We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced & under-whelmed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over-priced & under-whelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed with our short stay at the Vienna Woods.
Our room was very basic, dated and had no air conditioning. As the weekend weather was good - the room was extremely warm and unpleasant.
For the price of a basic room which is a €15 taxi ride from Cork city, we were left with the bad taste of being ripped off. The room wasn't up to the levels of basic cleanliness you would want - there were obvious blonde hairs (we aren't blonde!) on the carpet, it became apparent it hadn't been properly serviced before we arrived. We didnt pay the extra for breakfast so can't comment on that. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starletohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Starletohara,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and are always interested to hear customer feedback.

We regret that your stay was unsatisfactory and we do not find it at all acceptable that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the room as this is something we take very seriously and an internal discussion is on-going.

We have not been able to come across a log of any such complaint with reception which has made it slightly more difficult to address your comments. Had you mentioned your dissatisfaction to our reception team we would have made sure that appropriate steps were taken to make your stay more enjoyable.

In relation to your accommodation, the room you selected to stay in was one of our Traditional Rooms. These are sold at a reduced rate to compensate for the fact that they are located in the original 18th century house. This would have been explained to you over the phone or attached as a highlighted description during your online booking process.

Kind regards,
Tara Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    143
    63
    22
    22
See reviews for
225
214
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We recently held-our sons christening party in Vienna Woods. I can honestly say it was a fantastic choice. Form organising it with Darren and the service from John and his team on the day it was second to none. We booked a conference room to cater for our family and friends and when we arrived it was decorated beautifully and had a wonderful childrens play area. It was the small touches that made the day special especially the personalised menus which contained our sons name and meaning. The food was served quickly and there was plenty of it. A great sign in a hotel. The staff were so helpful and could not do enough for us. The room also contained a self service tea and coffee facility so it was great that we could simply help ourselves when required. The desert was extreemly plentlyful and again no shortage of it. The best thing about the whole experience was that no one rushed us, we could take our time and all enjoy the food and have a chat. The even walled off the outside section for us so the kids could play outside in view of the parents, which meant all could relax. We had our wedding reception at the same hotel a few years ago and we knew what to expect but once again the hotel and staff raised the bar and just treated us like royalty. From beginning to end it was a special day made more so by excellent staff, wonderful food and a superb venue. Highly recommend and many many thanks to all.
Tomas & Yvonne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasCork_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Tomas & Yvonne,

We were delighted to welcome you and your family back to Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.
It was our pleasure looking after you all.

Many thanks for your review.

Kind regards,
From Darren, John and all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We held a hen weekend in the Vienna Woods Villas last weekend. I could not recommend this venue enough!!! Not only were the packages available to us fantastic (and fantastic value for money) the staff were beyond wonderful. From the reservations staff, to the BBQ people and the front of desk, they really could not have been any nicer. The manager and owner even dropped by to say hi! Practically everyone who went said they would be making a return journey. Highly recommended for a hen or just a beautiful night away

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your review, we were delighted to be able to look after you and your group.
We even managed to organise some sunny weather for the BBQ.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards from all of us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is set in a wonderful location just outside Cork city - a country retreat but with all the benefits of a city break. The welcome we received was great and every staff member was helpful and friendly. The bedroom was of a generous size but some of the furniture I would consider to be slightly dated but the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was not overly generous in size. We had dinner in Mabel Crawford’s Bistro which is designed to cater for large and small groups in a distinctive fashion, i.e. occupies several different spaces. I particularly liked the glass door wine cellar. There were two coeliacs in the dinner party and they were catered for without any issues whilst the menu offered many choices and everyone enjoyed their meals. There was also a great atmosphere in the hotel for after dinner drinks. Breakfast was fine with various choices but the orange juice was of the concentrated variety (pity). I would definitely stay there again without hesitation especially as they welcome dogs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zita48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Zita48,

Many thanks for your review.

As a guaranteed Irish hotel we take pride in sourcing local ingredients and endeavor to produce high quality and delicious food for all our guests, catering for all dietary requirements as best we can.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Cork.

To really pamper your pet, please ask us about out Hos'pet'ality Package and treat your pooch to B&B! We promise it will be worth it.

Kind regards,
All the team here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel before, really nice hotel rooms especially for one night stay. Have eaten here each time I've stayed but this visit I'm so unimpressed with the food I have to comment. The starters were very bland, it was that bad I didn't finish it. I also got the hand cut chips, they were soggy and starchy. Really was unexpected especially with the lovely decor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Paco6pac,

Thank you for your review.

As this is a public forum we believe it is only fair to respond to you for the mutual benefit of all our guests.

We regret the food was not to your satisfaction. We take great pride in our menu and quality of dishes, having been awarded guaranteed Irish membership. We are dedicated to sourcing local and Irish suppliers to ensure freshness of ingredients and as a result we can boast our recent nomination for Cork's Best Restaurant from the Restaurant Association of Ireland.

We would be delighted for you to contact us directly to arrange a repeat visit to our restaurant so you can revisit the high quality of our food which we are so well known for in the area.

Many thanks,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had our Wedding reception here. Never put a foot wrong, from the food to the organising of the event. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to have a proper wedding. Even though we had our own hiccups with our young daughter and ended up making everything later they never got flustered and always treated us respectfully.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphymcmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Murphymcmurph,

Many thanks for your kind words, it was our absolute pleasure to look after you, your families and friends. Our job is very clear; to make your big day as special as we can.

Kind regards from all of us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wonderful hotel, wonderful location, and excellent value for money. The bedroom was very spacious and very clean.

We stayed for three nights, and were very impressed with the surroundings and friendliness and politeness of the staff. There was a wedding reception going on, and we were invited to join them for the music and dancing even though we didn't actually know the bride and groom!

There were two serious letdowns which we hope the hotel will give their attention to, and which we hope are only just our observations.

The biggest was the appalling quality of the breakfast - the hot food had been sitting around for a long time, and was absolutely not appetising. We opted for the continental instead, but this also had very serious shortcomings - it looked as though someone had just been to the supermarket for it. The fruit salad was dominated by chopped apple (cheap?), the 'range of continental cheeses" was a bowl of plastic-wrapped cheese portions, the ham was a plate of six slices that looked as though they had come straight from a packet and were decorated by limp lettuce. The bread seemed to be from a sliced loaf (not fresh rolls).

In our otherwise truly magnificent room, the stiff cold bath tap could hardly be turned on and the dressing table chair was broken. We told reception after our first night, but neither was rectified during our stay. The TV should also be granted museum status.

Room Tip: 318 - if the bath tap, shaky chair and TV are sorted out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Simplesouls,

Many thanks for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the hospitality Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods is renowned for.

Thank you for your feedback, we take customer direction very seriously and continuously look for ways to improve the experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing