We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more - mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oriel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oriel House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Certificate of Excellence
Rathfriland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expected more - mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a 5 night B&B break with the family in the week after Easter. Mixed experience. Checked in and pleasently surprised that check in staff acknowledged our special dietry request for our 2 year old (dairy allergy) and said kitchen aware. Room was so so - think it was a smoking room - didn't think you could still get those?? Not great for family. Bathroom also had a smell of bad drains. First night went for meal in the bar - service slow and would echo other comments on here about kids meals - brought theirs and then we had to wait 40 mins before adult meals came, by which time the kids were bored and just wanted to leave - staff attitude was not great either when we asked whether our meals were coming - spoilt our meal for us and we did not return the rest of our stay.
On the positive side, reception staff were more than pleasant and apologised for our experience in the bar and discounted the food bill.
Breakfasts were decent - plenty of choice, although service was not consistent throughout our stay - some days seemed a bit understaffed, and the breakfast menus only appeared on the tables 2 out of our 5 days there.
Other facilities good - didn't use spa, but pool was great for kids.
Don't expect much from Balincollig - bit of a ghost town with a massive new shopping centre less than half full - a remnant of a more prosperous time I suspect. That's nothing to do with the hotel though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I will advise the relevant departmental managers ref your comments in relation to the bar offering to action same. I will speak to our front desk team also about advising our guests on things to do in the area as disappointed to read you felt not much to do in Ballincollig, we have indoor play centre for children, newly opened roller skate rink, five minutes drive to farran woods where you can feed live animals, skateboard park and playground in the regional park and only 10mins drive from Blarney castle. Thanks again for taking the time to post your feedback for us to action points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    236
    115
    60
    35
See reviews for
226
232
41
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed stay. Quick check in after a long journey. Staff, especially in dining room excellent. Most friendly and helpful. Leisure centre is spacious. Overall Great value for money. Only downside foyer is small and with doors opening constantly quite cold.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaran1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Delighted to read your nice comments. Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oriel House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked this hotel over Easter break and glad we did we booked a 2 night stay and because we were really enjoying ourselves we booked a extra night stay , large spotless clean bedroom great leisure facilities for both adults and kids breakfast was really enjoyable with plenty on offer. We had bar food each night of our stay and the waitress explained it was a new bar menu well we enjoyed our meals on each evening and our kids aged 5 & 9 cleaned there plates each night . We found the staff very friendly and pleasant in all areas of the hotel . Would we return the answer would be yes sooner than later . So thanks to all at the Oriel hotel for making our Easter family break away most enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed over easter 2013, great bedroom, fantastic leisure centre, but seemed to be a fundamental lack of knoweldge of how to cater for families with young children in the bar. left waiting for service on a number of occassions eg order drinks and 20 min wait. no appreciation that a 1 yr old and a 3 yr old need food delivered swiftly if possible. for one of our dinners the adults got their food before the kids. barman particularly inept - took order and pulled pint, took 10 mins for it to be given to me as he served two others who ordered after me. would not return for these reasons

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Thank you for your nice comments on the leisure centre and accommodation areas. I am disappointed to read about your experience in the hotel bar. Your comments have been circulated to the management team for discussion and action at our weekly operations meeting. We would appreciate the opportunity to wow you on a return visit should you have reason to visit Cork in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry. ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our fourth stay in this hotel. It really is a lovely hotel. We've stayed before in November & December when the hotel has Christmas decorations up & it's gorgeous. Once there was a feis on & even though the hotel was very busy the service was great & everybody was very friendly. (Plus we had a great night's sleep , even with it being busy). The rooms are fabulous - we had a family room , 1 king & 1 double, which suited us just fine. We've slept on different sides of the hotel & never had a problem sleeping. The beds are really comfortable, rooms are fabulously decorated & really clean. Tea/coffee making facilities (w loads of supplies, including cookies , a fridge, iron press). Underfloor heating in bathroom (big b/room) along with heated towel rail !
Kids loved the pool (extremely cold on one visit though) & I enjoyed the spa !
While we didn't have dinner in the hotel we had breakfast & there was a great variety -fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, croissants, fry, scrambled egg etc etc.
There are great deals to be got at times here so well worth ringing them up & enquiring.
Location is good whether you want to visit city centre, flying out from airport , enjoying Cork/Kerry etc

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catriona_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice feedback. Great to see people returning time and again to the hotel. We very much look forward to you returning to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just returned from an Easter weekend break with my husband and 2 kids (12 and 1) and was generally disappointed with the stay. Check in on Friday afternoon was quick and the room was clean and tidy. As part of our package we had one evening's dinner included in the cost and we booked this for the Friday night. We were told on check in that the meal would be in the restaurant but on going down for dinner that night we are informed that the restaurant was closed and the food would be served in the bar. We were disappointed to say the least as we had stayed here previously and the resaturant food was excellent but the bar food was not. Needless to say the meal wasn't great. Breakfast the following morning was also disappointing as the hot food wasn't hot and I'm sorry but luke warm eggs and sausages aren't really acceptable. However the staff were very nice and helpful and all other elements of the breakfast were good. We went swimming on the Sat afternoon and the leisure centre was spotless and again the girl in the centre was most helpful and pleasent. Unfortunately on getting back to our room the hair dryer didn't work which was a pain as my daughters hair is quite long and was very wet as was my own. There was childrens entertainment on in the hotel over the Easter weekend but unfortunatley my two were either too young (1 year) or too old / too cool (12 years) to take part. Overall I felt a bit let down on this visit especially with the food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_purcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. I am disappointed to read about your dissatisfaction with the food in the Powder keg bar. I have passed your comments to our Executive Head Chef to action points named. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, if so, please dont hesitate to contact me directly and I will ensure you are looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

stayed here over easter with my husband and two young children - great hotel - just two minor criticisms:
1) our room and the restaurant could have benefitted from a bit more attention to detail on the cleaning front - the bedside tables/lamps and windowsill were all quite dusty which I know is a small thing but the restaurant was unfortunately similarly maintained in that the insides of the windows, window sills and the table tops were quite grubby (dead flies on the window sills etc).
2) whilst the pool is lovely, over half its width is cordoned off for lane swimming (2 lanes) although I only witnessed 2 or 3 people lane swimming – this leaves just a narrow strip of less than half the pool width in which to swim and play with kids that were too big to spend time in the kids pool (which in itself was great and very safe for our 3 year old) – so we and several other families were vying for space with kids bumping into eachother etc in the remainder of the pool – not a big thing but definitely something I would rethink if I were managing the pool area
So, as I said, only small things. All that said, the staff were great and the hotel is extremely kid friendly – I will likely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sicily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have forwarded on your feedback to the accommodation and leisure centre management team to review your comments and action same. I am delighted to read your comments in relation to the staff and that you will come back to visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincollig
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel House Hotel

Property: Oriel House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballincollig, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballincollig
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing