We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price higher than quality”
Review of Hotel Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Selfoss
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Even considering Iceland is not a cheap country for hotel, I found this resort not as 4 stars one. The room was quite big, but the fornituires were old. The same is for the bathroom. I booked a double premium room and payed about Euro 200, breakfast included. Breakfast was standard, but not at the expected quality for a 4 stars hotel. Bee carefull as the hotel can be very crowded by tourist operators groups. The reception staff was not friendly. At teh end, I would say this is a non more than 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13,944,935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 438 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Recent stay for two nights (July 23 & 24). The original building is showing it's age as you approach the property. As you enter the foyer it is quite pleasant and modern, as was the restaurant/bar/breakfast area, so it was promising, as we were given a river view room.

I guess it was the "luck of the draw" even thought the booking was done months ago, we arrived around 5 pm and was told that the room was not ready. Yes, the view was great but the room was in the older section - the balcony needed a good power washing and there were cigarette butts on the balcony floor. The room was small compared to other places, as you open the door to the bathroom, you walked straight into the toilet which was about 10" from the door and the shower stall is at an angle.

Internet access was hopeless, even though they claimed to have it but did not indicate the best hot spots. At check out, I asked and was told that all the room were the same. It seems that the hotel has been around for about two decades and there is a newer addition but the front desk person did not know the exact years.

Breakfast included a good variety of choices, However,scrambled eggs, mini sausages, hash brown were not hot. Would I stay there again.. probably not.

Room Tip: Request a river view room in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mshjournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I spent a week at the Hotel Selfoss at a conference. The conference facilities are great - a big lecture room and two smaller rooms for posters. The conference dinner they provided (lamb and salmon) was the best I have ever had at a conference - no rubber chicken here. Be sure to get a room on the river side, with a view of the rushing river and a mountain behind. There is free wifi internet in the lobby, or in your room with a cable (bring one with you). There are dark curtains behind the regular ones, but you have to look for them. Breakfast was OK. Rooms were clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeTheWorld4Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Technically I guess this hotel ticked the boxes, it was clean and had rooms, but beyond that everything was just about as bland and insipid as it could be, the breakfast was poor and the beds uncomfortable, all of which matched the grim village outside. I'd suggest driving a few miles down the road and looking for somewhere better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Clean, spacious rooms, efficient staff who spoke great English, good breakfast with plenty of options, and great views of the river. We asked for rooms facing the river for our whole group, which we didn't get, but the rooms facing the road were quiet enough, just lacking a view. All in all a nice hotel which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila Perine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a room with a view of the river, which was clean and quiet. However there was no internet reception there (it only functions in a small area of the hotel). Also, breakfast was hugely disappointing even though we arrived before 9am. No hot option (this had been offered at every other hotel or guesthouse we'd stayed at even if it was waffles, porridge or eggs) and it seemed to be impossible to get a hot cup of coffee. My husband pointed out that the coffee was cold and the staff member stuck their finger in a cup and said "it's warm"! When I later went to mention that there was no hot coffee to the reception staff (who were pleasant) as there was no-one to complain to, staff came in to clear away the coffee but no replacement was offered!! These little things can really irritate... Guest satisfaction has seemed really important at the other places we have stayed at, so although the hotel itself was fine, we weren't left with a good impression sadly.

Room Tip: Definitely a room overlooking the river and church should be requested if available. Also, for a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeBimbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We booked here as a treat to ourselves as we travel around Iceland. Going by the website we were expecting a clean, modern hotel with the attention to detail that you'd expect from a four-star hotel.
Instead when we arrived we found a hotel with no double beds, only singles pushed together (no double linen so don't expect the beds to stay together), tired decor, a disappointing breakfast with stale bread and no working internet.
We complained on our first evening and whilst the reception staff was lovely, the manager was rude to the point of obnoxious and we were effectively told there was nothing better we could be offered (though the 20% discount we have been offered may, if it materialises when we leave, take the edge off the experience).
The free access that your room key gets you to the local swimming pool is one of the lone pluses of staying at the hotel, but beyond that it has little to offer (especially to vegetarians!). The spa is in the same building, but as a separate operation you don't seem to benefit from any discounts from the high prices they charge.
In the winter this hotel has a captive audience, making its money from tour groups. If possible, avoid this place. If open, the local HI hostel would surely provide a more hospitable stay than Hotel Selfoss. If you do stay here, plan on breakfast finishing at 9.30, not the advertised 10am.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room facing the river for a better view, and we'd recommend asking not to be on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
7.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
671 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
242 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
358 reviews
33.4 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
314 reviews
19.9 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selfoss

Address: Eyrarvegur 2, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: $143 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selfoss 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Hotel Selfoss City Chic in a relaxed, rural setting. Who says you can't have it all "A stone's throw" from Reykjavik and a perfect base from which to explore Iceland's exotic south. Hotel Selfoss is located on the banks of the majestic Olfusa River in the town of Selfoss - the self proclaimed agricultural capital of Iceland. The hotel embraces a soothing water theme - ever present in the tasteful architectural features that run trough the hotel's bright and modern design element. The hotel houses 99 well equipped, stylish rooms including a luxury suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing