We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Herring Gull - CLOSED

The Herring Gull
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, European
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I popped into the Herring Gull last week while enjoying a couple of days in Ballycotton and discovered the best fish and chips we've ever had in our lives. The cod had obviously only been out of the sea an hour or so and the batter was the lightest I've ever know,. It was served with a delicious and unusual locally-sourced salad. The service was excellent. This restaurant deserves to go from strength to strength.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilsonmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limerick ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“dont go hungry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked this out walking thinking it and the menu looked lovely. The soup was lovely.The main course a rip off. A small bowl of mash when we asked for potato and it was swimming in butter, a spoonfull of veg. and lamb that had exactly 1inch of fat on it. My husband ordered a portiong of chips a thing he never does, at this stage if was obvious he was still hungry and was still charged for them For two with no drinks or desset 70euro and hungry.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank peglimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful refuge from the stormy weather!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the Herring Gull last Saturday night. We had a nice table at the window, although the weather was so bad, it was difficult to fully appreciate the view! Nonetheless, we had an exceptional meal. I chose from the set menu, which was really good value, 20 euro for 2 course, 25 euro for 3 courses. My partner opted for the daily special starter and main course. The presentation was delightful, a visual treat before tasting a morsel! I was genuinely impressed by such a high standard, on all counts, friendliness and welcome of the staff, atmosphere, and not least, the food itself. We had a very good bottle of Australian Shiraz, at a reasonable price. We had been told about the restaurant by Mary Martin, with whom we were staying, in the local Kilmahon House. (A gorgeous period house, providing a superior standard of B&B, nearby) Mary had tried to reserve a table the previous night for us, but there was no free table. We were so glad we got the opportunity to enjoy a meal on one of our 2 nights staying in the area. We would highly recommend the Herring Gull, and hope to return for more of the same in the near future, when we most definitely will be returning to Kilmahon House. A wonderful weekend all round, despite the torrential rain, the warmth of the welcome and the high standards we enjoyed, made our trip so worthwhile. Well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

well worth the journey to this little gem, park on the parking bay on the right prior to downhill or drive down to the fishing wharf and return.

the freshest fish I have EVER had ,changing menu,, its was mouthwatering exquisiteness, the fish .
it will be difficult to top this, except of course ,if you go fishing yourself and catch one..
solo diner,did early lunch Sunday and felt comfortable eating alone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foodieeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
177 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you google this restaurant you will find a review from one of Irelands restaurant critics, Lucinda O'Sullivan, who slatted this establishment. Why?? We could not figure out. Once we stepped inside The Herring Gull we where made very welcome.

Our starter we shared the salmon which was top class and for our mains we both chose the special of the night, Cod, which came with lovely side of potatoes carrots and asparagas. The fish was perfectly cooked and fresh from Ballycotton Pier. For desert we shared the creme brulee.

So had we taken The Irish Independents restaurant critic Lucinda O'Sullivan's advice, we would have missed an outstanding meal, very well presented with excellent service.

And the entree of bread, lovely and fresh

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thedublinrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Herring Gull also viewed

Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 
Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 
Ballycotton, County Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing