We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont ask for white pudding”

Compass Rose Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crosshaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Compass Rose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Crosshaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great place to stay, close to village and imenties, however do not meet Kathy in the local Cronins pub after a few drinks as she insults you and complains about your breakfast choices specifically white pudding. Ps Kathy I didn't turn my nose up at your breakfast as it was the best thing about staying at your place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnbanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was part of a fishing group of six from Harlow and we stopped with Kathy and her family for five days. They made us feel extremely welcome from the first moment we arrived. I am happy to say that this is by far the best B&B I have stopped in for a very long time. The rooms were clean and tidy and our hosts were always prepared to go the extra mile. Nothing was too much trouble, we were welcomed as part of the family.
It is well situated and looks over a picturesque bay, only a short walk to the pub and shops. It’s a great area to visit with some outstanding views of the harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita19S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a well appointed and relaxed place to stay. The hosts can't be faulted, they are friendly and helpful. It's a pretty place to stay, and a great base for exploring. The rooms are comfortable, and if you're lucky the harbour view is stunning. We enjoyed our stay immensely, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citygirl0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent 2 nights at this comfortable and homely establishment. Ronan and Kathy Kelly were extremely welcoming and hospitable hosts, going beyond the call of duty. The en-suite bedroom was well appointed with a view over the harbour. Kathy's full Irish breakfasts were everything one expected - well cooked and served in a friendly manner. The location was ideal with a bus-stop next to the front steps. I would certainly stay there again should I re-visit Crosshaven in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseFrench871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for friends wedding. Nice breakfast. It was à cold night and when we got back early hours of the day the heating was nit on. No one told us if to put it on or not, so yes a bit cold indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hautalahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Kathy and Ronan were wonderful hosts on our stay in Crosshaven. Brilliantly welcoming, friendly and accommodating, they made our stay a complete pleasure.

Kathy's breakfasts were superb, the rooms were both spotless and incredibly comfortable and all for a very reasonable rate.

Compass Rose is a great base from which to explore the beautiful countryside around Cork - I heartily recommend it and will be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres avec vue sur la baie et le port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank josette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crosshaven hotels
0.8 mi away
Crosshaven House
Crosshaven House
#1 of 2 in Crosshaven
16 reviews
0 mi away
Whispering Pines Guest House
0 mi away
51 Degrees North
51 Degrees North
#2 of 2 in Crosshaven
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: Compass Rose Camden Road, Crosshaven, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Crosshaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crosshaven
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ronan and Kathy welcome you to their comfortable accommodation, Compass Rose Bed & Breakfast, situated two hundred yards from the beautiful fishing village of Crosshaven in County Cork. Compass Rose B&B accommodation is renowned for hospitality and friendliness. We love meeting new people, introducing you to our way of life and making new friends. Compass Rose can best be described as: "A Home Away from Home." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing