We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Day!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Certificate of Excellence
Galveston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding Day!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had out wedding reception day here on Friday 12th Oct. 2012... and if you are getting married in Cork, Ireland, there is no other hotel that compares to this..... The staff, attention to detail and the general atmosphere makes the day even more special.... I cannot get over how well both of us and all out guests were looked after. The function room is like nothing else we had seen and the food was top class.... To MIchael, Maryanne and all the staff at the Vienna Woods, ye are a credit to your profession and I wish ye all the very best for the future....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brid9180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    156
    73
    24
    25
See reviews for
255
227
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We loved this hotel! The rooms were spacious and clean, the food in the restaurant was good, free wi-fi and Darrin at the front desk was very helpful. It is in a lovely spot but you need a car because it is not in town but parking is free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here recently for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay at this fab Hotel in lovely location. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient girl and sent to a room we were not happy with as obviously someone had smoked in it. We went back to Reception and they could not have been more helpful as we were given a fab room in the front of the building. During our stay here we thoroughly enjoyed everything about the Hotel, the food was great and the size of the portions were plentiful, breakfast very good and the ambience in the Bar and surrounding rooms could not have been better, lovely open fires and the chandeliers were absolutely amazing. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone that wants a break away, without being in the City and very short drive to Cork. Keep up the good work as we cannot wait to return to this great Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flower9500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just arrived home after having a fantastic short break at the Fitzgerlad Vienna Woods Hotel. The location is very easy to find and within a few minutes of the M8 motorway. The facilities at the hotel are excellent in every way. The staff are thoroughly professional and were most welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the food is superb. If you are looking for a holiday in a lovely location with excellent facilities then look no further!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked in the late afternoon for the same night through booking.com as the pictures of the place look great and the reviews were decent. As it happens from time to time by booking a bit late through an online page, our booking was not yet there when we arrived. The night clerk was helpful but hesitant, stumbling he had to place us in the "old part".
Oh, there is an old part, interesting. Of course you don't see that part on the pictures online...well...We went to check for the rooms as we were tired and didn't feel like spending more time heading to another place.

The first room was really old bloody cold - with a big front of old single windows, heating off, so we asked for another.
The night clerk went to ask the manager on duty and came back, showing us another room.Window view towards the wall right in front, super small, but at least a bit warmer, still with the heating off. We were disappointed regarding from what we had booked, but regarding that our booking was made so late, we asked about compensations for wat we were offered.
The night clerk told us, this room was with breakfast and would go for 4! Euros more than what we had paid without (for a new room). He was not able to settle for more as being the night clerk, that this was what he could offer for now and we could work out other compensations tomorrow with the main staff.
We were told, the heating would be switched on immediately, and so we agreed on the room to finally rest, prospecting to settle the case the next day.

Well - that was one of the most horrible nights of our lifes.
-The heating wont turn on, it was 6°C outside, causing a nice cold the next day.
-After having used the flush once, it kept dripping and running all night, making it a pain to sleep.

So when wanting to check out, the woman on duty also didn't even ask if everything was all right, a fact that I've read in other comments as well.
When I told her about our case, she was obviously perfectly aware, answering, we've got the breakfast included and that was it.

My answer that this was supposed to be an addition for the night, with additional compensation the next day didn't bother her.
The fact we just got up from a horrible night without heating with 6°C outside and a dripping toilet didn't bother her.

As the manager on duty came across, he obviously was also prepared for our case, telling us the same redundant stuff. We've got the breakfast added, that was it.
He even started lying to us, the breakfast was another 25€ - a shame after the night clerk told us the price of the room including breakfast that was a laughable 4€ more.

He kept on telling us, we could be lucky to be assigned a room since our booking hadn't arrived.
Well maybe, but he kept ignoring the fact that we weren't complaining about the old room but about a not working heating and a dripping toilet.
So if you are a walk up customer you have to stay in a freezer? I don't think so...what an argument!

He kept ignoring those facts, sticking to we got the breakfast, making up the fake value of it, ignoring that we were told to settle further compensation the next morning, ignoring, that additional defects had come up at night (heating and flush).

After going through this circles of neglect, ignorance and lies twice, we walked away realizing that this place is not willing to stand up to its limitations and issues but keeps sitting on what customers paid for, awaiting a completely different package.

Been travelling half the planet, having seen all hotel categories - this is by far the worst manner ever experienced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Exilregierung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSleator, Director of Sales at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Fitzgerald’s Vienna Woods Hotel during you recent visit to Ireland. We remember your stay at the hotel and have customer service records of your interactions with us. We have read your review and would like to respond to some of your observations and accusations.

You state that you are aware by not booking direct with a hotel, but with an online third party with short notice period that hotel is most likely to to have your booking yet, and as a consequence not have your room ready. We suggest that if this is your preferred way in which to book hotels while on an overseas trip, a courtesy call to the hotel after booking is recommended, or indeed booking direct when working on a lead time of a few hours. Should we have received a courtesy call from you after booking with the third party website, we certainly would have had your room ready. There is a delay time in booking online like this which we as a hotel have no control over. We would like to suggest this is a matter which you might like to take up with the online operator you used.

The pictures on which you based your decision to stay with us are all genuine images of the hotel and grounds, much of which is user generated content. The bedroom images we have provided as a property are of deluxe rooms which are double single bedrooms, in a new wing built on to the original mansion. The room we provided you with was a classic room, due to the short notice period of your booking and our high occupancy on the evening of your arrival; this is what we were able to offer you. We do not have pictures of our classic room types online, as we don’t sell that room category online. We don’t consider this room type to be inferior to our deluxe rooms, in fact many guests prefer to only stay in the old house due to its character. The rooms in which you refer to as old, just to clarify for our readers, are Old as in period old. These rooms are in the original part of the mansion dating back 200 years, and are large with period features, large Georgian cache windows, and very generous floor space. These rooms we do not sell online as they are close to our function rooms and are reserved for wedding guests, and walk in customers booking directly at our reception desk.

For us in the hotel trade, booking late does not mean compensation should be provided, but as you our guest believe this and expect this, out of good will we were courteous and gave you and your guest free breakfast. This gesture was to show that we do care about our customers and wanted you to have a positive experience with us.

We commission anonymous mystery shoppers to audit our property on a very regular basis. Part of this audit measures the friendliness, attitude, and helpfulness of staff in all departments. For us as a privately owned and run hotel , this one of the areas that is of upmost importance to us, and one on which we differentiate ourselves, that is the hospitality, welcome and friendliness of our staff. I think this is evident in the overall online review score we have achieved and maintained. Our mystery shopper reports also consistently highlight high scores in these areas.

You refer to the fact you knew the team in the hotel were aware of your issues. This highlights that we communicate among each other and pay attention to details of guests staying with us. We would like to point out that several of our Management team, and staff, spent one on one time with you and your guest in an attempt to appease you. We feel that to be publicly accused of “circles of neglect, ignorance and lies twice” would have required us not to bother listening to you, or the members of our management team taking the time to discuss and see what it was we could do to meet your expectations. Additionally we would not have provided complimentary breakfast if we were ignorant and operated in circles of neglect. Also it is not clear from your review what lies we are being accused of. This is important to state in our response, as people will read this review and we have to manage our reputation and ensure what is being said about us is true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here recently for a function and were thrilled with the dinner, cleanliness of the room and the friendly bar staff. The hotel is stunning and I would highly recommend it, the only issue we had was we ordered room service for breakfast and were left without our order. Within our party this happened to other guests also, but by the time we realised it was not coming, breakfast had stopped being served.

My husband and I did say that we would say it on checkout but when we handed back our room key were not even asked how our stay was by the receptionist who took the key and turned her back to us. While we should have said it at this stage I was shocked and decided to eat elsewhere.

Overall fantastic hotel just a shame about checkout and room service.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandylane3596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

we have stayed in Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel a few times now, its a beautiful place set in beautiful surroundings. the staff are always very helpful, the hotel clean tidy and the food is lovely. a peaceful place to go to totally chill out and relax and take in all the beautiful sights to see in Cork.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysanneEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glanmire
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,461 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing