We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food better than the view, But the view is amazing”
Review of Inn by the Harbour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycotton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn by the Harbour
Ranked #4 of 4 Ballycotton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A family dinner for 14 on a Sunday evening. Something many restaurants would struggle with. Not the Inn By The Harbour. The food was superb, the service excellent, all the staff were really friendly despite us being rather a rowdy bunch. And then the view, from two sides of the restaurant you look out onto the Harbour and the lighthouse. A perfect venue and a perfect meal, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have been coming down to the Ballycotton 10 every year for the last four years and each time we have something to eat here and it is top class. This year was no exception. I was participating for the first time this year and was nervous and cold. We ordered a scone and a pot of tea for two. The pot of tea would have served six people, it was lovely and the scones were hot. My brother-in-law ordered a soup and he really enjoyed it and it was very reasonable. Thanks Inn by the Harbour and see you again next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anniebannie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

So stayed here for three nights recently. The place is spotless, beds very comfy and the room we had was huge. Room number 5. Downfalls was the owner, bit of a grumpy old man. Also, theres huge opportunity to upgrade the place and make it a really gem of a boutique style lodging. When we asked about breakfast we were told between 8-30 and 10-30 but they'd prefer if we came before 9-30. Bit strange but kind of charming in an Irish way if that makes sense ! Breakfast was cooked to order but the toast was awful. Big chunks of white bread that tasted so dry. Wonder why they didn't offer any nice brown bread or the likes.
Location is beautiful and with the charms of Ballycotton, it helps add to liking this place.
Didnt try the restaurant in the evening but the food looked really good and the place was full. Pub is small and would prefer McGraths or the Blackbird for a pint

Room Tip: Ask for room number 5
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Doyle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Where do i start?this little place is an absolute Gem,the view from our room(room 2)was like nothing i've ever seen looking straight out across the harbour and out to sea.The room while not being the biggest i've ever stayed in was clean,tidy,cosy and all together really comfortable.Myself
my wife and my Mother spent six nights here and it was fantastic.Breakfast in the morning was to die for,full Irish(bacon,sausage,white pudding,black pudding,fried egg and mushrooms,then toast,tea and cereals if you wanted them).The owners Rose and Jerry are two of the nicest people i have ever met and nothing was ever too much for them.The restraunt which is attatched is also absolutely fantastic.
All in all a fantastic place run by fantastic people,can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redarmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here last week with my wife. What can I say only that it was outstanding. The room had the most amazing view of Ballycotton Island, and a very quaint fishing port where we watched the fishermen land their daily catch. The room was spotless, you could see that a lot of love goes into the room and a lot of pride. There is about 12 rooms in total all very well appointed, as we had a look in some as we were passing. Their is a local bar downstairs serving lunches and light snacks as well as the best Guinness we have ever had. The bartenders name is Jerry who is a fountain of knowledge and stories. There is a beautiful seafood restaurant downstairs as well run by Colm and Cathy. The herring gull, what a delight. We had fresh plaice cooked to perfection with ballycotton new potatoes, ratatouille, and braised vegetables. We are still taking about it. Service was first class and the food was divine. Breakfast was 5 star, Mary Rose the proprietor was a delight, she has trained at Ballymaloe cookery school!!!!You can see From the pure quality of ingredients used, stewed plums, homemade brown bread, freshly baked scones, and beautiful jams. All in all the best Bed and breakfast on the south coast. Oh ask for room 5 when booking, we didn't have it but the view was even better than ours....Stay here if you want to be amazed by food and service and a true taste of Ireland.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lonesomestarsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I loved this place. I stayed in May. Beautiful cliff walk close by. Not fancy, but very cofortable. My room looked out on the harbor. The folks in the pub were very friendly and nice. I didn't feel out of place as an American tourist. They were most welcoming. I hated to eave.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobiTobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Totally overpriced at 80 euro for a tiny 'double' bedroom you could barely move in. We hardly slept in the narrow uncomfortable bed above the kitchen which had some kind of ventilator switching on and off continuously.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dessiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballycotton hotels
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Schooner Tavern
The Schooner Tavern
#2 of 4 in Ballycotton
45 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunville House
Sunville House
#1 of 4 in Ballycotton
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbour

Address: The Pier, Ballycotton, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycotton
Price Range: $50 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned establishment with breathtaking views and relaxed atmosphere. Facilities include: all rooms are en-suite with TV and coffee making facilities; freshly prepared home-cooked breakfast every morning; the Lighthouse Restaurant is open weekends (check opening hours, especially in the off-season), with the freshest local produce and seafood; great local bar downstairs; fishing charters can be arranged. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing