We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice garden”
Review of Selfoss Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selfoss Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in Selfoss for 3 nights, making some horse riding trips and a day trip to Landamannalaugar. The rooms and the kitchen are clean and "green" (I've never seen so many Aloe Veras in one house). Everytime the hostels staff helped us in finding bus routes, horse riding offers or whatever, everytime friendly and helpful! In the evening you can relax in the very nice garden with its own hot pot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 125 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a room long in advance in the Selfoss hostel. We were overcharged and didn't get the room we booked (with a basin). The lady at reception was very rude. An unpleaseant experience and I cannot recommend it to anyone!

The rest of Iceland was absoluetely awesome. I would erather base myself in Reykjavik as oposed to Selfoss because it is also in close proximity of the Golden circle and it is lot more vibrant than Selfoss.

My recommendation will be to skip Selfoss altogether.

Room Tip: Go to Reykjavik and skip Selfoss altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hostel could easily be a model used for others wanting to build a comfortable, modern and well equiped hostel. Our bedroom was quiet and comfortable with modern art work on the walls. The bathrooms were clean and stylish, more like what I would expect in a modern family home. There's free internet access and wireless, plus a hot tub to use free of charge as well. The kitchen and dinning rooms were large and comfortable. The hostel was quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My girlfriend & I stayed here in the dormitory for one night while in transit from Hveravellir to Landmannalaugar in July 2012. It is very close to where the buses drop you off, less than 5 minute walk. There is also a grocery store in close proximity which is a good way to stock up on food since restaurants in Iceland are ridiculously expensive. Save yourself a few bucks and stop there if you’re backpacking and need supplies. The hostel itself was impressive compared to what I am used too. The cleanliness of this place was quite good and it was nicely decorated. I usually don’t care much for aesthetics, but it makes for a nice addition. The bathrooms and showers in particular were shockingly good considering this was a hostel. They have a computer with internet access which you can use for free and wifi if you have your own computer. They have a laundry line outside and a hot tub which is very nice if you have been hiking for several days.

My only real complaint about this place is the price which was a bit expensive for a dormitory. However, this is typical of Iceland and is practically unavoidable in the country. If you are going to stay in a room, be sure to bring your own sleeping bag and towel to avoid additional charges of towels and/or linens. They do have a membership option which can be useful as they have a hostel chain throughout the world. This membership can save you some money if you plan at staying at their hostels over the next year. Read carefully through their website as there is good information there. Emailing them never hurts either if you have further questions, they are well organized. Website: www.hihostels.com.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekker R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: piani alti
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank roberto a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank marina10_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
11.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
417 reviews
19.5 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
63 reviews
14.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Apartments&Rooms
Bella Apartments&Rooms
#3 of 27 in Selfoss
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selfoss Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selfoss Apartments

Address: Austurvegur 36, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Selfoss
Price Range: $69 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Current property and room descriptions Quick description Situated by Route 1 in central Selfoss, this B&B offers free parking, free Wi-Fi access and brightly decorated guest rooms. The Selfoss Geothermal Swimming Pool is 350 metres away. Rooms at Selfoss B&B have views of either the garden or Ingolfsfjall Mountain. Each has an in-room sink and access to shared bathroom and kitchen facilities. Light meals, homemade cakes and drinks are served at the in-house cafe. Breakfast is served each morning at B&B Selfoss. Packed lunches are available on site. Relaxation options include a garden hot tub and a common TV room. Staff can help arrange trips in the surrounding area. The Bobby Fischer Chess Museum is 1 minutes' walk away. Selfoss Golf Centre is 1.1 Km from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Selfoss Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing