We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday brunch was average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautifully located and with a good reputation, my family and I were looking forward to Sunday brunch last week.
We waited longer than am comfortable with at the restaurant entrance, especially as the person was standing next to us typing in bills. The restaurant wasn't that busy and so that was disappointing. Once we sat, a few minutes later a lady came to us and asked us, "what are we having". This was confusing for everyone as we thought she meant a drink but instead we eventually realized it was the brunch choice.
The appetizer selection was basic however the soup was good. The chefs on the carvery and stations were pleasant and helpful. The turkey wasn't great but the beef and other dishes were nice.
The best thing about this brunch was the dessert selection which calls you back again and again. There is also a place for young children to play.
Overall, it's nice but our experience was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRHEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Owner at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear HRH Eire

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Sunday Buffet Lunch here at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, while we appreciate feedback, it is also important that reviews are balanced to allow the trip advisor community the opportunity to have the complete overview of an experience.

We have investigated your observations and have identified where your perceptions and our decisions on service may be at odds

1. On occasion tables which are reserved may encounter minor delays, this is because either they arrive ahead of their appointed time or that they may in fact run late, either way each table when booked is allocated space and while a table may be vacant and one may get the impression that other tables are also vacant, these tables are pre-set and pre-booked. If guests are not seated in an orderly fashion it can lead to frustrating queues at the main course, as this section of our self service buffet is actually carved and served by our personnel.

2. You and your party were asked what you were having as there are two choices, hence two price point options available for guests. For €24.99 per adult you can enjoy all three courses (starter, main course and dessert) plus one child eats free per adult based on the full Sunday buffet option. The second option is for a two course option from the three available for €19.99, this option does not include free dinning for children. All this information is clearly displayed at the entrance reception room to the buffet and is entitled ‘Important Notice’. A future service improvement for us will be to ask persons if they have made a decision on what choice of courses they wish to avail of, as is evident from your comment not all our guests read the notices on display.

3. It is our opinion that for the price we charge, our selection offered represents excellent value, you mention that our starter selection was poor with soup and seafood, again, for the benefit of the TripAdvisor community and for your information should you wish to revisit in the future, our starter selection also has cold meats, mixed salad leaves, potato cakes or mussels, pasta salad, potato salad and coleslaw along with tomatoes, peppers and onion salads.

4. We accept your point about our Turkey and it can indeed be dry but we are doing our best to address this with our supplier and adapt a different cooking method where perhaps a mix of steam and roasting may be more appropriate, this is a trial and error, however it should also be noted that we engage with customers at all times and feedback is generally always positive.
Thank you for your comments regarding our desserts which also includes a crepe station for your enjoyment we will relay your comments to our team.

Finally, and again, thank you for taking the time to review our Sunday buffet, and should you decide to visit again we would be delighted to meet you personally and take you through all the details of our offering, as it is regretful that you did not point your observations out to us during your visit and perhaps you would then not have had to taken so much time in writing your review as we would have been more than happy to clarify your observations there and then.

Warm regards,
Michael Magner
Director of Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 785 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is charming and everything about it is perfect. A special shout out to hotel director Michael Magner and his staff for taking such good care of our group after we had been through some difficult times earlier that day. Setting foot in that hotel changed our trip to Ireland magically for the better. Michael and his team took care of everything in Cork and our travels thereon for us. Vienna Woods is flawless - rooms, service, breakfast, hospitality, location, the property. Go for it!

Room Tip: We had rooms in different sections of the hotel and they were all good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gs217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear gs217,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel. We are very happy that we were able to help improve your 'difficult times' and hope we helped you in every way that we could.

We would love to welcome you through our doors again so if you ever are visiting Ireland again pop in to visit our team.

Kind Regards,

From Michael all the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The title may make some skeptical viewers pause, but what I’ll describe below should give you some insights as to why this institution is deserving of such praise.

During a recent stay at the Vienna Woods, my friends and I experienced a detour in our original plans which required a bit of intervention. While the detour would normally suggest a negative turn of events, our detour landed us at the Vienna Woods Hotel where much to our amazement; it set us on the most brilliant journey in Ireland.

Without jumping ahead into all the other aspects of our trip that were magical, I want to highlight the incredible service we received at the hotel. Michael, the owner, and his staff were swift in making arrangements for our group and accommodating us with regard to every possible need. In situations like ours, it was difficult to clearly sort out what is required and make decisions quickly without researching and consulting with each other, but he and his staff were resourceful and efficient, which essentially meant that everything was effortlessly sorted with professionalism and grace. He assisted with transportation to and from hotel and around the city, reserving car service, identifying and reserving hotel stays for our later destinations…it was extraordinary. The mantra “no bother” was repeated often, but it was literally true and executed to the highest and smallest of requests.

To have the management take responsibility and be so proactive and supportive was more than any of us could have imagined. He negotiated on our behalves fairly and with transparency. He’s connected and thus we were connected. From my own perspective and I believe my friends would echo this comment, we were treated more like old friends or family, not just random customers. If any of the readers remember the American sitcom “Cheers”, there’s a phrase in the theme song “…Sometimes you want to go, where everybody knows your name, and they're always glad you came. “ , the Vienna Woods is that place for us.

The hotel itself is clean and quaint with lovely grounds tucked beautifully amongst the trees just off the motorway. There’s a nice walking path in front of the hotel along the lake, which is great for a morning walk or jog. The morning breakfast was delicious and the homemade jams are yummy too and also available for purchase. The staff is friendly, resourceful, and always willing to help in any way possible. I greatly respect how Michael interacts with his staff showing incredible trust and confidence that everyone is of the same mind in providing the utmost customer service.

If you are looking for a place that ignites all your traveling senses, I encourage you to visit Vienna Woods.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbs_S_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Barbs S 2013,

Thank you for your kind words about the high level of service you received here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel. We are delighted that the mantra 'no bother' was referred to bacause here at the hotel there really is 'no bother' in helping our customers in any that way we can. We are so happy that we helped make your 'detour' an enjoyable experience for you.

If you are visiting Ireland again we would love to welcome you back through our doors.

Kind Regards,

Michael Magner and All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was traveling with 7 other friends and we had an unexpected change of plans. We needed a place to stay and we were recommending this place by a local. We were mesmerized by the Hospitality shown by the staff and the owner Michael. They were super nice and accommodating to our situation. I thought for sure Michael was going to ask us to stay at his home. He gave us a conference room to what we wanted to do. We were surprised that he had 4 rooms for us, and took the special time to get us situated in our rooms and make us dinner reservations. All while he had a wedding and a large dinner party coming in that night. Michael, spoke to his staff with respect, just as he did with us. He was our Angel. He then set us up with a car and a driver so we can continue with our journey in Ireland. Ireland was truly the most beautiful place I have visited and will without a doubt be back.

Sincerly,
Christine Navigante

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navigantec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Navigantec,

Thank you for taking your time to review the hotel We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and that we were able to help accomadate your group with reorganising your travel arrangements.

We hope if you visit Ireland again you will stumble acrossFitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and say hello to all the team. We would be delighted to welcome you back through our doors.

Kind Regards,

All the team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Attended a function in the Hotels "Oak Room" recently. Its with a heavy heart that I must say that the food was below standard. The Hotel itself is beautiful, staff are pleasent and the grounds are nice and family friendly.

For my starter I had some form of smoked chicken with lettuce leaves. This came to my table undressed, and really did look like packet chicken with yesterdays oxidised leaves. Main course was ok to be fair, well cooked Cod, smothered in a cheese sauce, but again the presentation left alot to be desiered. My friend had the Beef and it was basically inediable. Overcooked, and what looked like a bad cut.

Deserts were the highpoint, and altough simlpe, they were excellently executed and everyone wanted more.

The oak room itself is a nice looking room, but it was very cold in there, it could have done with some heating, some guests left their coats on for the duration of the meal.

All in all, it was a very average meal, service was good and the staff are local and attentive.

My recommendatons; simplify the menu, honest and good food sells. Bring back bar food, I think people are scared away by the formality of the dinning room, and others dont like carvery, bar food is a happy medium. Please replace the coffee machine that you are using, if you are using one, you can lease these from coffee complanies for free provided you used their coffee, mahers on Maylor street are great for this.

Best of luck with your business, I hope you can rectify your problems,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Bryan O,

Thank you for your review.

As this is a public forum we believe it is only fair to respond to you for the mutual benefit of all our guests.

We regret the food was not to your satisfaction. We take great pride in our menu and quality of dishes, having been awarded guaranteed Irish membership. We are dedicated to sourcing local and Irish suppliers to ensure freshness of ingredients and as a result we can boast our recent nomination for Cork's Best Restaurant from the Restaurant Association of Ireland.

Had your issue been made known to us on the day we would have done our upmost to resolve your complaint.

We would be delighted for you to contact us directly on marketing@viennawoodshotel.com to arrange a repeat visit to our hotel so you can revisit the high quality of our food which we are so well known for in the area.

Many thanks,

Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Tasty all you can eat Sunday buffet with Play area for children to keep them occupied. Grounds outside very well kept & would recommend a stroll through.

Bar area is very relaxing & the decor nice & cosy. Good day out for the family with enough to keep the kids occupied.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Pamela C,
Thank you kindly for your comments, we are always interested in customer feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our Sunday Buffet with us, it was our pleasure looking after you and your family.
Kind regards,
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had booked this property for two 4 bedroom holiday rentals for our wedding guests coming from Canada. Everything was fantastic. Staff were amazing and service was exceptional. We ate in hotel as well and food was always great. Only issue was low water pressure for showers in AM.
But over all a fantastic property. I would and will recommend to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeddingAug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Wedding Aug2013,

We were delighted to look after you during your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. It was our pleasure having you with us.

Kind regards
All the Team at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,556 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,198 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range: $124 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing