We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place!”

Waves Cafe, Restaurant & Gallery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: A family run business in the heart of Cloyne village, serving freshly cooked meals. Why not join us for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner. You can also browse the selection of paintings/pictures on display (which changes every month) or purchase homemade sauces, jams, relishes & mulled wine. We also take bookings for private parties and do a take away service.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great coffee, terrific pastries and very friendly staff. The location is very central in Midleton and the premises give that welcoming feeling

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food ok- not blown away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ate here during the summer while staying in Ballycotton, the food was ok nothing major wrong with it. Although I have to say that cooking chips in the same oil as the fish is a big no no with me. Not a nice after taste. Guiness pie was def not home made, salads were fresh. Desserts were a bit tired. Cake was a bit sale on the sides. The prices were reasonable enough but you wouldnt pay any more. Probably more suitable for families if you wanted to be in and out. The "roof terrace" is a flat roof with the kitchen fumes belching into it , it has a mural of the ballycotton island alright but the smell of the fish boxes dumped in the ground along sided it is a touch you could do with out. The owners/ staff seemed a bit grumpy but then everyone is entilted to an off day. Shame it had to be the day we were there. Decor is a bit mixed, its like they cant decide what the place should be, a cafe/ coffee shop or a wine bar. Bottled beer available but no draught. Still the pubs are right next door. Ate next door at the Schooner bar another night and the food standard was a whole lot better, fantastic fish selection, prawns and steak to die for. Would reccommend it. Great music at the Blackbird across the road.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
1 review
“a lovely place to have a bite !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Being a priest- the ballycotton priest - I eat out a lot at different functions and occasions and have a wide experience of many Resturants and hotels - at waves I have always received - excellent food -Good helpings- very reasonable prices - excellent service in a family owned and run and very friendly atmosphere - other priest friends have had the same experience - well done pat and sandra

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigglescorkireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycotton, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You should try it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My friend and I decided to travel to Ballycotton for an intimate break away from the city life. We arrived late in the evening, very hungry and thirsty to find no pub or restaurant still serving food. We popped into Waves and there was a wonderful couple who said they would be delighted to serve us food even though they were closing for the night. They made us so welcome, the food was absolutely wonderful (we had fresh cod with handcut fries and delicious salad) for just 12,50 - what wonderful value. We also had some lovely wine and beautiful homemade dessert. There was no rush even though they were closed, we were relaxing with beautiful surroundings and there was beautiful art on the wall by local artist which caught our eyes so we purchased one for a beautiful memory of Ballycotton. This place was beautiful and highly recomended to everyone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natália F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Having a hen party in Waves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Held a hen party in Waves cafe, what fun. Everything was perfect . Sandra and Pat welcomed everybody warmly. Chilled Processco was servied, home made food ( delicious) , good range of wines and drinks available. DJ Dan kept the evening going, plenty of room to dance, chat and generally have fun! Great pubs adjacent to the cafe. Waves organised a return coach service from Cork.Great night, great value ...... Try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfera12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waves Cafe, Restaurant & Gallery also viewed

Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 
Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing