We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top shelf hotel in Cork, always a positive experience”
Review of Oriel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriel House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top shelf hotel in Cork, always a positive experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stay at this hotel each time I am in Cork on business. For the price, you cannot beat the combination of comfort., sophistication and serenity. While work time has never permitted me time to use the spa, the hotel pool is amazing with jacuzzis and lots of space to move around. Hotel has a morning breakfast plan (if you take) it and I continue to enjoy dining before starting each day. The breakfast room has a variety of hot and cold breakfast items and a very attentive staff. As the years have passed, the beautiful scenery as seen out the large windows has become cluttered by commercial and residential development. Nonetheless, the green lush landscape on the hills is a reminder of how beautiful Ireland is as a country.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMS171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaz26, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriel House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    240
    115
    60
    35
See reviews for
231
234
41
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

lovely hotel but don't like kids that much.kids went into bar just to get drink of water and were run out of it i know it was after 9pm but no need for it.bar staff don't like having kids near the bar so if looking to have a drink with u and your kid's with u forget it.bar staff really rude.on holiday who doen't have kids up late with them happened to a few couples the same situation as i had

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al30_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed here for three nights with two older children and a nearly two year old. Can't speak highly enough of the staff, from the time we checked in they could'nt do enough for us. We got inter - connecting rooms which were spacious, clean and airy. There was small fridges in each room which is a must when you have children with you. There were lovely little touches added such as lavender sachets put under the pillows and freshly made yummy cookies left in the rooms each day. They even provided a high chair in our room on request, nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner in the powder keg bar which was delicious - the lemon sole was to die for!!!! I also had a spa treatment while there and the spa is amazing, I totally chilled out. Overall, a fantastic hotel which goes that extra mile to make your stay more like home. Well done to all and thank you, we'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnieWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaz26, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Many thanks for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriel House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in early July 2010 with our 14 month old. The room (deluxe twin - i.e 2 double beds) was spacious and had a sofa with coffee table. We brought our own travel cot (eventhough hotel will supply) and we still had plenty of space in the room, even with all the stuff needed for a baby was scattered around the room. Room was very clean (we stayed in non-smoking floor) and the bathroom was spotless also. We requested additional towels on our reservation and these were there when we arrived in the room. The facilities are lovely - but could do with having a separate family changing area for the pool - currently, there's just the family chaning rooms within the female / male changing rooms - but otherwise can't fault the faciliites. Breakfast was nice and dinner was supplied on our package (2 nights b&b and 1 dinner for 218Euro). Service was pleasent and efficient. Free parking also. When we checked out, we went for a walk-about in the town for a few hours, but returned and there was no issue with using the baby facilities before heading off home (having double checked first with reception staff!). Would recommend hotel and will return - was good location as we visitied Fota Wildlife park which is about 20 / 30 min drive away by motorway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennydean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaz26, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Many thanks for your kind words, very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriel House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I stayed in the Oriel House in June with my husband and two kids. It is absolutely brilliant! The spa is fabulous and really good value, the leisure centre is clean and our kids loved the pool. The bedroom was clean and spacious and they left cookies and a weather report each evening. A little sachet of lavender on the pillows was another endearing touch. The staff were friendly and professional. The food was great and there was a lovely atmosphere in the bar and restaurant. It is more five star than three star. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrianaGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaz26, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Many thanks for your kind words, very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriel House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Great hotel in Ballincollig. Stayed in one of the suites and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TupeloIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

A lovely hotel. Excellent facilities. Staff brilliant. Loved the touch of a fresh biscuit, lavendar under pillow left at night. With a note telling what is on at the hotel for that day, expected weather report. Brilliant idea. Breakfast lovely and freshly cooked for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffie9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincollig
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel House Hotel

Property: Oriel House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballincollig, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballincollig
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oriel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing