We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very clean, well situated, and equipped.”
other travelers have booked this property
Seen from the gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop
Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
View from the hill
Northern lighs over Burfell mountain, December 2013
December 2012 - in the morning
Main entrance at the back
River and mountain view from the hotpot
Winter by lake Alftavatn.
Hot pot with massage
Mountain view from the kitchen window
Lake Alftavatn and mountains in the vicinity, 30 min. walk.
Living room
Kitchen fully equipped
Master bedroom with great view
Bathroom, with big shower, washing machine and dryer
Bedroom downstairs beside masterbedroom. Great view.
Sleeping upstairs.
Sleeping in the guesthouse with 1/2 bathroom with toilet and sink.
Washing (8kg), Dryer (9kg)
Play area upstairs.  Video,dvd, playstation.
On the way (3 min. from Selfoss town) Volcano Hekla in the background (45 min. drive)
Heading towards the Cedar log cabin (3 min. from Selfoss town).  Mountain Burfell in the background (2 min drive from...
Aurora thunderstorm at Thingvellir National Park,  10- 15 minutes drive
All shades of green
Thingvellir National Park autumn (15 min drive)
Blafjoll ski area, 35 minutes drive
Perfect location, near to Reykjavik (40 min. drive)
Beautiful northern lights
Boat trips at Ulfljotsvatn (Scouts) and Stokkseyri (15 minutes drive)
Unique Thingvellir National Park nearby 10 minutes drive.
Vestmanna Islands,  a great day tour with a ferry. ( 1hour drivce to the ferry plus 20 min sailing)
Thingvellir National Park, winter wonderland
Landmannalaugar for a day trip (2 hours 20 min. drive)
Dyrholaey close to Vík  (1 1/2 hour drive)
Þórsmörk (1 1/2 hour)
Icelandic coastline (20 minutes drive) Stokkseyri, Eyrarbakki, Thorlakshofn
Seljalandsfoss, 1 hour drive.
RiverJet on the River Hvita close to Geysir and Gullfoss waterfall (40 min. drive)
Reykjavik winter, 40 min. drive.
Nearby, Lake Alftavatn, 2km. Great walks and jogging options.
The cabins surrounding in winter time.
Freedom unspoilt!
After crossing the bridge from Selfoss, from this turn it is 4 km to the cabin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Carol B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, well situated, and equipped.”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights. The cabin is large and very well maintained. It is equipped with everything you could want, especially for an extended stay. It is away from the cities in a more country setting which is very quiet. Everything on the Golden circle was close by and it was a good base for exploring the region. The pick-up for the sheets and towels is a little ways away from the house and if you are coming to the cabin from the east coast you will have to backtrack a few hours after picking up the laundry. Otherwise it is perfect! There is a hot pot and even a BBQ grill. Would definitely recommend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morleyfis...
North West England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic log cabin with views”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Iceland beautiful country stayed 6 /8 2015 to 13/8 2015 wish it was more,the log cabin absolutely beautiful , busy week we hired a ford focus but were up graded to a Volvo more sporty than we required so recommend a 4x4 just mainly for road clearance some of the roads are a bit touch and go if you venture off them. Enjoy the tranquil sounds of nothing because you will find it so peaceful its unreal you will no what we mean when your holiday is over!!!!

We ventured out every day to different beauties over the island here are some of them which are a must AKUREYRI wale watching this is a long drive on the main no1 road but we saw seven hump back oh yes. The glassier another long drive but again a must the mind blowing views you will see are surreal its located at JOKULSARION The GULLFOSS waterfalls another must also a visit on the way to the impressive geysir then to the city of REYKJAVIK beautiful city when you travel round the island you will fall upon many more other waterfalls on the way, its a lot we got in and I was the only driver so I did a lot but so enjoyed it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
686Patric...
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay to visit the golden circle!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I have been traveling a lot lately. Though, we didn't took the time to review this property (yet)!

Even if we stayed there a few years back, I clearly remember this charming place. At first, it was a bit hard to find, but I see that the owner put a new picture from the road on Tripadvisor (which helps recognize the house from the small hill). This place is relaxing, with a superb view!

This house/cottage is huge! We were 4 and we could have easily been 6 or 8 (counting the 2nd floor).

The evening BBQ was perfect, so was the night spa. The Internet was free, but a bit slow from what I remember.

This place is close to Selfoss (grocery store, fish store, bank, gas, etc.). When I say close, its "Iceland close" (15 mins drive).

Unless that changed, you must get the towels/linen at some hotel near the airport before going to the cottage. Since we were doing the whole 1 road, the owner accepted that we return the towels on our way back about 10 days later.

I would definitly stay there again!

Hope this helps!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyfamilyo...
cobleskill,ny
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our favorite place to stay in Iceland. It was spacious and in the perfect location. The hot pot, the cabin and the unbelievable views, bird song and location were perfect. There are specific cleaning instructions to follow throughout your stay. If you are a slob, then this is not the place for you. If you respect your space and love seclusion, then this is the perfect place for you. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and cabin
Liked least: worry about cleaning
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
351djs
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great place to stay if you don't want to be in a hotel. The cabin was large, clean and had everything you could want. It is in the Golden Circle so it is relatively near to many outdoor places you want to see. Also, the owner is very responsive to any questions you might have. The only downside was the black out curtains could be better (or maybe they don't make better ones?) Not sure, but it takes a bit to get used to the constant light. Overall, I would definitely rent the cabin again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaodotwa...
Shanghai Region, China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving in Iceland - Turkeyless. Beautiful.”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin is perfectly located to explore the golden circle area and going to and from downtown Selfoss. We got in after dark so it was a tad hard to find first time around -- but once found, felt - just - like - home. Plus the owner Robert was so kind and welcoming -- from preheating up the house to calling on my international number to make sure I finally found my way in, always so available and responsive whenever I have a question. Couldn't ask for a nicer host.

The house was super well maintained and fully furnished. We cooked our Thanksgiving meal here and imagine how lovely an impromptu Thanksgiving dinner in the middle of Iceland was, followed by some breathtaking sunrise next morning that lit up the entire sky in 10 shades of creamy pink. The cabin would sit in the vast, majestic foreground, with nothing but rocks, snow, the field that'll eventually turn green, composing the richest of Nordic grace and fortitude.

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon-mj...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect base”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Really good location right in the golden circle area. Very well kept cabin with plenty of space for us as a group of friends staying there. Nice and warm inside despite the cold weather.

There was lots of snowfall during our stay, so much so that even the 4x4 we had hired couldn't make it up the drive the one day. Luckily it's easy enough to leave the car at the bottom and walk the short distance up to the house from there.

The hot tub is great and is well sheltered from the wind, really warm too!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing