We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coming from Colorado, it was a bit disappointing.”

Thingvellir National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$152.00*
and up
Snorkeling Silfra Tour from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 31 miles east of Reykjavik, this is Iceland's most historic site and one of its most scenic landscapes.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Coming from Colorado, it was a bit disappointing.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Not to say that the park isn't beautiful, but coming from Colorado, I've got access to even more beautiful national parks an hour or 2 from my house. It is most definitely of historic importance and I appreciated that aspect but the park is nothing special in my opinion. I found the Volcanic beaches of South of Iceland to be more visually impressive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank esevat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,500
    686
    144
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An amazing and breathtaking experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Again I took a group of A level students here who had been studying Plate Tectonics (or were about to start) and they were hugely impressed. The experience has stuck with them as 6 months on they still talk about it, and get excited if I refer to our Iceland 'examples' in class...the fact that you can stand with one foot on the North American plate and one foot on the Eurasian Plate is pretty memorable and Iceland is the only place in the world you can do this! The history of the area was impressive and our guide explained it well as she walked us through the valley where the representatives of the different tribes or clans would have camped and listened to the orators on the cliff top above. Additionally it is a photographers paradise and worth trying to get there in the morning when the light is better (it seems to get hazier in the afternoons-or maybe it was just the drizzle) Definitely worth making the effort to get there..you can't miss it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nichola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
272 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Icelandic History rooted in a Geological Wonder”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a very interesting stop if you are in Iceland. While it is a geological wonder where two tectonic plates come together it also much more. The interesting story of Iceland's historical connection to this area is amazing. Definitely worth a visit, take a few hours and explore the entire area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank souzagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Part of the Golden Circle”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The park is beautiful, and is a must-see on your Golden Circle tour. It's the first stop we took on our way to Geysir and the falls, and was a nice warmup for what would follow.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pdroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Magnificent, beautiful, geologically fascinating.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This location besides the sheer beauty of the park and the incredible clarity of the water is fascinating for the fact that it is one location where the Eurasion and North American continental plates meet (and are separating at the rate of 2 cm a year). For anyone interest in geology (why else would you go to Iceland) this is a must see. After a month in Iceland I've run out of superlatives.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thingvellir National Park also viewed

Geysir, South Region
 
Selfoss, South Region
Hveragerdi, South Region
 

Been to Thingvellir National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing