We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great pub would go again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blackbird Bar

The Blackbird Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great pub would go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Was here on sunday 5th May for the after party of my brothers wedding i can honestly say the owner mossy is the most decent man i have ever met, he went out of his way to get me a baby bowl for my son from the eatery across the road as he didnt have the facilitis to do it himself for me, he ordered it, picked it up and refused payment. The service by himself and all his staff was fantastic, i wish him the best in his future business.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto rico
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Watched the spurs v Chelsea game today. Great atmosphere and friendly staff and locals. Will def be back when we visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spursruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton, Cork
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Old Fashioned Pub with some great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went for a spin to Ballycotton with my family on a cold, but dry, winter Sunday. Stopped in for a drink and was surprised by the place. There was a fire going with lots of nooks to sit in and we had a great time. The staff are friendly and very accommodating with kids. There is a large outdoor seated beer garden at the rear of the pub and they have a "field kitchen" out there that sells fresh sea food, burgers and chips. We had burgers and they were great, everything home made and fresh tasting. We promised the kids we would go back. they also have live music.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1MadirishMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great craic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent service and music a real buzz about the place, lovely outdoor area, Mossie who runs the pub does an excellent disco.Regular local taxi service available and very friendly locals

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oneillwhitelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you like seafood chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Blackbird in Ballycotton does great gastro pub food and has live music and shows most sports on tv. Ballycotton has some of the best cliff walks in East Cork. Ballymalloe is nearby with amazing food, excellent home and gift store and great walks all year round. Near Shanagarry where you can visit Stephen Pearce Pottery, The Shanagarry Design Centre, There is a lovely beach at Garryvoe and the Garryvoe hotel has good value food, a nice pub and good trad music.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackbird Bar also viewed

Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 
Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 
Midleton, County Cork
 

Been to The Blackbird Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing