We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”
Review of The Blackbird Bar

The Blackbird Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Watched the France v Ireland Six Nations finale in this brilliant little bar in Ballycotton.
The place was packed and the atmosphere was incredible. It has everything from the small intimate bar at the front, the cosy music room, a food van that serves amazing food and one of the best beer gardens I have ever been to!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 20WorldTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“You have to visit this bar.........its just brilliant in every sense of he word...”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Old historic bar with history of being a music spot and it still is. Great drinks and coffee. Fab beer garden with open fire which is lit often and a fab outer kitchen serving simple menu but lovely food and should be supported by all. Great music venue either in the bar or at times ticketed affairs in the Music Room. Great staff and just wonderful welcome if your visiting to sit by stoves or open fire in bar or outside with a coffee and the paper or your popping in at night with friends for few bevvies. Well worth a visit..........was there last year and will def be back again and I am spreading the word........go and see it for yourself. Forward thinking and excellent fun manager there .... its just the perfect mix long may it reign.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank eire317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went there on a Sunday night and the live music was really great, and so was the crowd, a nice mix of locals with some tourists sprinkled in. We did not eat so i cannot speak to the food but it was one of the most enjoyable live music pubs during our 12 days Ireland trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had our wedding in Ballycotton in early July 2013. We had a gathering the day after in the Blackbird. It was a sunny Sunday and the field kitchen was buzzing with music and craic. The Blackbird is a great traditional Irish bar, with lots of charm and character. Mossey, the owner is very friendly and was very helpful to us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoelleOD O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycotton, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Didn't stay long enough to try the food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My family & I called into the Blackbird recently for some food. We made our way out to the back area where the chip van was located. The area was lovely, with picnic tables but there were plastic type table cloths on the tables which were dirty and sticky. We sat for a few minutes to see if it would be cleaned but no one seemed to be cleaning the tables and we decided to leave. It's a pity as the whole idea of the food area is great but the upkeep seems to be low on their list of priorities.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carriemags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackbird Bar also viewed

Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 
Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 

Been to The Blackbird Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing