We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Vatnsholt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vatnsholt
Ranked #5 of 27 Selfoss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived late, after midnight. We had phone problems so couldn't call. I was worried that we would show up with no one to check us in. But not to have worried as there was a friendly, helpful, smiling man waiting for us. The rooms are clean and cheerful. Shower was good with plenty of hot water. We didn't eat there other than the included breakfast which was hearty and fresh though a little meagre. Wi Fi for free in the "lobby". Clean, friendly place to sleep and maybe have a bite. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 223 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and made to feel very much at home. The rooms are tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Because of the locale which is some distance from other eating establishments , while dining there wewere very impressed with the quality of the food. Although it was early in the season and there were only a few guests, we entered the dining room to find a table set especially for us. The three course dinners were professionally prepared and at a similar price to other quality dining establishments in the country. The breakfasts with such a large selection of choices were the best we encountered on our independent tour. We were met by four friendly dogs, a cat and introduced to a baby Arctic fox that the family is caring for after it was rescued by hunters. A thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Lois0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We staid for one night in this guesthouse. The room was small but nice. The bathroom was clean. We had the impression of staying in a hotel and not in a guesthouse. The dinner was to expensive. It was 50euros p.p. Their wasnt a menu with the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik_Cro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We (a family of 4, all adults) stayed at Vatnsholt for one night on late April, when few additional visitors staying with us there. The guesthouse can accommodate for up to more than 80 people, and in fact it does in summer. The rooms impeccably clean, bathrooms very pleasant and warm (it was still winter). The farm is located very close to Reykjavik (app. 40-50 min. by car), but still the feeling is of a remote, very calm and cozy place to stay. We were warmly welcomed by and we were really thankful for their help in getting our lost baggage's which arrived after two days after we arrived to Reykjavik. Certainly one of the best places around Selfoss to stay in. Tips: (A) Ask for the rooms in the house across the reception and dining halls. (B) Tour the farm, it has several lovely horses, some of them are wandering by the windows. (C) If in summer, book ahead, it gets booked quite fast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamir_Caspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Me and my wife have made a beautifull tour in Iceland with our two teenage daughters.
When we arrived at the guesthouse "Vatsnhold", we immediately got a very warm welcome from the owners ànd from the dogs :-)!
They run a very nice guestfarm with very clean and nice decorated rooms. They and their chef take good care of the visitors with very fine food and breakfast in a cosy restaurant. Margret even bakes super bread every day!
Johann and Margret also give wonderfull tips to explore the fantastic island. We stayed for four nights and visited very nice places in the area.
We will go back to this wonderfull place and people:-)!
Van Winkel family out of Belgium

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Small, but nice rooms (we got one with our own bathroom even though we just reserved one with shared), friendly people and decent food (although a bit expensive). Great view on Hekla and Eyafjallajökull.
The owner also gave nice tips for our trip the next day.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ACH83629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

it's clean, cozy, and for a guesthouse the kitchen and bathrooms are very good.
it's a great location for northern light hunting: in the middle of no where, little light pollution, and according to the owner it's coastal location means wind tend to blow cloud away at night. and we did see it!
The 3 course dinner we had was a pleasant surprise.
Owners are passionate and helpful. Gave us a lot of detailed advice for a tour of the south coast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jingwen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
16.6 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
12.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
14.9 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatnsholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatnsholt

Address: Vatnsholt 2, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Selfoss
Price Range: $73 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatnsholt 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vatnsholt is a newly renovated country lodge in a beautiful setting above the lake of Villingarholt. From Vatnsholt you will enjoy a magnificent view where you can easily spot the Westman islands (Vestmannaeyjar), the glacier of Eyjafjall (Eyjafjallajökull), the Tinda Mountains (Tindfjöll), the famous volcano Hekla and the slopes of Hella. Vatnsholt is conveniently located 70 km from Reykjavik with an easy access from the main highway, only 16 km from the nearest town of Selfoss where you will find all the modern comforts a town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Vatnsholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatnsholt Hotel Selfoss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing