We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house in spectacular location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thingvellir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Daytrippe...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in spectacular location”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The rental company, Icelandic Luxury, could not have been more helpful. Initial enquiries and transaction were responded to quickly. We arrived in Iceland on a bank holiday, without appreciating how this would impact on availability of shops, particularly in the area where our accommodation was situated. Staff ensured that we were able to buy groceries before leaving Reykajvik. Additionally, since it was a bank holiday, the company's main office was closed and whilst this caused us some initial confusion, staff responded promptly and really went beyond the call of duty, accompanying us to the house to ensure we could locate it without further delay. This was so kind of the individuals involved and we were very grateful.
The house itself is located 1 and 1/2 hours from Reykjavik and 1/2 hour from Selfoss (nearest shops even for a pint of milk!). It is a beautiful location on the edge of the National park and allows for easy driving to many of the most significant tourist highlights. We visited the Golden Circle, the secret lagoon at Fluidir, Thingvellir, the southern coast as far as Vik, including an opportunity to walk on the glacier. In summer it would be possible to drive north to Husafell however at the end of winter, the road was impassable for all except the off road vehicles and we had to admit defeat. We had an amazing walk in the area, with its frozen lake, snow covered mountains and we all enjoyed playing with a toboggan like tray we had found in the house.
The house itself is in a fabulous location, with an uninterrupted view of the lake. The house is compact but very well appointed and such a pleasure to return to at the end of the day. It was amazing to sit in the hot tub with temperatures of -2 with beautiful evening sunsets.
Would definitely recommend it. We had a fabulous holiday and we hope to visit again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living area with uninterrupted views
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charms23
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Honeymooooon”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a trip of a lifetime we had to Iceland, we travelled out to Lundur from Reykjavik for seven nights on our two week honeymoon break to Iceland at the end of Jan - early Feb 2016. The house is super functional with great facilities and not to mention fantastically built to appreciate the great view of the Þingvallavatn lake. We were lucky enough to see the Northern lights two nights in a row and just had such a fantastic time. The owner is really lovely, we'd throughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the views, everything!
Liked least: The snow made for a challenging exit
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C
2 reviews
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I can't recommend this cottage enough. Myself and my girlfriend stayed here just before christmas.

The views are absolutely stunning looking out across the lake and the nation park. It's only an hours drive from Reykjavik and tourist spots like the waterfall "Gulfoss".

House was clean and tidy when we arrived and had everything needed for a great stay. Absolutely brilliant.

Would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne D
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely few days here. Great location and lovely house. Very calm and relaxing- we loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful & tranquil location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haydnbard...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Modern House wonderful views.”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Loverly spot doubt if you could find another holiday home in Iceland with such wonderful views over the lake.Great modern house loverly hot tube and sauna and lounge with views from three sides.Check before you go as the Wi Fi is extra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of lake hills
Liked least: Wi Fi extra cost
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl E
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Spectacular”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed a weekend with my family at this lovely cottage right down by Iceland’s largest and most beautiful lake. The cottage had a spectacular panoramic view over the lake a sauna and a nice hot tub, could not ask for more. We witnessed amazing northern lights and snowfall as seen in a fairytale along with a snow blizzard all in the same weekend, memorable without a doubt . Looking forward to going back this summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The veiw
Liked least: no complantes
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stjori
Sandgerdi, Iceland
1 review
“wonderful weekend in this beautiful lakehouse”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We arrived in friday morning in a cold but a bright sunny day, what struck us first was this magnificent view over the lake. Often you see pictures of a surrounding but when arrive to the place does not live up to the standard but in this case they more than did. The house inside and outside was clean and beautiful , the beds where good and the kitchen and livingarae very well equipped. The hot top was great ,specially on saturday night as we saw the aurora dancing in the sky a bow us. The sauna is in a barrel outside which is quite uniqe. On sunday we went to a trip to the Golden circle which is only a 40 minutes drive from the house.
We recommend this to everyone who wants to experience the unique and memorable time in Iceland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing