We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Ballycotton”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“Glorious Ballycotton”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful two night break at the Bayview Hotel in Ballycotton. This is a gem of a hotel tucked away in east Cork. It is not far from Cork city and is an ideal base to explore east Cork and west Waterford. The hotel is on the seafront with amazing sea views with a lovely view of the Ballycotton Lighthouse. The rooms are lovely and the staff are very helpful and professional. If you are feeling energetic there is a cliff walk with spectular views. The food is of a high standard. We dined on the terrace as the weather was fantastic, the terrace can get very busy as tables are limited. We were lucky in that wild salmon was on the menu this indeed was a treat and it was cooked to perfection. Dining in the bar can be tricky as the tables are too low. We have stayed in the Bayview several times and I am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointed186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBelton, Managing Director at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Disapointed186
Thanks you for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted you enjoyed you time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Ballycotton
Kind regards
Stephen Belton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    100
    34
    15
    5
See reviews for
79
230
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This week, my wife and I stayed in Bayview for two nights. What a terrific hotel, we liked everything about it.
It's location, right on the seafront, is excellent with great scenery. The rooms and general facilities in the hotel were excellent and it was a super place for a quiet restful break. It is also a good place to stay if you want to tour other locations in East Cork and it is also only 30 minutes drive to the center of Cork city.
Now to the food! Breakfasts and dinners were excellent and were a most enjoyably culinary experience. Would certainly revisit this hotel again should the opportunity arise and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
I would suggest that they should upgrade the TV's in the rooms to flat screen units for improved viewing. However, this did not bother me nor did the lack of WiFi in the rooms.I can live without these when on a quite summer break.
The staff were most friendly and efficient

Room Tip: Try for a room with full sea-view if possible although I think that all of the rooms have nice views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liam_mccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBelton, Managing Director at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Liam
Many thanks for your reviews and very kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your break with us
I will certainly look into the televisions and increasing the wi-fi coverage.
Kind regards
Stephen Belton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights upgrading to a room with French Doors and viewing platform to soak in the most amazing sea views overlooking a small working harbour. Unfortunately because of the positioning of the curtains and pelmet opening of the French Doors was restricted somewhat. The room was large and spotlessly clean as was everywhere in the hotel.
Staff were courteous, attentive and helpful. However, I do feel that reception should inform you how to avail of what your package promised like dessert on arrival, entrance tickets to Ballymaloe cookery gardens, wash and blow dry of hair for the woman and a free pint and newspaper for the man which we missed out on.
Breakfast was lovely with a great selection of cooked meals made to order. All were delicious especially the smoked haddock with poached egg and hollandaise sauce. “Yummy”.
We ate our dinner in the restaurant although it was suggested we eat in the bar. Food was excellent and delicious with amazing presentation and taste. Wines were very reasonably priced.
Bar food was served on the terrace as the weather was fantastic. Service there was so efficient. It had real continental feeling. There was a great selection of fish on the menu including mussels. However had we to eat in the bar the tables there were too low for dining and would be extremely difficult for anyone never mind an elderly person to eat their meal?
Newspapers were only available to read on our last morning.
This hotel is certainly worth a visit. There are lovely gardens to sit and relax and soak up the scenery. There are lots to see and do around the area with a lovely cliff walk with spectacular views. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: There is a supplement to upgrade to a room with a French Door , a bit costly but it is certainly wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBelton, Managing Director at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Joan E
Many thanks for taking the time to write your comprehensive review and your very kind words about our hotel, food and team. I will certainly look in to how we inform our guests as to how they can avail of all our packages have to offer and we do sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Ballycotton in the future.
Kind regards
Stephen Belton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Came over from the UK recently looking for accommodation and stayed at this great hotel. Country house atmosphere with idyllic sea views. The staff couldn't do enough to help.
From early morning tranquillity looking out over the sea to an evening sundowner on the seaside terrace or in the bar, it's no wonder everyone we met locally speaks fondly of the Bayview. Great food too. Thanks to all who made our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: We just loved the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBelton, Managing Director at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear ribtrek
Many thanks for your review, I will certainly pass on your kind words about our staff to all the team. We are blessed to have such a caring professional team in Ballycotton, they really do care about the hotel and how we look after all our guests.
Kind regards
Stephen Belton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had lunch at Bayview hotel today, beautiful day and looked forward to dine al fresco. Lunch was fresh and tasty, portions were small, view was amazing, however, the service was sub standard. While there appeared to be plenty of waiting staff, they seemed under pressure and unhelpful. My partner and I were told we could sit at an available table if we sourced our chairs, which we did but were also left to sit through our lunch with the previous customers drinks on the table. We requested a fresh water jug, (a hint to remove previous drinks) the jug was removed but old pint glass was left, nor did we receive fresh water. In my opinion not good enough for a 4 star hotel and the prices charged. We had muscles, crab, portion olives, portion fries and 2. Glasses pro secco, more than 50 euro. Not bad if better service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anneey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just enjoyed a three night stay in this beautiful hotel. Arrived in much need of a little R and R and TLC and this hotel really delivered. Perfect location overlooking the sea to sit, read, eat etc. Spotlessly clean and comfortable throughout. Lovely area outside in front with tables and chairs from which to savour the views and the delicious food. Bright and relaxing bar, dining room and lobby all sea facing and affording magnificent and tranquil views. Staff so accommodating and pleasant. Delicious breakfast. Bedroom had double doors opening onto little balcony - perfect. Enjoy a walk down to the pier or up to the Star of the Sea Church and definitely the cliff walk for more fantastic sea views. A wonderful and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Most seem to be sea facing. Loved our room with doors opening onto tiny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Bayview Hotel in Ballycotton has it all - a fantastic location on the side of a cliff with beautiful gardens tiered down to the sea, there is even a swimming platform out into the sea for the more adventurous! The food, wines & ambiance are great, all very warm and comforting with the best of attentive staff, I couldn't recommend high enough! definitely worth the trip to East Cork.

Room Tip: The are no sports facilities ie pool, spa etc but this leads to a more relaxing time out. All the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
720 reviews
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,622 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
677 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: Ballycotton, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballycotton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Ballycotton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing