We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Cork's best kept secret”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“East Cork's best kept secret”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I plus one of our son's stayed for 3 days last week and really had a super time.
From the second you arrive the staff make you so welcome and nothing is a problem for them.
We had lunch from the bar menu on the terrace overlooking Ballycotton piers and lighthouse and although on the pricey side the food is good. I had mackerel pate and some toast 8:50 euro and my wife had veg soup with brown bread 6:95 euro perhaps 2 or 3 euro above norm but it is a 4 star hotel and for view its worth it.
Rooms were great clean and bay view view from window. Bar is nice and relaxing as is restaurant where we had cod and steak 54 euro for 2 main courses. Would agree with some other reviews and say that hotel is more suited for over 50's even though children made feel most welcome. If you have a young family stay at the Bayview's sister hotel The Garryvoe which has super lesiure facilities that Bayview guest's can use (its about a 10 min drive away which is a small setback)
But if you want a dip in the sea then take the steps from the Bayview Hotel terrace area down to a little cove where you can go in off the rocks at full tide its brillant and safe.
Overall would recommend hotel for older people or couples and those of you who like fishing and breath taking scenery.
Hotel closes from October to Easter each year.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the bay even though can get room with balcony if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 166LeoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    107
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
85
235
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed there in July for a wedding, I was blown away by the lovely hospitality of the staff and how accommodating they were . The food was above and beyond what I expected .. We were lucky to have such beautiful weather .. We often sat on the terrace outside and enjoyed the view . The wedding was a blast and again the food was lovely . We used the pool and spa of the sister hotel during our stay . The rooms are spacious though in need of a little renovation: every room has a view of the water

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

When the weather is half decent and the wasps are scarce you cannot beat the view from this place - there is plenty of seating outside but the bar lounge indoors is cosy and comfortable too. The bar food is generally very good - we had the ham hock terrine which came with crisp toasted bread and, nice touch, a whole peeled soft boiled egg on the side; smoked mackerel pâté came with avocado mayo and was also very tasty. Only disappointment was the mussels which were stuffed with tasteless and soggy breadcrumbs and had been left under the heater for too long. Drinks are expensive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Amazing view onto the harbour, using the small path worthwhile a visit. Best food eaten, a talented Chef from Dublin, who does not mind combining great local produce to entice your taste buds. Lovely rooms, but mattresses should be changed. Attentive and nice service, just a gem this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in July while visiting family in Ballycotton.

CONS:
The rooms are in need of major renovations. Our room was outdated and smelly and we had a broken shower knob.
We notified the front desk at least 3 times about the shower and nothing was ever done. This resulted in us having to hold the knob while showering so the knob did not slip to scorching hot water. Considering we were here for 7 nights this become quite frustrating. One evening towards the end of our stay they called the room to notify us that the handy man was here and they were sending him up to look at the shower. We waited 45 min and no one came. The next day my husband asked them about it and they said that the handy man said he came to our room and we were there and couldn't fix it. We were confused by this since we waited 45 min and no one came. Our guess is that the handy man went to the wrong room.

The beds were extremely uncomfortable and I had pains in my back for days, which is something I have never experience before.

PROS:

The hotel is located on the water and the views are gorgeous.

There is a restaurant on site and the food is quite good. Very nice wine too.

Overall, our stay was average. If it was not located in such a picturesque setting I would be giving it 1 star though.

I think it’s a good place for a night or two however a week long stay was too long considering the condition of the room. We enjoyed the views and terrace but that’s about it. Our room ruined it for us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maggs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our second three night break at the Bayview. Wonderful bedrooms with exquisite views make the Bayview unique. A warm welcome always assured at reception. Ballycotton cliff walk is a memorable experience and sets you up for a wonderful dinner at the local Herring Gull restaurant.
A real and hidden treat are the two reading rooms with spectacular views of the bay & pier where you can watch yachts moor, fishermen catch mackerel and the sun set.
My only wish is to revamp the bar. The low tables are hard work!
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just back from a one night stay here, and immediately booked a two night stay for this month. This hotel exceeded all standards. The staff particularly are trained to a 5* quality. Their attention to detail is without doubt a winner. The food is amazing. Bar food a little expensive but is justified when you get it. The desserts get a top score, pastry chef is talented! The level of hygiene in this hotel is impeccable. I would challenge anyone to find dust.

And on a finally note, the views over Ballycotton bay are fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanzaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
2.1 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
749 reviews
6.3 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,676 reviews
10.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,672 reviews
9.6 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
706 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: Ballycotton, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Ballycotton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing