We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
12
5
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12
5
1
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

I love that this place supports people with developmental disabilities. They live somewhat independently , grow organic vegetables, create artwork, make soap and coffee amongst other things . You can stop by here for lunch or dessert , definitely try their delicious soups and breads . You can also stay here overnight as well.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank sparklequeen4269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We only stayed one night on the way from the South back to Reykjavik and did very much enjoy the stay. Friendly staff, good arrangement and very fair pricing - great living environment and interesting philosophy - breakfast included and mainly made of own grown foods.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank PlatinumForeverDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Interesting concept of an eco village with visitors contributing to the community. Clean and well organised but very much a hostel rather than an hotel. Lovely countryside and interesting history. Would recommend for families and those not concerned with luxury.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night on our way to explore the Golden Circle. This guesthouse is located in such a cool little community and all of the staff were so nice. It almost feels like you are at camp or in a cottage. The rooms are basic but everything is provided (nice closet space, great black out curtains for our long summer days, towels, clean bathroom, new kitchen, communal fridge, etc.) We loved the feeling of escape being here. It was easy to check in late and we met awesome guests during our stay. We wish we had more time to learn about and explore the ecovillage community. The included breakfast was so yummy and filling, such a great value for our stay here. There’s a great little gift shop, as well. Highly recommended for a different guesthouse experience while exploring the Golden Circle - we regret not staying longer!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank randyd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aya A, 広報担当マネージャー at Solheimar Eco-Village Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Dear Randy D

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are happy to hear that you had a great time!

We hope to see you again and show you more about our community.
Have a nice trip in Iceland!!

Best Regards,
Solheimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2018

We just finished up a 45+ retreat, and everyone loved being held in this beautiful village. The community and staff we exceptionally loving and accommodating. The spaces were all beautifully designed and the best part is the conscious mind of which they were created. Food was some of the best in all of Iceland and the group room space was perfect for any need that could arise during a retreat, including a sweet sweet theater that could easily hold 100 people.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Brother_Wolf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews