We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding of our Dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
cork
1 review
“Wedding of our Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had our Wedding reception here. Never put a foot wrong, from the food to the organising of the event. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to have a proper wedding. Even though we had our own hiccups with our young daughter and ended up making everything later they never got flustered and always treated us respectfully.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphymcmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Murphymcmurph,

Many thanks for your kind words, it was our absolute pleasure to look after you, your families and friends. Our job is very clear; to make your big day as special as we can.

Kind regards from all of us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    148
    64
    22
    23
See reviews for
231
218
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wonderful hotel, wonderful location, and excellent value for money. The bedroom was very spacious and very clean.

We stayed for three nights, and were very impressed with the surroundings and friendliness and politeness of the staff. There was a wedding reception going on, and we were invited to join them for the music and dancing even though we didn't actually know the bride and groom!

There were two serious letdowns which we hope the hotel will give their attention to, and which we hope are only just our observations.

The biggest was the appalling quality of the breakfast - the hot food had been sitting around for a long time, and was absolutely not appetising. We opted for the continental instead, but this also had very serious shortcomings - it looked as though someone had just been to the supermarket for it. The fruit salad was dominated by chopped apple (cheap?), the 'range of continental cheeses" was a bowl of plastic-wrapped cheese portions, the ham was a plate of six slices that looked as though they had come straight from a packet and were decorated by limp lettuce. The bread seemed to be from a sliced loaf (not fresh rolls).

In our otherwise truly magnificent room, the stiff cold bath tap could hardly be turned on and the dressing table chair was broken. We told reception after our first night, but neither was rectified during our stay. The TV should also be granted museum status.

Room Tip: 318 - if the bath tap, shaky chair and TV are sorted out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Simplesouls,

Many thanks for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the hospitality Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods is renowned for.

Thank you for your feedback, we take customer direction very seriously and continuously look for ways to improve the experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmullet, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed in the Vienna Woods in March for a friends wedding. Check in was quick and easy, and the staff on the front desk are lovely. The receptions rooms are beautiful, as is the function room. The food was lovely, but there were some things that would make me hesitant to stay there again.
Our room was clean, however the rooms are slightly dated. The bed was not very comfortable, id say the mattress has been there a fair while and was lumpy and uneven, which didnt give a great nights sleep.
During the wedding, the service was good, however, immediately after the dinner that changed. I understand the staff may be in a rush to get the table cleared, however, as we were all sitting at the table having our tea and coffee, my boyfriends napkin was taken off his lap by a waitress, and then when they started to take the empty cups, he had just taken his last sip and was putting his cup down as it was whipped away by a waitress.... i dont think he was even given time to put the cup in the saucer. It was not nice to feel like they were hovering over you waiting for you to finish with everything.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely, the restaurant where is it served is beautiful, in a series of small interlinking rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Michelle

Thank you kindly for your review, we always like to hear from our guests.

In relation to your comments we would like to express that we would never encourage any of our staff to make our guests feel anyway pressurized to finish their meal and regret that you feel this was your experience.

We are a renowned wedding venue in Cork and have been catering for weddings for over 50 years. We pride ourselves on the level of customised care with which we provide our wedding couples, their family and guests.

We are delighted you enjoyed our venue and food and we look forward to welcoming you back through our doors in the future.

Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I have just completed a short break at the Vienna Woods Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room in the new part of the hotel was clean, warm and comfortable. The receptionist, Susan, welcomed us like old friends explaining the working details of the hotel. We had dinner on three evenings and were very pleased with the choice and quality of the food and the prompt friendly service especially pleasant was Phoenix. This hotel is just close enough and far enough from the center of Cork to be convenient to the cities charms and yet adjacent to "The Island" golf course. When we are in the area we will stay at The Vienna Woods

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Michael,

Many thanks for your review.

It was our pleasure to look after you both and we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit Cork.

Regards from Susan, Phoenix and all of us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel impresses when you drive up to it. It is in a beautiful setting. The reception area is welcoming and restful. The receptionist was very friendly. The rooms are perhaps slightly dated, with old CRT TV's, however this is a small quibble, given the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend you eat in at the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent, with my wife & I both enjoying the dishes we selected. The waiter and the manager of the restaurant were very welcoming and attentive in their service. It's out of the city, so you need a vehicle, but very quiet place to come back to after being out all day for a good sleep. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigBAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your time with us.

Head Chef, Jimmy Bermingham, and our kitchen team were glad to look after you both and that you enjoyed the dishes made from only locally sourced ingredients.

Good food is our specialty here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed recently as we were in the hotel for a wedding, Despite being very busy when we arrived, we both found the staff to be very helpful. The room was very clean, comfortable and bright. The food at the wedding was very good and promptly served and there was no shortage of staff, my only little gripe was the hotel bar. The staff on duty seemed to be new and unsure of what to do and as a result the coolers weren't on and no body was sure how to use the coffee machine, this didn't stop anybody enjoying themselves however.
On the whole I would return again and would recommned it to others

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are glad that your time with us was well enjoyed.
As a family run hotel we take pride in our staff and our ability to look after each of our guests to the best of our ability.

Staff training for all new staff is something we take seriously and is ongoing to ensure all new additions to our team are fully equipped to provide the very best guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back through our doors again soon.

Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Vienna Woods Hotel in Glanmire for my brother’s wedding. Having been to their sister hotel in Adare previously, we thought we knew what would be in store. And while the Adare hotel is excellent, the Vienna Woods is in a league of its own. It is difficult to express just how impressive our stay was. All of the wedding guests who travelled from Cork, Clare, Dublin and from further afield enjoyed their stay. From rooms to food to service, the standard was excellent.

The hotel’s setting was ideal for our occasion; the rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. The food was out of this world. Catering for a wedding of 250 odd guests cannot be a simple task, but not one quibble was to be heard.

But all of this would amount to very little were it not for the staff at the hotel. To say they were good would not do them justice. To say they were brilliant would barely scratch the surface. Michael Magner and his team were simply immense. While the wedding guests were impressed with the level of service they received, what they saw was merely the tip of the iceberg. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them during the organising of the wedding. Any issue was dealt with promptly and efficiently, and the result was simply amazing. Even on the morning of the wedding, they were kind enough to dismantle the flower arrangement in reception to decorate the wedding cars. As I mentioned already – nothing was too much trouble!

And though they were all outstanding at what they did, Michael Magner was first among equals. His attention to detail was unparalleled. With the minimum of fuss, he spearheaded what was a five star experience for my brother, his wife and indeed for all of us. Throughout our stay, he took an interest in our entire event, regardless of whether it was taking place in his hotel or elsewhere in the city. His experience and expertise was always on hand and was delivered with warmth and charm.

I cannot praise this hotel and its staff highly enough. If you want an ordinary hotel, choose anywhere you want. If you want an extraordinary hotel, choose the Vienna Woods.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sean C,

Thank you so much for your review, it was our pleasure to look after you all and we appreciate you sharing your experience for other guests to enjoy.

We are delighted that the day was so enjoyable for your families and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

From Michael Magner and all the team here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing