We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel by the river”
Review of Hotel Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Selfoss
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine hotel by the river”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Clean, spacious rooms, efficient staff who spoke great English, good breakfast with plenty of options, and great views of the river. We asked for rooms facing the river for our whole group, which we didn't get, but the rooms facing the road were quiet enough, just lacking a view. All in all a nice hotel which I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila Perine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    189
    79
    19
    8
See reviews for
52
192
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a room with a view of the river, which was clean and quiet. However there was no internet reception there (it only functions in a small area of the hotel). Also, breakfast was hugely disappointing even though we arrived before 9am. No hot option (this had been offered at every other hotel or guesthouse we'd stayed at even if it was waffles, porridge or eggs) and it seemed to be impossible to get a hot cup of coffee. My husband pointed out that the coffee was cold and the staff member stuck their finger in a cup and said "it's warm"! When I later went to mention that there was no hot coffee to the reception staff (who were pleasant) as there was no-one to complain to, staff came in to clear away the coffee but no replacement was offered!! These little things can really irritate... Guest satisfaction has seemed really important at the other places we have stayed at, so although the hotel itself was fine, we weren't left with a good impression sadly.

Room Tip: Definitely a room overlooking the river and church should be requested if available. Also, for a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeBimbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We booked here as a treat to ourselves as we travel around Iceland. Going by the website we were expecting a clean, modern hotel with the attention to detail that you'd expect from a four-star hotel.
Instead when we arrived we found a hotel with no double beds, only singles pushed together (no double linen so don't expect the beds to stay together), tired decor, a disappointing breakfast with stale bread and no working internet.
We complained on our first evening and whilst the reception staff was lovely, the manager was rude to the point of obnoxious and we were effectively told there was nothing better we could be offered (though the 20% discount we have been offered may, if it materialises when we leave, take the edge off the experience).
The free access that your room key gets you to the local swimming pool is one of the lone pluses of staying at the hotel, but beyond that it has little to offer (especially to vegetarians!). The spa is in the same building, but as a separate operation you don't seem to benefit from any discounts from the high prices they charge.
In the winter this hotel has a captive audience, making its money from tour groups. If possible, avoid this place. If open, the local HI hostel would surely provide a more hospitable stay than Hotel Selfoss. If you do stay here, plan on breakfast finishing at 9.30, not the advertised 10am.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room facing the river for a better view, and we'd recommend asking not to be on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Going to Iceland in winter means you get to your hotel after dark and have to leave before sunrise. So we really regret not being able to sit in our room and watch the sunrise, because it has this amazing view of the river, mountain from our room. We were probably two of less than ten guests that night, so we got a double room at the corner, which is huge! The room is very nice, so is the bathroom except for the smelling water ( can't really get used to it but it's Iceland). We didn't try the restaurant at the hotel or the Thai one, instead we drove through town at midnight hoping to find some warm food... And we did! We drove across the bridge just wanting to cross it, but we found the Olis gas station which offered pretty nice ribs and burgers.
The breakfast was really nice, our table was prepared as if we were the only guests. Despite of few guests, the hotel offered the whole set of continental breakfast. And the kiwi was sooooo good.
Anyway it's a very nice hotel, I would like to stay a little longer next time.

Room Tip: The rooms at the corner is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effi X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here in November, 2011. I arrived there really early since my flight got in at 6:45AM. I ate breakfast at the hotel since nothing was open at the time. I only booked the hotel for one evening and technically, I would only get free breakfast the next day. But the hotel staff was nice enough to let me eat free!
The room was clean and roomy. I had a nice view of the river. The sink is rather small. Even though the hotel has free wi-fi, only a small portion of the hotel can get the signal. The room I stayed in doesn't have wi-fi access, so I had to sit in the hotel lobby or in the restaurant to access the Internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We travelled around Iceland and unfortunately Hotel Selfoss was the worst hotel we stayed in. I have stayed in hotels were rooms are tired, but I don't mind if they are clean. We had to move rooms as our first room had a weaking shower and cobwebs around the windows.

In the second the rooms still was not clean enough. Rooms on the 4th floor seemed not to have been cleaned for a long time.

The hotel itself is fine, but room did not live up to 2 star standard let alone 4 stars.

To give the hotel their due they did discount our stay but I feel that was due to a lot of complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Selfoss because we couldn't find a room in Reykjavik! We ended up renting a car and discovered that staying outside Reykjavik is great for accessing the countryside: Eyjafjallajokull, the golden circle, etc. Hotel Selfoss is a well deserved 4-star hotel - no, it doesn't have internet in the rooms but in all the common areas - a great restaurant, an ample complimentary breakfast, spacious double rooms, etc. A great value!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
11.3 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
209 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
613 reviews
19.9 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
61 reviews
14.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selfoss

Property: Hotel Selfoss
Address: Eyrarvegur 2, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selfoss 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Hotel Selfoss City Chic in a relaxed, rural setting. Who says you can't have it all "A stone's throw" from Reykjavik and a perfect base from which to explore Iceland's exotic south. Hotel Selfoss is located on the banks of the majestic Olfusa River in the town of Selfoss - the self proclaimed agricultural capital of Iceland. The hotel embraces a soothing water theme - ever present in the tasteful architectural features that run trough the hotel's bright and modern design element. The hotel houses 99 well equipped, stylish rooms including a luxury suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing