We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Icelandic Experience!”
other travelers have booked this property
Seen from the gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop
Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
View from the hill
Northern lighs over Burfell mountain, December 2013
December 2012 - in the morning
Main entrance at the back
River and mountain view from the hotpot
Winter by lake Alftavatn.
Hot pot with massage
Mountain view from the kitchen window
Lake Alftavatn and mountains in the vicinity, 30 min. walk.
Living room
Kitchen fully equipped
Master bedroom with great view
Bathroom, with big shower, washing machine and dryer
Bedroom downstairs beside masterbedroom. Great view.
Sleeping upstairs.
Sleeping in the guesthouse with 1/2 bathroom with toilet and sink.
Washing (8kg), Dryer (9kg)
Play area upstairs.  Video,dvd, playstation.
On the way (3 min. from Selfoss town) Volcano Hekla in the background (45 min. drive)
Heading towards the Cedar log cabin (3 min. from Selfoss town).  Mountain Burfell in the background (2 min drive from...
Aurora thunderstorm at Thingvellir National Park,  10- 15 minutes drive
All shades of green
Thingvellir National Park autumn (15 min drive)
Blafjoll ski area, 35 minutes drive
Perfect location, near to Reykjavik (40 min. drive)
Beautiful northern lights
Boat trips at Ulfljotsvatn (Scouts) and Stokkseyri (15 minutes drive)
Unique Thingvellir National Park nearby 10 minutes drive.
Vestmanna Islands,  a great day tour with a ferry. ( 1hour drivce to the ferry plus 20 min sailing)
Thingvellir National Park, winter wonderland
Landmannalaugar for a day trip (2 hours 20 min. drive)
Dyrholaey close to Vík  (1 1/2 hour drive)
Þórsmörk (1 1/2 hour)
Icelandic coastline (20 minutes drive) Stokkseyri, Eyrarbakki, Thorlakshofn
Seljalandsfoss, 1 hour drive.
RiverJet on the River Hvita close to Geysir and Gullfoss waterfall (40 min. drive)
Reykjavik winter, 40 min. drive.
Nearby, Lake Alftavatn, 2km. Great walks and jogging options.
The cabins surrounding in winter time.
Freedom unspoilt!
After crossing the bridge from Selfoss, from this turn it is 4 km to the cabin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Siobhan W
1 review
“Magical Icelandic Experience!”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I have just returned from my first holiday to Iceland. An amazing experience, made even better by the beautiful accommodation we had at Cedar Log Cabin!
7 of us went to Iceland for a Hen weekend! There was plenty room for all of us to sleep and stay in the main cabin, it is beautiful and spacious and has a magical setting, sitting within the hills and mountains and surrounded by gorgeous landscape.
The hot tub was fantastic and a great way to relax after a day of exploring Iceland.
The cabin has a good location and is fairly central to many attractions, it was about a 50 min drive to Gulfoss Waterfall which was beautiful, and a short drive from there to Strokkur Geysir!
Hvergerdi village is about 30 mins from the cabin.
The blue lagoon is about 1 hour drive away and is a MUST visit, amazing!!
Robert, the owner of the cabin was fantastic, So helpful and friendly - even when we had to call him after midnight on our first night when we got lost driving from the airport!!
I would highly recommend this cabin for anyone looking to visit Iceland, I would definitely use it again without hesitation!
Thank you Robert!!
Siobhan Whyte

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather W
High Bentham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just home from here where we spent 4 fantastic nights celebrating our daughters Hen Weekend ! Fantastic property and Robert the owner was very helpful thanks again Robert ! Lots of space for 7 ladies and very well equiped . Hot tub was amazing and we were lucky enough to see the Northern lights !!!

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dechfi
New York
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cabin was roomy and comfortable, with a fully stocked kitchen for cooking meals. Robert was very helpful and accommodating. Wonderful stay.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewhelton
Madison, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and top notch accommodation to enjoy South West Iceland”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We visited Iceland in late August, early September. Robert was incredibly helpful before we even left the US with tips on how to make our visit enjoyable. This home was amazing; a perfect location, central to all of South West Iceland's attractions, making the timing of our day trips easy and we will have plenty of time to see everything. You will feel like you are off the beaten path but close to town with grocery story, fabulous bakery and restaurants. The open concept LR/DR/Kitchen makes relaxing together after a great day exploring easy and the hot tub just outside on the fabulous deck was the perfect way to enjoy the stars every evening. Beds were extremely comfortable! For those not used to European travel, the washer/dryer served its purpose but both cycles take longer than you may be used to. Plan accordingly. The wifi is a bit quirky with limited range in the big house. The water can get very hot (not a drawback) so be cognizant of that when showering or doing dishes. Overall, this home was well worth it and we would absolutely rent it again. We had 6 adults and had plenty of room. It truly felt like "home". Four stars!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/Comfort
Liked least: washer/dryer
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnmI295...
Peterborough, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a magical experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had the most amazing time staying at Robert's place. The views were magnificent with the most dramatic sunsets. The cabin itself was beautiful and well appointed with everything we needed in order to make all our meals in a luxurious fashion. It's a perfect place to stay if you want the beauty and quiet of the country, yet only 20 minutes from Selfoss which had all amenities for groceries, shopping etc.

Robert proved to be the perfect host and responded to any of our questions extremely promptly. We were able to stay for one week but hope to go back again.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, well situated, and equipped.”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights. The cabin is large and very well maintained. It is equipped with everything you could want, especially for an extended stay. It is away from the cities in a more country setting which is very quiet. Everything on the Golden circle was close by and it was a good base for exploring the region. The pick-up for the sheets and towels is a little ways away from the house and if you are coming to the cabin from the east coast you will have to backtrack a few hours after picking up the laundry. Otherwise it is perfect! There is a hot pot and even a BBQ grill. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morleyfis...
North West England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic log cabin with views”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Iceland beautiful country stayed 6 /8 2015 to 13/8 2015 wish it was more,the log cabin absolutely beautiful , busy week we hired a ford focus but were up graded to a Volvo more sporty than we required so recommend a 4x4 just mainly for road clearance some of the roads are a bit touch and go if you venture off them. Enjoy the tranquil sounds of nothing because you will find it so peaceful its unreal you will no what we mean when your holiday is over!!!!

We ventured out every day to different beauties over the island here are some of them which are a must AKUREYRI wale watching this is a long drive on the main no1 road but we saw seven hump back oh yes. The glassier another long drive but again a must the mind blowing views you will see are surreal its located at JOKULSARION The GULLFOSS waterfalls another must also a visit on the way to the impressive geysir then to the city of REYKJAVIK beautiful city when you travel round the island you will fall upon many more other waterfalls on the way, its a lot we got in and I was the only driver so I did a lot but so enjoyed it

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing