We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality; excellent food”
Review of Sunville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunville House
Ranked #1 of 4 Ballycotton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hospitality; excellent food”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at this B&B while at Ballymaloe Cookery School for a couple of days. Confirmed booking by email and got a prompt response.

When we arrived, we were treated to fresh home-made scones with home-made jam - delicious! Rooms were spacious and very clean. We ate in Ballymaloe one of the evenings and the owner dropped us over in his car.

The highlight is the breakfast - very, very high standard of food. Was also good to have WiFi access from the room.

If I had to find fault, the B&B is a bit remote and tricky to find but I overheard the owner arrange to meet another guest at the village and navigate them back - hospitality and great customer service comes naturally to the owners of this B&B. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
52
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed x 2 days while I attended the infamous Ballymaloe cook school. The host was a real character & nothing too much trouble. He even met us @ the local garage so we could follow him to the B&B. Our map was not that great for the area. Tea/coffee/water in rooms- not that common in the B&Bs that we stayed in on this trip- much appreciated.He cooked a good breakfast... not bad for bloke & we got to meet Anna on the final day-she also was a lovely hostess. He gave us a good recommendation for dinner- the gull Herring-just down the road in Ballycotton-approx 5kms- a pretty seaside village. The B&B rooms were clean, but alittle overheated for us- but we were able to turn down or off as we chose.The bathroom needed alitlle TLC & some towel rails or hooks would have been useful. Overall a great stay & great location for the cook school & local area. We hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Lovely place to stay. We did not see much though as we were at a wedding locally. About €10 in a taxi to Garryvoe hotel. Good value, well worth the money. Great breakfast and friendly owners.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paule025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Friendly hosts, charming and interesting site but a little isolated off season. Large clean room. Scones and tea to welcome us was a very nice touch. Food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LandR J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This was our third stay with Anna and Paddy at Sunville House and it was just as warm, welcoming and wonderful as ever. We had such good memories of our last stay six years ago and our return visit was just as memorable. Paddy welcomed us with a fresh pot of tea and home baked scones on our arrival (and every time we came back after a long day out and about). Our room was large yet cosy and absolutely spotless with a very comfortable bed and a lovely view. Breakfast was amazing with a superb variety of cereals, fruit and yoghurt with the best granola we've ever had and the cooked breakfast was cooked fresh to order. We are already planning our next visit and cannot wait.
N.B. A great place for birdwatching - especially Ballycotton Beach !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were looking for a B&B off the beaten track but close to the southern shore and found the ideal spot in Sunville House, Ballycotton. Our host, Paddie opened the door, helped carry our heavy bags upstairs to our room, then brought us back downstairs for a nice hot cup of tea, coffee and fresh baked scones with his own yummy raspberry jam. It was a cool, rainy day but suddenly we felt warmed up by his hospitality. He gave us suggestions for dinner. Once we decided on a place, he called to make our reservations. He and our beautiful hostess, Anne, run a delightful B&B. Breakfast is the highlight for sure. Anne is a terrific cook and baker. Our breakfasts were so tasty, we went back for seconds. We enjoyed our stay at the Sunville House and were disappointed we couldn’t stay longer. It’s a country setting, near the harbor with beautiful scenery by the shore overlooking an island with a picturesque lighthouse.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Anna and Paddy Casey offer the warmest of welcomes which is a prelude to being spolt by their charming hospitality. We have stayed now for the past 5 years every July and each year the highest standards are maintained and the breakfasts never cease to amaze - tailored to your preferences, porridge, stewed rhubarb, home made bread, fresh fruit, and all overlooking that wonderful East Cork view. A corner of heaven!

Room Tip: The family room is very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
2.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
404 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
721 reviews
7.4 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
10.2 mi away
WatersEdge Hotel
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
655 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunville House

Property: Sunville House
Address: Sunville House Sunville, Ballycotton, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycotton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunville House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunville House Bed and Breakfast accommodation is a newly renovated house within 3 minutes of Ballycotton bay, in East Cork Ireland, offering peaceful accommodation, in a beautiful location. There are spacious double, twin and triple rooms with spectacular views. Attractive guest TV lounge and conservatory for relaxation with great books to browse through. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing