We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average”
Review of Fosshotel Hekla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fosshotel Hekla
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Northampton England
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Above average”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

...but short of very good. Decent size rooms, good breakfast choice. Tired bar. Outdoor hot tub. Somehwat better than other hotels experienced around here,but doesn't make it to very good for me. Reasonable price for iceland

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    133
    64
    13
    4
See reviews for
72
162
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good basic accomodation.
Breakfast good.
No coffee facilities in room - at bar took 20 mins for coffee to arrive - Staff busy with tour patrons.
Room needs TLC but clean.
Staff very busy.
Double bed requested but got twin room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trollskagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good location, in a countryside, with a view of Hekla volcano (and highway), about 15 min from Sellfoss. We arrived around 4;00 pm and staff wasn't ready for individual customers, as they were preparing for groups arriving later. Our assigned room was in the old wing, small with a rather narrow bed (double?), and noisy because it faced the road. The hallway and staircase to our floor was covered with very many dead flies and there were some in our room as well. When we complained to the manager she kindly upgraded us to a "suite" in a new wing which was very nice, spacious and quiet. Food and service at dinner was good but dining room was crowded with long tables of tour groups and the whole atmosphere was of noisy school cafeteria. The same was repeated at breakfast, hectic, noisy, messy, but staff was trying very hard to cope and replenish the buffet tables and clear some of the dirty dishes and food scraps.

Room Tip: Suite in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose_Inger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our favorite hotel from our trip around south Iceland! Rooms were very comfortable, had good wi-fi, and dinner was delicious! Dining room was nicely decorated, and the staff was very nice. Arrived late after a long drive in the rain and were grateful to have made it in time for dinner (last order is taken at 9 pm). They have a small daily menu but both of our dishes were some of the most delicious food we had while in Iceland. Breakfast was pretty much on par with other hotels though. Bathroom was also very nice with roomy shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusine00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely hotel, big room and nice hot tub. We ate there the first evening as we hadn't planned anything else and the food was excellent but the late dining time was a problem for our young kids (ages 1 and 3). They were tired so we didn't get time to enjoy our meal. Something to bear in mind if you have young kids who are in bed around 19:00.

Breakfast was very nice esp. the warm homemade plum flapjack/oat biscuits. The staff were very nice in particular a lady at reception who informed us about a local festival which was a great experience. They provided us with a jug of milk every day for tea, which was very welcome. As Brits, we drink quite a bit of tea and had our own supply of tea bags.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPSesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Modern, functional, well equipped hotel. But bland and lacking soul and character. Large cavernous dining room, with limited noise dampening soft furnishings, which was dominated by a 40 strong tour group who ate between 7 and 8pm. There is something unappealing about sitting as a table of two alongside a large tour group and we noticed that the other non tour group guests times their arrival for 8. Service was efficient but food very ordinary and rather expensive. Breakfast OK rather than great with the worst bread in iceland (this being a strength normally of iceland) Bedroom was spacious with excellent quality linen and duvets. Bathroom lacks a shower curtain so water went everywhere and there were no bath mats nor even a towel rail. The room cleaning was haphazard. We arrived at 4:30pm to be shown to our room and then told, when the lady opened the door, that it wasn't quite ready as the floor was obviously dirty. The next day, our beds were made and bathroom cleaned but the rubbish wasn't removed and two towels were replaced by just one. And we found somebody else's dirty sock next the bed. The staff are young and enthusiastic but perhaps inexperienced and/or poorly trained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We choose the comfort room level which by all means was excellent and beyond comfort. The service was outstanding, better than other hotels that we spent time during our weekly tour. The food was good, and last but not the least: the hot tub under a bright sky enhanced our lovely time!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
15.0 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
209 reviews
12.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
499 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
620 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
309 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Hekla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Hekla

Property: Fosshotel Hekla
Address: Brjansstadir | Skeidum, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Hekla)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Hekla 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Hekla is a 45 room hotel in South Iceland, only a 45 minute drive from Reykjavik, and a 15 minute drive from Selfoss. The hotel has a good restaurant, lounge with fine bar selection, outdoor hot tub, free high speed Wi-Fi internet and a large garden around the hotel.The hotel is situated close to Mt Hekla and is surrounded by some of the country's most stunning sights including: Eyjafjallajokull volcano and Fimmvorduhals; beautiful hiking trails along the Golden Circle destinations; the highlands of Landmannalaugar, Kjolur, and Sprengisandur; historical sites from the Viking era; volcanic craters; a Hydroelectric power plant, and - depending on the season and weather permitting - the spectacular Northern Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Hekla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing