We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
109
90
30
18
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
90
30
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews table tennis one night farm animals minutes' drive friendly animals ping pong northern lights rural setting degree view farm hotel main building waffles private bathroom common room nearby attractions coffee and hot chocolate double room
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 251 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and made to feel very much at home. The rooms are tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Because of the locale which is some distance from other eating establishments , while dining there wewere very impressed with the quality of the food. Although it was early in the season and there were only a few guests, we entered the dining room to find a table set especially for us. The three course dinners were professionally prepared and at a similar price to other quality dining establishments in the country. The breakfasts with such a large selection of choices were the best we encountered on our independent tour. We were met by four friendly dogs, a cat and introduced to a baby Arctic fox that the family is caring for after it was rescued by hunters. A thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Date of stay: June 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Lois0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Lois0,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your lovely feedback with us, we truly appreciate it!

We are also so happy to read, that you liked our place and enjoyed the stay in its best.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We staid for one night in this guesthouse. The room was small but nice. The bathroom was clean. We had the impression of staying in a hotel and not in a guesthouse. The dinner was to expensive. It was 50euros p.p. Their wasnt a menu with the price.

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik_Cro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Patrik C,

thank you for taking your time to write down this nice feedback, we truly appreciate it!

We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It is true, that by the time of renovating all of the buildings, the area got more hotel style, not a guesthouse, that is a good point.

Regarding the dinner, it might seem too expensive, but compairing to other Icelandic restaurant it remains pretty much the same, please trust us, we did the research :)

Anyway, we would be more than happy to welcome you here anytime again in the future!

Kindest regards,
Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We (a family of 4, all adults) stayed at Vatnsholt for one night on late April, when few additional visitors staying with us there. The guesthouse can accommodate for up to more than 80 people, and in fact it does in summer. The rooms impeccably clean, bathrooms very pleasant and warm (it was still winter). The farm is located very close to Reykjavik (app. 40-50 min. by car), but still the feeling is of a remote, very calm and cozy place to stay. We were warmly welcomed by and we were really thankful for their help in getting our lost baggage's which arrived after two days after we arrived to Reykjavik. Certainly one of the best places around Selfoss to stay in. Tips: (A) Ask for the rooms in the house across the reception and dining halls. (B) Tour the farm, it has several lovely horses, some of them are wandering by the windows. (C) If in summer, book ahead, it gets booked quite fast.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamir_Caspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Tamir_Caspi,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your lovely feedback with us, we truly appreciate it!

We are also so happy to read, that you liked our place and enjoyed the stay in its best.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Me and my wife have made a beautifull tour in Iceland with our two teenage daughters.
When we arrived at the guesthouse "Vatsnhold", we immediately got a very warm welcome from the owners ànd from the dogs :-)!
They run a very nice guestfarm with very clean and nice decorated rooms. They and their chef take good care of the visitors with very fine food and breakfast in a cosy restaurant. Margret even bakes super bread every day!
Johann and Margret also give wonderfull tips to explore the fantastic island. We stayed for four nights and visited very nice places in the area.
We will go back to this wonderfull place and people:-)!
Van Winkel family out of Belgium

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Peter V,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your lovely feedback with us, we truly appreciate it!

We are also so happy to read, that you liked our place and enjoyed the stay in its best.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Small, but nice rooms (we got one with our own bathroom even though we just reserved one with shared), friendly people and decent food (although a bit expensive). Great view on Hekla and Eyafjallajökull.
The owner also gave nice tips for our trip the next day.

Date of stay: May 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ACH83629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear ACH83629,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your lovely feedback with us, we truly appreciate it!

We are also so happy to read, that you liked our place and enjoyed the stay in its best.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews