We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wedding venue!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wedding venue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Was impressed by the warm and friendly staff. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The wedding was handled smoothly and without any hitches. The food was amazing and served with military precision and was bountiful! We sang in the bar until 6am and a good night was had by all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An1e_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    143
    63
    22
    22
See reviews for
225
214
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

In January 2013 we had a family wedding here. Around 20 Aussies and 160 Irish guests attended the occasion and loved it.
The service from the front desk to the wedding-liaison to the waiters to the bar staff to the duty manager was above and beyond! They really made the time special.
Lots of the guests stayed at the hotel and/or up at the villa in the week before and the days after.
For a wedding this venue is superb, it has the accommodation, the reception, the food, the bar, the socialising areas and the service. It really was fantastic and good value for money!

Room Tip: try the first floor as you can use the stairs or the lift! the heating works really well!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I must say guys this is is a very nice hotel. Because it is in Glanmire people think it is a long way out of the city but we are talking 10 minutes. A lovely private location in the woods. Rooms are very comfortable with all the mod cons. Dinner in the evening is good value and quality. A good menu also you take breakfast in the morning here too. A very good choice from cooked to contininal. Great breads. Very freindly staff throughout the hotel. Free 24 hour internet.You must check this out. At times it is nice to be a little outside the city. And of course FREE PARKING. Enjoy

Room Tip: Most rooms are as good as the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had our wedding in the Vienna Woods hotel on the 14th of September last and can genuinely say that from our first meeting to the Monday after the wedding when we left the hotel, we could not have asked for more. What appealed to us at first after visiting a number of hotels around Cork was the honesty and advice that we received well before we made a decision and paid the deposit. This is in direct contrast to some other hotels who shall remain nameless. The staff in the hotel could not be faulted in the weeks leading up to the wedding in relation to menu tasting, advice and general questions and requests.

The wedding day itself could not have gone better and we are still getting comments back from our guests in relation to the quality of the food which was excellent (especially the Clonakilty pudding starter!). The staff on the day could not have been more helpful and put us at ease with the easy going and friendly nature.

We also combined the weekend of the wedding with a christening on the Sunday of our niece who was home from Australia for the first time. When asked if they could accomodate in the months leading up to the wedding, the Oak Room was reserved for us and for the second time that weekend, the hotel excelled itself with the spread that was laid on. It really was exceptional.

The biggest and best shock of the weekend came on the Monday when we met Michael to settle up the bill. (We had to look for him to settle by the way, no pressure was put on). Like many wedding couples we did not have an unlimited budget but the final bill was less than we expected and considerably less than we would have been willing to pay for the value that we obtained.

This review may sound a bit too good to be true but it is fact and we could not recommend Michael, the team and the hotel more. The whole experience could not have gone better even after all this time looking back on it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathalH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
406 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on sat night on the dine & stay for free package. Darren on reception was excellent, very helpful with everything.
Dinner was fantastic & Damien was a very attentive waiter, staff were so friendly in this hotel, bar was quiet for a Saturday but lovely all the same. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We got married there on Dec 30th and everything was perfect. The food was top notch the hotel looked great and the staff and service were second to none. We couldn't have asked for anything more to complete a great day and night and would recommend to anyone looking for a venue for their big day. Gary & Nicola.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had our wedding here in December and from start to finish we found the hotel a pleasure to deal with, would highly recommend to anyone looking for a wedding venue. Food very good and lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing