We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent start to Iceland trip”
Review of Hotel Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Selfoss
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent start to Iceland trip”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went on a group trip, so didn't have the luxury of choosing our own hotels.
Selfoss Hotel was by far the best hotel we stayed in, in Iceland.
Excellent location - fantastic view of the river (make sure you ask for a room with river view) - very comfortable room. Roomy, beds were comfy, there were luxury toiletries in the bathroom , and a bathtub! (a real rarity in Iceland).
Breakfast buffet was very very good.
Dinner was very good quality, but slow service (not buffet).
We don't see how you can go wrong with this hotel.
Relatively short drive from the airport, and a good base for touring.

A tip: there's a fantastic hot dog stand right outside the hotel, near the bridge.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    178
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
49
181
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherstburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped here for one night and enjoyed a most comfortable evening in our HUGE room,
overlooking the bridge and the river, along which there are walking trails. Fridge, coffee maker, tub and shower. The credenza was 10-12 feet long. You are in the heart of town, for finding restaurants, stores for supplies and necessities. The restaurant is lovely and has a comfortable lounge area as well. Breakfast buffet was exceptional, hot and cold items, fresh fruits, hard to decide what to have. It was located in a large banquet room , bright with windows, white table linens and staff attentively cleaning and topping up food stations all the time.
Front desk staff gave exceptional service also. They solved our "battery adapter" issue easily and efficiently because they genuinely cared.
Only reason we are rating this hotel as very good is because it looks worn and tired from the outside and in the hallways...rest is very nice. Otherwise it would be excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel had large rooms with twin beds and a good view of the river from our room. Happy hour was good but seating limited. The dinner was good and breakfast had some interesting choices. The staff was pleasant and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showmemo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
548 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,004 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel during our 8 days long Iceland trip. As our main purpose was to spend the night comfortably, what mattered to us were the room, dinner and breakfast. Our room was okey, not very big but not too small either. There was no king size bed: two single size beds were put together which was not nice in fact. Plus, the mattresses were so thin that in the morning all parts of our bodies were aching. The water in the bathroom heavily smelled sulphur. But everything was very clean, there was no noise problems. Free wi-fi was available only in the lobby. But both breakfast and dinner were satisfactory. Service at the reception was flawless and swift. For an accomodation of one night, it was not a bad experience though not spectacular at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wi-fi is only available in the lounge.
There's a cool movie theater attached to hotel.
Domingo's and Subway also part of the building.
Pillows are quite flat. Two of them make up one average (not firm) one.
Nice spa, massages are unique, would prefer a private massage to having several people in the room.
Hotel caters pretty well to group travelers, but sometimes there are too many people who need to be served at one time.
TVs have inconsistent quality room to room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INFODALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here. I have absolutely no idea why the room floors arent even... but im veey much amazed at how the rooms and hotel lobby itself is a merged artwork.

Its a grwat place with clean rooms and friendly staff. It has wifi in the lobby and free in the room of u can connect.hehehe


Spacious room and very relaxing.hehe

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
450 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an OAT tour. The room was large and clean and well lit as opposed to many of the hotels we have stayed in. The included breakfast was also good. The beds are too soft for people with back problems. I asked 3 times for a bed board or piece of plywood to put under the mattress to firm up the mattress. Each time I asked I was told someone would fix the problem, but no action.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
11.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
7.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
14.5 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
14.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selfoss

Property: Hotel Selfoss
Address: Eyrarvegur 2, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selfoss 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Hotel Selfoss City Chic in a relaxed, rural setting. Who says you can't have it all "A stone's throw" from Reykjavik and a perfect base from which to explore Iceland's exotic south. Hotel Selfoss is located on the banks of the majestic Olfusa River in the town of Selfoss - the self proclaimed agricultural capital of Iceland. The hotel embraces a soothing water theme - ever present in the tasteful architectural features that run trough the hotel's bright and modern design element. The hotel houses 99 well equipped, stylish rooms including a luxury suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing