We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Thingvellir National Park
from $147.00
More Info
from $49.90
More Info
from $276.00
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
Reviews (3,369)
Filter reviews
2,472 results
Traveler rating
1,646
664
140
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,646
664
140
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tectonic plates golden circle rift valley continental plates visitor center game of thrones first stop historical significance icelandic parliament beautiful scenery law rock information centre continental divide north america beautiful area natural beauty nice walk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,472 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Home to Icelandic democracy for over a millennium. A must-visit in Iceland. Easily accessible and great for children.

Thank Postcards4Clarabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

One of the most beautiful features of the Golden Circle. Within two hours, you're able to see tectonic plate boundaries, a wonderful pristine landscape, the majestic Oxararfoss, and the crystal-clear waters of silfra for nothing but a parking fee. The infrastructure built around the park - bridges, buildings etc. is minimalist, stylish, and clean - the perfect start to a journey around Iceland. I imagine on a wet, windy day this wouldn't have been so wonderful but on a sunny, clear one it was fantastic.

Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Stayed at the Ion Adventure Hotel and this park is 20 minutes away - great visit during Golden Circle

Thank Hankandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

The geographic features here are breath-taking. But don’t be totally seduced. There is some grizzly history at the drowning pools at the bottom of the waterfall. TV buffs may recognise the ‘Wall’ from Game of Thrones. You can pay a visit on your way to a Sifra Snorkelling tour or pop in after.

Thank TinBoxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

I only had time to walk a short way through the park and found it fascinating, I would have loved to have had more time here.
There is an information hut which is really interesting - the history of this park goes so far back and says so much about the roots of Icelandic democracy.
Obviously, it is also a really good way to learn about geology with the two plates being so recognisable - and it's getting bigger!

Thank 315954Katey1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful glacier lake, stunning views and a unique place with 2 continental plates diving the land. We can see the crack and technically walk from one continental plate to another. We haven't tried as it is cold in November but there is a snorkeling option to see the division of plates int eh water.

1  Thank SomaK95762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

About an hour or so from Reykjavik, this is another magical place in a magical country, the sight that meets your eyes is hard to take in, this is where the world split, right here in front of your eyes, is what happens when the world gets angry, the rock formations are one of those omg moments, and the fact it had been the first snows of winter that very morning made this visit even more magical, plenty of parking on the day we visited, and I’m sure there more we didn’t see, as we parked away from the coach’s etc.
You’ll need to dress sensibly for your visit, especially footwear as the going is rough in places.

Thank 43ericb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Worth a visit and a walk to Oxarafoss and the sights down the central fissure. Good history lesson there

Thank climberdiver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not many parks can boast that they lie on top two continental plates that are slowly moving away from each other. These drifting plates create a beautiful rift valley with a plethora of rivers and waterfalls. I would definitely recommend taking some time to walk around here and take in both the geography and history of this beautiful place.

Thank mickey92893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

i joined Reykjavik Sightseeing - GOLDEN CIRCLE HOP ON / HOP OFF so that i getting enough time to visit the place by myself that is quite good instead rush visit as this park is really beautiful & getting few spot place needs to explore. love it.

Thank iamface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews