We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of Inn by the Harbour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycotton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn by the Harbour
Ranked #4 of 4 Ballycotton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2012

So stayed here for three nights recently. The place is spotless, beds very comfy and the room we had was huge. Room number 5. Downfalls was the owner, bit of a grumpy old man. Also, theres huge opportunity to upgrade the place and make it a really gem of a boutique style lodging. When we asked about breakfast we were told between 8-30 and 10-30 but they'd prefer if we came before 9-30. Bit strange but kind of charming in an Irish way if that makes sense ! Breakfast was cooked to order but the toast was awful. Big chunks of white bread that tasted so dry. Wonder why they didn't offer any nice brown bread or the likes.
Location is beautiful and with the charms of Ballycotton, it helps add to liking this place.
Didnt try the restaurant in the evening but the food looked really good and the place was full. Pub is small and would prefer McGraths or the Blackbird for a pint

Room Tip: Ask for room number 5
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Doyle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Inn by the Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Where do i start?this little place is an absolute Gem,the view from our room(room 2)was like nothing i've ever seen looking straight out across the harbour and out to sea.The room while not being the biggest i've ever stayed in was clean,tidy,cosy and all together really comfortable.Myself
my wife and my Mother spent six nights here and it was fantastic.Breakfast in the morning was to die for,full Irish(bacon,sausage,white pudding,black pudding,fried egg and mushrooms,then toast,tea and cereals if you wanted them).The owners Rose and Jerry are two of the nicest people i have ever met and nothing was ever too much for them.The restraunt which is attatched is also absolutely fantastic.
All in all a fantastic place run by fantastic people,can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redarmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here last week with my wife. What can I say only that it was outstanding. The room had the most amazing view of Ballycotton Island, and a very quaint fishing port where we watched the fishermen land their daily catch. The room was spotless, you could see that a lot of love goes into the room and a lot of pride. There is about 12 rooms in total all very well appointed, as we had a look in some as we were passing. Their is a local bar downstairs serving lunches and light snacks as well as the best Guinness we have ever had. The bartenders name is Jerry who is a fountain of knowledge and stories. There is a beautiful seafood restaurant downstairs as well run by Colm and Cathy. The herring gull, what a delight. We had fresh plaice cooked to perfection with ballycotton new potatoes, ratatouille, and braised vegetables. We are still taking about it. Service was first class and the food was divine. Breakfast was 5 star, Mary Rose the proprietor was a delight, she has trained at Ballymaloe cookery school!!!!You can see From the pure quality of ingredients used, stewed plums, homemade brown bread, freshly baked scones, and beautiful jams. All in all the best Bed and breakfast on the south coast. Oh ask for room 5 when booking, we didn't have it but the view was even better than ours....Stay here if you want to be amazed by food and service and a true taste of Ireland.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lonesomestarsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I loved this place. I stayed in May. Beautiful cliff walk close by. Not fancy, but very cofortable. My room looked out on the harbor. The folks in the pub were very friendly and nice. I didn't feel out of place as an American tourist. They were most welcoming. I hated to eave.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobiTobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Totally overpriced at 80 euro for a tiny 'double' bedroom you could barely move in. We hardly slept in the narrow uncomfortable bed above the kitchen which had some kind of ventilator switching on and off continuously.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dessiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We stayed here because the Bayview Hotel was fully booked. Our first impressions were that although the rooms were ridiculously small, they were at least clean and well equipped. Perhaps there are bigger rooms in the Inn but we didn't see them. Our double room could only just accomodate the small double bed. The single was a box room and had no ensuite facilities although we had been told when booking that all rooms had ensuite bathrooms. We were charged € 40 for the single and € 80 for the double. It's a lovely spot but this is basic accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andie_McClain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2006

This little B&B is great. Perfect view of harbor and island lighthouse from the breakfast room and most of the bedrooms.

Wonderful hosts. When we arrived (late), we discovered that our communication re: the number of children coming with us had been misunderstood. In moments, the owner Mary Rose was pushing beds around and getting new linens, ultimately giving us an extra room to accommodate the children.

Breakfast was delicious and made to order. There's a pub in the facility (a big plus to those of us who wanted a pint or two) but no noise issues. Rooms (except #5) are a bit small and bathrooms are downright tiny, but those are small prices to pay for the location, view, and friendly helpful hosts.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheProudestMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
426 reviews
2.2 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
758 reviews
9.7 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,710 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
10.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbour

Address: The Pier, Ballycotton, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycotton
Price Range: $50 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned establishment with breathtaking views and relaxed atmosphere. Facilities include: all rooms are en-suite with TV and coffee making facilities; freshly prepared home-cooked breakfast every morning; the Lighthouse Restaurant is open weekends (check opening hours, especially in the off-season), with the freshest local produce and seafood; great local bar downstairs; fishing charters can be arranged. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing