We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with lovely staff”
Review of Oriel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oriel House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Certificate of Excellence
cork city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with lovely staff”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

have stayed here for B & B and wow the rooms are a big size so clean and have tea and coffee facilities. we had dinner in their lovely restaurant and the food was amazing. we also used the pool and I got a facial also great value. All the staff weresweresn friendly and could not do enough for us. 10/10 Fantastic hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Healym3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonOriel, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Will ensure all the staff are made aware of your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    246
    117
    60
    35
See reviews for
235
244
41
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hi stayed here in July one of best hotels ever stayed in. The staff are so professional and helpful, rooms are lovely, food and atmosphere is great, . Gorgeous spa and leisure centre would highly recommend .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahern13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonOriel, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your nice feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oriel House Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stay in your hotel on a regular basis for business. on arrival at reception , the recepitonist seemed confused as to my booking and my credit card details, I was given my card key & advised location of the room. the room was a bedroom allocated for smokers. The bed in the room was broken and overall the room was not very clean. when I spoke to the receptionist at departure( same receptionist who checked me in) she advised me that it was the last room they had and that was it. she would make a note on my file for the next stay. no apology what so ever!. on the past few occassions I have stayed in Oriel house, there have been problems with either the room or the food/bar service. overall very disappointing for a hotel which I have previously looked forward to staying in while I was in Cork. I wont be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGC1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonOriel, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am very disappointed to read your comments, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss in detail so if you would contact the hotel on 021 4208400 and ask to speak to Sharon Buckley. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

spent a fab day at the Oriel Hotel Spa.On arrival the decor and ambience was very inviting.The staff were friendly and very knowledgeable.The treatments I recieved were lovely and very reasonable regarding the price.The spa was clean,and very relaxing.Would reccomend this spa and will return there again

Room Tip: Ask for the montly specials when booking your spa day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonOriel, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Delighted you enjoyed your time in the spa with us. I have printed the nice comments and put them on display on the staff noticeboard so the Spa therapists can see your nice feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the spa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Chose this hotel without realising that it is some way from the centre of Cork itself - my mistake. However, in the event it didn't really matter. Ballincollig is a perfectly nice place to stay and there is a bus stop only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel with regular buses into the city centre.

The hotel itself was fine - the room was very spacious with a king-sized bed, a decent Wi-Fi signal was available in the room and everything was modern and in a good state of repair. No issues with cleanliness either - the room was spotless. The check-in staff were friendly and helpful and there was plenty of car parking space.

Didn't use the restaurant during my stay, but did have a couple of meals in the bar. The food was fairly typical bar-type fayre, but very enjoyable nonetheless. It was sometimes difficult to get the attention of the bar staff (I felt like I was invisible on a couple of occasions) but once engaged, the staff were polite and helpful. The bar had a small outside area which was just the ticket for a quiet pint on a warm day. The bar seemed to attract quite a lively crowd in the evenings, but not so lively that I could hear them from my room.

Would I stay here again? Yes, and based on my experience I'd be happy recommend it to a friend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonOriel, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Delighted to read your nice comments, will ensure all members of the team read them. Thank you for taking the time to post you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Came here with the girlfriend to get away from the bustle of London

Set away from the centre of cork in a quite village. Car parking on site is a plus.

Having booked a double room, on arrival to the room I found the double was merely two singles pushed together with a double quilt on top. Hardly ideal when travelling with the other half! Asked at reception who offered to change rooms, which we did, only to find the same issue!

Breakfast is good and tasty, but I would like the next table's used plates to be cleared some 10 minutes after they've left, rather than be allowed to fester next to me whilst I'm eating.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gkchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonOriel, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Will discuss your comments in relation to the zip and link beds in the next management meeting. Will forward your service comments to our operations manager for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athlone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

stayed here with my husband and 2 kids...we got a lovely room and little pack of lavender on pillow which was a nice touch.the girl on our room left us a few extra biscuits with our tea n coffee for our oom which was nice.she knew kids were staying and that they would probably like some too. the girls on reception were very nice and welcoming.the swimming pool was lovely.there were 2 graduations on during our stay but we were on 2nd floor so we didnt hear much noise thankfully.the only fault i would have is that the bar food is overpriced. its like €15+ for a chicken curry.its not worth it for what you get. otherwise a great stay and great location. ballincollig lovely town and shops a stone throw away.,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonOriel, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your nice feedback. Have forwarded it to all the departments so all members of the team can see them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincollig
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
677 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,103 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel House Hotel

Property: Oriel House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballincollig, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballincollig
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oriel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing