We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very good food”
Review of Hotel Geysir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Geysir
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Sandpoint, Idaho, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and very good food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We were booked into their new wing which was very comfortable and had a good lounge area to relax and connect to the internet. The food in the restaurant was excellent, and the service good. Their thermal pool was a disappointment - tepid water, no obvious way to jack up the heat, the sauna wasn't working, and it wasn't until we were in the hot tub that we realized there are no towels (you are supposed to bring your own from the hotel room, but there was no information on this). So that part of our stay was a let down, but the rest was very good.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    116
    67
    22
    17
See reviews for
58
146
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stopped here as part of our tour for lunch. Given the numbers involved the staff coped really well. Despite how busy it was I was able to swap my meal as I'm not a fan of salmon, this was done quickly & efficiently.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilB505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is in a very touristy area by the large geysers in the area, which is probably why this hotel was a bit overpriced. However, despite being overpriced, this is a comfortable stopover and a great place to stay if you are interested in seeing the geysers. The small cabins are extremely clean and quite comfortable (with their own bathrooms) and the geothermal pool on site is a great place to relax. The highlight is that it is across the street from the geyser area, so it is exceptionally easy to tour the area (especially a little later in the day when the crowds thin out). There is a (pricey) shop and a restaurant next door and the whole area is very walkable. If you are interested in Geysir and the nearby Gulfoss, this is a comfortable and easy place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We had an incredible dinner at the hotel restaurant and would recommend to anyone wanting a break from hot dogs and grill food. We were traveling in a camper van and ended up in Geysir late in the day. After a long walk about the hot springs we were in need of sustenance and I had heard the restaurant is good. We popped in and were seated right away in the lovely dining room, with great walls of windows and views of the steaming springs. The head waiter was very knowledgable and super friendly. They had a three course prix-fixe but we weren't sure about how much we could eat. I ended up ordering the fennel cured salmon starter which was fantastic! I had the chicken and sweet potato entree, not classic iceland but absolutely delicious. My husband had a nice beet salad and the Icelandic lamb fillets with a delicious sauce and potato/parsnip side. It was truly spectacular food, although pricey. The restaurant is not bargain food, not a grill, it is a real high quality restaurant and worth a splurge if you are in the mood. We had a truly memorable meal and parked our little camper for the night right with a view of Geysir and Strokkur with happy hearts.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reebs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel is fine for a night. It's in a good location opposite Geysir and only a few miles form Gulfoss. Our room was in the annex which was rather souless. However the room was a good size, clean and had wifi etc. Tea and coffee making was available in the entrance area of the annex. The food in the hotel was very good - an interesting vegetarian option at dinner and breakfast was also good with the usual Icelandic choice of cereals, breads (excellent and local), cheese, hams, fruit etc. No sign of the swimming pool that the hotel advertises.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Once I had got over the fact that our room was 200m from the hotel then this was a reasonable hotel (we had good weather - I am not quite so sure about whether I would have been so happy). The restaurant was good for Dinner and Breakfast (it seemed to be catering for large coach parties for lunch). Right across the road from the Hot Springs which are fun to go to and 10KM from Gullfoss. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorlitz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Maybe I am giving 5 points to the entire experience. Very little was wrong with our stay there.

Me and my wife went for a romantic overnight stay. Not only did we get a very good deal on a room/cottage but we also got the best weather imaginable for Iceland. A wonderful surprise ordered by my wife to be waiting in our room far exceeded what we both were expecting, wonderfully decorated and tasty assortment of puddings, strawberries and other delectables and bottle of nice Rosé nicely chilled. So the visit started off really well. We then decided to visit the local spa, which only consists of one hot tub with water from the Geysir and a Sauna. Not very much but it was nice. The cottage we had had a great view and a little river flowed within 50 meters so that was nice and soothing. Resting in bed with the door open and listening to the river flowing was really energizing and soothing at the same time.

The cottage was a little cold but we had the option of electric heating which was great.

The only really negative point for me was that the beds were a little bit too hard, my wife thought is was just fine but I need a little softer bed, so it was a little more a me-problem rather than a problem of the hotel :) I din't very much like the complimentary soaps and shampoos either but it did in no way defer from the experience. Loved it and will go again.

Room Tip: Selecting cottages instead of the rooms is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selfoss hotels
25.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
200 reviews
27.0 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
603 reviews
22.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
769 reviews
33.4 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
392 reviews
33.6 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geysir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geysir

Property: Hotel Geysir
Address: | Haukadalur, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geysir 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The trademark of Iceland, the great Geysir, gave the hotel its name and Geysir is situated right outside the front door of the hotel. Haukadalur is one of Iceland's most famous historical sites, both ancient and today. The farmer's son from Haukadalur, Sigurdur Greipsson, founded a sports school in his father's inheritance at Haukadalur, which he operated with his wife Sigrun Bjarnadottir for a period of forty-three years. Today Hotel Geysir is run by descendant of Sigurdur Greipsson, Mar Sigurdsson (youngest son of Sigurdur and Sigrun) and his wife Sigridur Vilhjalmsdottur along with their children, Mabil Groa and Sigurdur.The Geysir-Center, which is directly opposite the geothermal area of Geysir and Strokkur, consists of a whole building complex with elegant restaurants, souvenir shop, outdoor and clothing store, snack shop, Geysir museum with multimedia show and camping area. Also there is a golf course, fishing, hiking trails, outdoor paradise the Haukadalur woods, Langjokull glacier tours and other activities such as highland tours. Therefore it is perfect for day trips because of many different possibilities of entertainment. Further details of activities in the region is available at the hotel's website hotelgeysir.Is. His landmark of Iceland is a spectacular natural phenomenon beyond description. The geothermal field surrounding the Great Geyser is the definitive geyser, having given its name to the geological phenomena. The Strokkur, another famous geyser located nearby, gives a performance every few minutes, shooting a tower of water and steam 30 meters into the air. There are other attractions apart from the magnificent geysers. For example, Blesi, a hot spring with water the colour of turquoise delights the senses. Walking about this natural wonder, one experiences the intensity of the forces of nature. Night time offers a fascinating view of the bubbling hot springs and the northern lights. A pot of boiling water takes on new dimensions.We place great pride in that all are equally pleased at the arrival and departure and your stay will be pleasant and memorable.Hotel RoomsThe hotel has twenty four double studio rooms in bungalows beside the river and twelve rooms in one wing, just two minutes from the thermal fields.All in all, this has to be the perfect framework for rest, relaxation, and getting charged up for the next activity. Access for disabled people is available both in hotel rooms, restaurants and toilets.The hotel has hot tub indoor with water from the geser, which are good to relax after a walk around the area. Iceland is an island capable of tempting visitors to a host of activities. One should however not forget that vacations are also for taking advantage of time by relaxing body and soul to the utmost. To reach this level of relaxation it is essential that the surroundings be conducive to this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Geysir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geysir Hotel Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing