We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Poor Restaurant”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Stayed for one night in the Bayview Hotel. Great room rate of €85.00. Friendly receptionist - clean bedroom - fantastic view.
Decided to go for dinner in the restaurant that evening - bitterly disappointed. From starters to dessert we were not impressed. Soup (overly priced @ €7.50 a bowl) was very bland. Our mains were also lacking flavour - everything seems to have been soaked in butter, the potatoes, the mushrooms and even the chicken. Our dinner cost us €90.00 (with no wine) and we left the restaurant promising never to return.
I would recommend this hotel if you want a reasonably priced room but DO NOT eat in the restaurant. You would be far better off going into Midleton or somewhere in the area for dinner.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank labhaoise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2009

Just back from a short break to celebrate a big birthday. The hotel very kindly gave us a complementary upgrade. I was a little disappointed to find no robe in the room only to read the day we were leaving that we could have requested a robe. It pays to read the hotel bumpf at the start of a stay. The staff (everyone of them) were excellent, pleasant and helpful. I had read about the food before we left and we were looking forward to our meal but my husband was very disappointed with the quantity. The quality was excellent but a quantity was sparse. Breakfast is excellent with suberb choices but at 9.30 am there was only one scone on the buffet, no brown bread and these were not quickly replaced, the fruit salad consisted of apples only. As I write this it sounds as if I am nit picking but this hotel does not come cheap. Having said that the setting is wonderful and the fabulous staff make you feel so welcome that you can't whine too much.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackr0ckgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We had our wedding here at the end of July, and can't say enough about the hotel. The staff were amazing, our guests were blown away by the welcome, service, location and food. Everyone said the food was the best they have ever had at a wedding, with a choice of three starters and main courses, as well as a sorbet/soup selection. The staff were outstanding, without being OTT. We wanted a nice relaxing wedding, with great food and wine, and we certainly had it here. The location was so fantastic lots of people stayed the second day to so they could relax and enjoy it. Can't wait to get back down for to stay again too. Would reccomend it 100% for weddings, but also for a lovely break away from the busy, crazyiness of towns, noise, shopping etc. Make sure you eat breakfast and dinner though or you will be missing some of the best

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scullyms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the bayview in Ballycotton for one night in late July. This is a lovely hotel in a breathtaking location overlooking Ballycotton harbour and lighthouse. The girls at reception were very friendly and made us feel right at home. The room (ours was on the second floor) was a nice size with a great view. The highlight of our trip was the food. Dinner was top class with a lovely menu great wine list and a lovely young lady called Andrea who looked after us in an efficent and friendly manner. This hotel should be very proud of its staff. Breakfast was lovely with great variety (incl fresh fish). All in all a great stay. We will return again soon as this hotel would make a great base for touring east Cork.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kildareman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed in the Bayview for two nights recently, this was our 4th visit to this wonderfull Hotel. The staff are amazing, nothing is a problem for them. The food was absolutely amazing. Rooms are wonderfull with spectular views over the bay. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skull0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Stayed at this hotel recently as we were attending a wedding reception there. The first thing that struck us on arrival was the amazing view from this hotel. It's in the middle of Ballycotton in East Cork, which is a fishing village. The hotel is set up on a height overlooking the harbour and has views all across the bay. It is truly a beautiful location. The second thing that we noticed was the warmth and genuine friendliness of the staff. After checking in we went up to our room which had a beautiful view across the harbour. It was lovely watching the boats coming in and out. The room decor itself was of a good standard but a little dated. The bathroom was spacious and had a very large shower. The other aspect of this hotel that stood out was the standard and quality of the food. The chef here obviously knows how to cook. The meal that we had at the wedding was spectacular....I would go as far as to say it was one of the best meals ever. The menu choices were as far away from the standard wedding fare as you can get. At breakfast the next morning there was fantastic menu to choose from which included not just the standard Irish breakfast. There was also a buffet with a fabulous fresh fruit salad, freshly squeezed juices, homemade breads and scones. Again the standard of the food was out of this world and the service was fantastic. If you are staying in this hotel you have to try the food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

The Bayview Hotel had beautiful views and a large, well-appointed room. Our main complaint was that it was way off the beaten path. The town of Ballycotton has 1-2 pubs, no restaurants, no petrol stations, banks or shops. If you want to shop, enjoy the nightlife or have a meal, you have to drive 20 minutes into Middleton. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded location, this is a great choice. We did not eat at the hotel as we found the menu in the pub and restaurant to be over-priced. As breakfast was not included in our room rate, we chose to skip it and headed into the next town instead. The room rate was VERY low which was one of our reasons for choosing the hotel. Based on price alone, the hotel is a very good value. But the location definitely makes it a poor choice for travelers on the go looking for accommodations near local attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRayFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
763 reviews
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,734 reviews
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
724 reviews
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,721 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Ballycotton, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Price Range: $103 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Ballycotton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing