We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great for families”
Review of Vatnsholt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vatnsholt
Ranked #7 of 27 Selfoss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in eight places in ten nights in Iceland, and got by far the friendliest welcome at our last destination, Vatnsholt, even though we were only staying for one night. I suspect we also got an upgrade, as we'd booked a family room with shared facilities yet were shown to a great 2-bedroom apartment with private bathroom and kitchen (though there were two twin rooms and no double)!

We didn't eat there because finances were running low but rather wished we had as the menu looked good and the dining room was large yet fairy-lit and atmospheric. Best of all, especially for our children, there was an arctic fox cub, trampoline and playground, table football and table tennis. Weather permitting (it didn't permit us, sadly) we would have gone horse riding there too. A great place right in the countryside. Thanks Vatnsholt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulizizziloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our last stop on our round-trip tour of Iceland and we were looking forward to our stay here based on the reviews here at TA. We had booked and paid for a room for three with a private bath. Instead, we got a tiny room in a shared cabin with a tiny shared bath. Were we offered compensation for this bait and switch? No. Breakfast was unimpressive and dark-- it felt like we were eating in a bar. Oh wait, we were. As for farm animals, there were a few horses in a far away pasture. They also had several wild animals including an arctic fox and an enormous raven in cages-- but that seemed more cruel than charming. All in all, this felt like a tourist trap for those who mostly stayed in Reykjavik on their vacation and wanted to see a slice of "real life" in Iceland. From our experience driving around the country, we would say this is not "real life" in Iceland and would strongly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dzhenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

B&B Vatnsholt is a wonderful place situated by a lake in the country close to the southcoast of Iceland. We felt at home from the start. The rooms are small but cosy. The food is very good, and the surroundings are beautiful.We had a nice walk to the lake, where we saw many birds. There are many animals and play areas on the farm. We were thinking about renting some of the beatifull horses, and we were amazed by the cute small fox that played with one of the 6 dogs. We also had fun talking to the raven, which could said its name and "miaw" like a cat. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've stayed at Vatnsholt on two occasions, both times with groups of farmers eager to learn about Icelandic ways of farming and rural business development. Both times we stayed at Vatnsholt for Several nights, and enjoyed Margret and Johanns hospitality and warmth. They serve good breakfast and great dinners. I also recommend you ask them about how they've built their business. That's an inspiring story, and Johann tells it with so much humor.
I can recommend Vatnsholt for all sorts of groups, both for short and long stays.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from all rooms as far as I've experienced. Ask the personnel if you have special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71Siddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just back from two weeks touring Iceland and this was by far the worst place we stayed in. Our room was a tiny garden shed with a bathroom so small you can't even sit on the loo straight, and it has no curtain so exposes you to all passers-by. The outlook from the door was onto a patch of overgrown weeds with a rusty old farm building within feet of our room. There was barely room to move between the two beds, and these with one flimsy chair and two small rickety bedside tables made up the sum total of the room's contents - and took up virtually all the available space. Thank goodness for the midnight sun as one of the bedside lights was broken and the main light was very dim. The room generally was not the cleanest we'd seen. Apparently this room was an upgrade on other rooms in the long portacabin-style building, so I dread to think what they're like.
Breakfast was very basic, but by that time we couldn't wait to leave. (We couldn't face eating there the previous evening so found a great lobster restaurant 20 mins away, despite being very tired after a long day's drive.) The restaurant (?ex cow yard?) had pictures stuck over the windows to obscure the farm buildings immediately outside, which added to the gloom of the place. Presumably there was nothing to stop people playing on the table tennis table in the same room while you were trying to eat in the evenings?

Definitely a pack-them-in conveyor belt type of place - maybe ok as a student hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelynp1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at this farm, in the middle of a very open landscape. They had almost a mini-zoo: talking raven, fox, dogs, horses, cats, rabbits. The rooms were utilitarian but clean. Very nice service (they helped us google when the Wifi was broken).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripperdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This farmstay is OK, no big deal. We stayed in one of the newer cabins. It was TINY -- just barely enough room to squeeze by the side of the bed. Vatnsholt is in a quiet setting. But just know that it is a little bit out of the way, so you will be doing some extra driving. We thought the food was very expensive, even by Iceland standards. There are other cottages where you get more for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
16.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
227 reviews
12.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
531 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
643 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
63 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatnsholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatnsholt

Address: Vatnsholt 2, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Selfoss
Price Range: $79 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatnsholt 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vatnsholt is a newly renovated country lodge in a beautiful setting above the lake of Villingarholt. From Vatnsholt you will enjoy a magnificent view where you can easily spot the Westman islands (Vestmannaeyjar), the glacier of Eyjafjall (Eyjafjallajökull), the Tinda Mountains (Tindfjöll), the famous volcano Hekla and the slopes of Hella. Vatnsholt is conveniently located 70 km from Reykjavik with an easy access from the main highway, only 16 km from the nearest town of Selfoss where you will find all the modern comforts a town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Vatnsholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatnsholt Hotel Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing