We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even in the rain, it was comfort and felt like home!”
Review of Fosshotel Hekla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fosshotel Hekla
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The three-wing hotel Hekla was a great experience for our first night in Iceland. It poured rain....all day.....and even though we were soaked and tired from driving, we immediately felt at home when we arrived. Although our rooms weren't ready when we arrived, we were escorted into a elegantly decorated dining room and offered refreshments and an amazing date/nut bread while we waited. The hostess was attentive and accommodating, and all the staff went out of their way to make our stay amazing. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the geothermal showers were hot and inviting. The Hot Tub in the rain was a wonderful way to top off a cold rainy night.

Definitely recommended if looking for quiet, out of the way comfort while planning for the next leg of your journey. The wi-fi was fully operational and provided a connection to the outside world while exploring the areas to the south and east of Iceland. Dinner was excellent and the complimentary breakfast was VERY high quality! YUMMY!

Definitely a great experience and we would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Every room we saw was comfortable and clean....can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenK0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Fosshotel Hekla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 346 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a wonderful stop on a tour of this incredible island. Hotel Hekla staff was friendly and fun, room was small but more than adequate, clean, and the bed was very comfortable, and the hot tub was a lovely end of day experience (while my husband hit some golf balls in their driving range!) One dinner out of 4 was pretty bad, the rest very tasty and the wait staff was very nice. The bar staff was fun to chat with, the lounge a nice place to sit before and after dinner, and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BZSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The landscape in Iceland is so demanding, so different from what one is used to in the USA or Europe that it is wonderful to stay in a well run, accommodating place, that one would be perfectly pleased with on both sides of the Atlantic. The food was good, the staff very flexible and friendly. Only the hot pot was a bit too hot but otherwise everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abjborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had an all-around beautiful experience at a quiet hotel in the countryside of southern Iceland only an hour out of Reykjavik and not far from Selfoss and with a beautiful drive getting there. Hotel Hekla is located within proximity of many of the top things to see in Iceland (along with the volcano for which it is named). We learned that it is under new management and that lots of great things were happening with their initiation of changes and improvements. The rooms are lovely and spacious and very clean, and all have a beautiful view of the open countryside. They are located on a large piece of land bordered by farmlands, so the pastoral setting was delightful and most restful. We were there in early June, not yet fully “high” season, so we don’t know if it is equally quiet then. The rooms could use a little more soundproofing in the walls and the bathroom could use a little more light, but all else was great: a quiet, secluded hot tub that is open ‘round the clock (we loved it at “night” with the hot water enveloping us in the cool air and glowing Arctic light and the music of the local songbirds), fabulous food in the restaurant prepared by a fine chef who uses only organically grown meats and produce that is in season. We found it to be very creative and elegant cooking with an Icelandic touch. The reindeer and fresh fish dishes we had were divine, also had perfect lamb and duck along with fresh vegetables locally grown. Dinners were so good that we will consider coming here just for dinner when we are in or near Selfoss or perhaps even for a special evening away from Reykjavik. The lounge/bar area was inviting and cozy, appropriate for children as well as adults, and we enjoyed the very friendly, helpful, eager-to-please staff. Hotel Hekla is a no smoking hotel with great breakfasts included, internet connection, and they offer a variety of tour packages of the area as well. Iceland is a frequent destination for us, so we’ll go back to this one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here on a trip round Iceland. Despite being in a convenient location close to Gulfoss and Geysir this hotel, allied to the Icelandic Farm Holidays brand, was not the greatest experience and certainly our least pleasant one. In particular, in the restaurant, the menu choice was extremely limited, the waiting staff appeared to have been trained in Fawlty Towers and all of our meals arrived piecemeal, so that each of us had finished before the next person's dinner arrived. This was a common problem at all of the surrounding tables. The food was adequate but bore little resemblance to the more sophisticated fare the menu appeared to offer. There was a global perception of under management or undermanning. I certainly didn't recognise the outstanding menu, or delicious food, previous reviewers have mentioned or the stunning, friendly, staff that have been commended as enhancing your stay. I wouldn't come back and would go to Hotel Ranga instead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Hotel Hekla. On the night in question we suffered an unforeseen staffing issue and were in a position of having employees that were not experienced in the restaurant and as a consequence, service was affected. We offer sincere apologies this affected your stay here and resulted in a negative experience, this is not what the hotel stands for and we fully accept the points you have raised.
We appreciate this is now too late to make up for your disappointment and hope you take this apology in the spirit it is intended.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed in Hekla in June 2012 with my husband and we really enjoyed the experience. First of all, the staff is friendly and helpful. The food is fresh and delicious. We had an awesome dinner there and the breakfast is also rich in options. The room has an old looking, but it makes sense since it is out in the country and everything works perfectly.

The experience was unique and we liked it very much.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Fernanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The room was a bit outdated but had everything you can expect from a small hotel.

When we were here in Jan 2012 the roads were terrible and we were not able to travel up north. It was not a problem to stay an extra night free of charge as another couple were supposed to travel south from our next hotel. So we 'changed' bookings.

The lady that runs the hotel is very involved with her guests. Advising on whether or not to drive in the snow / on icy roads.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karian_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
15.0 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
220 reviews
12.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
520 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
630 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
413 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Hekla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Hekla

Address: Brjansstadir | Skeidum, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Hekla)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: $134 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Hekla 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Hekla is a 45 room hotel in South Iceland, only a 45 minute drive from Reykjavik, and a 15 minute drive from Selfoss. The hotel has a good restaurant, lounge with fine bar selection, outdoor hot tub, free high speed Wi-Fi internet and a large garden around the hotel.The hotel is situated close to Mt Hekla and is surrounded by some of the country's most stunning sights including: Eyjafjallajokull volcano and Fimmvorduhals; beautiful hiking trails along the Golden Circle destinations; the highlands of Landmannalaugar, Kjolur, and Sprengisandur; historical sites from the Viking era; volcanic craters; a Hydroelectric power plant, and - depending on the season and weather permitting - the spectacular Northern Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fosshotel Hekla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing