We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful place”

Thingvellir National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$152.00*
and up
Snorkeling Silfra Tour from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 31 miles east of Reykjavik, this is Iceland's most historic site and one of its most scenic landscapes.
New York City
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow! The landscape here is so visually different that I have seen elsewhere. We drove here on our way to see Geysir and Gullfoss. It's an easy drive - about an hour outside Reykjavik. There is so much to explore here : hiking trails, camping areas, hot springs, gorges, water falls.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleLovesTrvling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,500
    686
    144
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A don't miss”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are a history buff, don't miss this; if you are a geology/science buff don't miss this; if you are just a curious human don't miss this. The site of the first parliament in the world, even thinking about that gives me chills... to stand on the very spot of the birth of such an important development in our human history is indeed a thrilling experience. To add the experience of seeing an actual rift in the earth and to be able to walk between tectonic plates is indeed mind blowing. It is a peaceful valley but a spot where one can hear the voices of the ancient people meeting and arguing the laws and passing judgement. One could almost see the fires, camps and the faces of those early people. To top this experience the most breath taking rainbow I have ever seen appeared over the mountain as we were hiking around the area. I am not usually so moved by such sites but this valley brought out my imagination and left an indelible impression. A not to be missed area. Worth the trip to Iceland.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patito217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning,”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We set off exploring Iceland with just four days but so much is worthy of an extended stay . Meaning to say, not just passing through for an hour at attracions but staying overnight. I am a photographer, so I am finding that I have more needs in terms of light, time and relaxation than my companion travellers. We drove throgh quite quickly which I regret so I cannot give an honest review. I just want to return, it was stunning!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
345 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Should visit if in Iceland”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This place is all and more that people say it is! To explore the whole area one must be prepared to walk a certain amount because not all places are accessible by car. It really looks dramatic when you are on location and better than most photos.

The visitors' centre has around three interactive information points from where the history and even geological features of the place are explained. There is a viewing dial close to the visitors' centre and a spectacular view of the whole valley can be seen.

If one walks down past the visitors' centre, between the tectonic plates (Almannagja)and crosses a bridge over the river Oxara one can see the place where people were drowned (Drekkingarhylur) following their judgement. If this path is followed for around a kilometre a waterfall called Oxarafoss can be seen.

On the eastern banks of the river Oxara there are the gabled houses and church which can be seen in most photos of the area. Although from the visitors' centre they look far away it is not actually such a long walk, alternatively one can drive round to the area as there is a parking area a few 100 metres away from the small church. Behind the church and buildings and closer to the parking area are the fissures of Flosagja and Nikulasargja with their very deep still water where one can throw coins and get their wish granted if they can follow the coin's progress all the way down to the bottom!

When we visited the area, it was raining but this did not detract from the beauty of the views all round.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pingvellir - both interesting and beautiful”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Well worth a visit. Lots of Iceland's history and a lovely country park round the lake for walking and driving. It's possible here to keep away from the tour bus crowds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trisha49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thingvellir National Park also viewed

Geysir, South Region
 
Selfoss, South Region
Hveragerdi, South Region
 

Been to Thingvellir National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing