life.

The hotel iteself is charming, clean, quiet, coupled with extremely friendly staff it made for a perfect few days there. Not one of our guests had a complaint, they loved the food, loved the welcome they got and didn't want to leave afterwards! This hotel really had a lot to do with our guests "Dream Stay" in Ireland.

Having sampled lunch and dinner on seperate occasions here as well I'd also highly recommend this place for meals.

We'll be forever grateful to this hotel for making this day so special to us, thanks again everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was away from the banquet room. Everything was extremely quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Ollie,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. Here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel we pride ourself on our attention to detail and our high levels of customer service so we are delighted to hear about your wonderful wedding experience with us.

It was a pleasure looking after you and your wedding guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st Wedding Anniversary.

Kind Regards,

From all the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing