We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Vatnsholt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vatnsholt
Ranked #7 of 27 Selfoss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of our journey around the ring road. Staff and accommodations were lovely. There weren’t many people staying here at the time, so we were given a room within one of the larger apartment style rooms which had a kitchen and a common area. Bedding was comfy and breakfast the next morning was very tasty- nice selection of foods to accommodate variety of tastes (including peanut butter!). Overall, would stay here again, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimc1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Vatnsholt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

- An amazing place to get the true guest house experience
- The best breakfeast in a guest house
- We had an 1.5hour chat with both the owners, hanging out and discussing iceland (Johan is very knowledgable)
- When we return to Iceland, we will without a doubt spend as much time here as possible

Firstly, we arrived at the guesthouse and asked about the little house posted. Simple cabins in the middle of nowhere. Though we didn't have this booked, Margaret immediately and very happily allowed us!

Being a vegetarian, the dinner was perfect - they asked exactly what I wanted and added some creativity to it.

The actual guesthouse is extremely clean/beautifully decorated/a true home. They even had a ping-pong table!

We were worried being a couple about this guesthouse. That was the biggest mistake because this place was very fun, cool and a wonderful way to learn about iceland.

Overall a 8/5. We will be returning to this house when we come back to Iceland.

Room Tip: The cabins were VERY small despite looking very attractive. Worth it though if you're there for...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the beginning and at the end of our trip. We got a big appartement with a nice kitchen and a living room. The owner is very friendly and helpfull! They advised us some beautiful places that we would have never found ourselfs. We loved this place! It has a good atmosphere. The breakfast is included and very good!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Markv1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here on the 2nd night of our 4 day trip around the golden circle. After a long day driving we arrived in complete darkness and terrible weather. We chose Vatnsholt as we were hoping to see the Northern Lights and it is a very remote location with little to no light pollution. However there was no chance of us catching a glimpse as the entire sky was covered by cloud. Annoyingly we were informed by the owner that they had seen the lights, briefly, the night before!

The owner was lovely, really friendly and accommodating. It turned out we were the only occupants that night. We had booked one of the cottages away from the main farmhouse. It was really small and cosy, with just a main room and a bathroom. The bed was really comfortable and up against the big window that overlooks the fields. The views the following morning when the sun was rising were fantastic. The bathroom was basically a wet room with a shower in one corner, toilet next to it and a tiny sink and mirror. The shower was really good but I think there was only a small water tank so my girlfriend used up most of the hot water!

We were absolutely starving and very much looking forward to sampling some Icelandic cuisine but unfortunately, as we were the only guests, there was only one dish on the menu, fish. We waited in the main dining hall, which had been decorated for a big Icelandic feast that was to happen the following night and was lined with paintings and pictures of the Northern lights that had been taken there. We had a couple of beers (Christmas Tuborg, delicious) and used the free wifi. They set up a little table with candles for us and told us that the dish was cod with sweet potatoes, onions and salad. This did not sound good to me but it was absolutely delicious. Huge fillet of cod cooked to perfection with little cubes of sweet potato, sweetened onions in a butter sauce and a nice little salad. Even the bread and butter we were given before was phenomenal!

Breakfast was slightly disappointing as it was very much the continental option without any cooked bacon, sausage, egg etc. There was a good selection of cereal, yoghurts and spreads for toast. But there were freshly made waffles with the options for syrup, whipped cream, chocolate spread and other things.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Vatnsholt. I imagine that on a clear night there would be no better place to stay for the Northern Lights. We will definitely be staying here again. Oh and there is a dancing goat, talking raven and other animals roaming around the farm!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed a few days here during an organised tour in June 2013. The food was delicious. We were able to help ourselves from breakfast to what we wanted for lunch and we were given plenty of much appreciated chocolate and biscuits as well as fruit.
Our room was clean and tidy and we had fresh towels everyday, which perhaps was not necessary. The couple who own the hotel were very friendly and would bend over backwards to help you, if you wanted something. There were not many facilities in the room we stayed in, shared hairdryers were available that was all. There were some school groups staying here, so there was some noise from them but not till late.
Yes the hotel is in the middle of knowwhere, so it would suit someone wanting peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings. There are walks in the area. As well as being a Hotel it is also a working farm so expect animals of all kinds as well as some mud.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivHogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We really enjoyed the hospitality given to us by Margaret and Joe when we stayed at this warm, welcoming hostel. We had a room with en-suite that was compact, warm and cosy with great views but alas no Northern Lights for us. The company and food were great, even though we were the only guests. Definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay on the south coast. Joe gave us some great tips for sightseeing and showed us video clips of his famous animals!

Room Tip: Best hostel I have ever stayed in
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evans2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We visited Iceland to see the country and hopefully the Aurora Borealis (unfortunately the latter did not appear during our stay). We organised a self drive holiday through Iceland Farmholidays and stayed at Vatnsholt. It is beautiful even in the dead of winter and the family who run the farm are friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, functional and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreqTraveller978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
12.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
516 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
220 reviews
14.9 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
629 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
346 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatnsholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatnsholt

Address: Vatnsholt 2, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Selfoss
Price Range: $80 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatnsholt 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vatnsholt is a newly renovated country lodge in a beautiful setting above the lake of Villingarholt. From Vatnsholt you will enjoy a magnificent view where you can easily spot the Westman islands (Vestmannaeyjar), the glacier of Eyjafjall (Eyjafjallajökull), the Tinda Mountains (Tindfjöll), the famous volcano Hekla and the slopes of Hella. Vatnsholt is conveniently located 70 km from Reykjavik with an easy access from the main highway, only 16 km from the nearest town of Selfoss where you will find all the modern comforts a town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vatnsholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatnsholt Hotel Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing