We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
108
88
29
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
88
29
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarctic foxtable tennisone nightfarm animalsminutes' driveping pongnorthern lightsdegree viewfarm hotelwafflesmain buildingcommon roomown bathroomdouble roomnearby attractionsguest housewatch tv
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 245 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

i was here in may with my daughter. we stayed in a motel type of building -nothing special but quiet ,adequate size and a decent shower. the place is a working farm and the hosts and their various critters were all very friendly. the breakfast and dinner were very good. the surroundings are pretty.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear love2travel4242,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your lovely feedback with us, we truly appreciate it!

We are also so happy to read, that you liked our place and enjoyed the stay in its best.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

By far one of the best guesthouses in Iceland. We had a lovely room with a nice view of the surrounding nature. Dinner was very good with local products from the farm, and the breakfast was clearly above icelandic standard !
Above all, the welcome is really enthusiastic and... you have to see the animals there !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Cyril D,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your lovely feedback with us, we truly appreciate it!

We are also so happy to read, that you liked our place and enjoyed the stay in its best.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place provided the best breakfast (significantly higher number of items and they taste great!) out of all the lodging places we stayed at in our 11-day trip in Iceland! The rooms are clean and a good size, and the surroundings are beautiful with lots of green and many sheep and horses!

We had a double room with shared bathrooms. The living room common area was beautiful. The only downside is the shared bathroom - about 4 rooms and a total of 8 guests sharing one shower and two toilets. This makes showering quite tricky, although we also find this problem common in most of the guesthouses and farm stays on this trip when the rooms are for shared facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espressotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear {0},

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your lovely feedback with us, we truly appreciate it!

We are also so happy to read, that you liked our place and enjoyed the stay in its best.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a really enjoyable time. The welcome was friendly and enthusiastic and everything we could have wanted to know was explained to us on arrival. Vatnsholt is situated in what feels like the middle of nowhere, but in reality is only 10 -15 minutes drive from the small town of Selfoss where there are a couple of useful supermarkets, a hot dog drive through, a KFC, frozen yogurt shop and a very friendly bakery. The place itself is surrounded by lush green fields, with water and mountains views in the distance, and in the golden light of a June evening it feels wonderful to simply stroll about the lanes breathing in the fresh air, listening to bird calls, re-acquainting yourself with nature, and saying hello to the friendly horses.

We were situated in one of the long 'portakabin' type rooms and the only negative I can really mention is that, as (someone has already mentioned) it can get extremely noisy when people enter the building and move along the corridor to their adjacent rooms, the effect being that if you're in bed it feels like the walls are shaking! What we have taken home from this is that here you really need to so as the Icelandic people themselves seem to do, that is don't go to bed while the midnight sun is shining but get out and make the most of it. Or in other words if you expect to get to bed early, if you're a light sleeper then you may find yourself being woken up by other guests or their children racing up and down the corridor even after midnight! We're just putting this down to experience though and it certainly hasn't prejudiced our views on staying here again, indeed, I had an excellent night's sleep!

As in all Icelandic homes, you take your shoes off on entering and there are racks provided here for boots etc as well as a few books / magazines. The room itself was quite small, decorated in neutral colour scheme and furnished with a few knick knacks. It might be considered basic (no coffee maker, no TV,) but everything was spotlessly clean and who wants to watch TV when there's so much to explore outside going on anyway? The bathroom was very small and with the sink unit situated in a corner with a shelf across the top, made brushing teeth a bit of a balancing act which might be an issue if you're not the most mobile of people but again, everything was very clean. Room was equipped with dark blinds so the all-night twilight can be blocked out if you so wish, it did become a little stuffy by morning but made stepping out into the cool morning air a treat.

We ate in the restaurant that evening and were very impressed with the quality of the meal. Bear in mind that the menu is limited - on our night it was a choice of 2 starters, 3 mains & 2 desserts, but the food was excellent and there is a full bar to complement your meal. I enjoyed the shellfish / fish soup with cognac immensely, and the lamb 'spear' & veggies that followed was moist and flavourful. There was no sense of being rushed through the meal by the wait staff and when we felt we were perhaps dawdling over dessert at that it was getting late, were surprised to see new diners arriving and being welcomed in with no hint of 'you're a nuisance, it's late' at all. In fact when we went for a walk after our meal we spotted some of the staff setting out on a horseback ride which you can also arrange here.

As has been mentioned already by other reviewers, there are plenty of animals at the guest house,and although yes, there are several large dogs they are not intrusive or poorly behaved and so even if you are not keen in animals, don't be put off. If on the other hand you're an animal lover or have animal crazy kids, then you can't go wrong, it seems that there is always something feathered or furry to meet here!

All in all we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return, perhaps trying one of the other cabins / houses next time around. This is a laid back, relaxed venue for the young at heart, the owners are open and friendly, and always happy to chat and as this is only their second year of the venture so you can't help but want them to succeed in their venture.

Room Tip: The small adjoining 'strip' rooms can be very noisy with people moving up and down the corridors so if you want peace & quiet pick one of the cabins/ houses
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rune R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear {0},

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your lovely feedback with us, we truly appreciate it!

We are also so happy to read, that you liked our place and enjoyed the stay in its best.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Vatnsholt is best you can ask from an icelandic farmholiday stay! Warm hearted young couple who run the place with a huge heart and passion! All the rooms are light and neat with nice interior.

There are huge amount of different animals of which one can find there own favorite!
And the food! Everything, sauces, soups - whatever you eat are home made in the farm! Lamb, stakes, lobsters - all are either from the own farm or from the area near by. And Magga the Mrs.of the Farm bakes the unbeliveble bread herself for the breakfast! So, you will be sure to get excellent food from the Kitchen!!

We stayed for 3 nights and felt that could have stayed a lot longer;). Next time, when I come for the cathering of the horses, I'd like to stay in the cute little cabins that had a huge window with a unbeliveble view...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SagaLotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear {0},

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your lovely feedback with us, we truly appreciate it!

We are also so happy to read, that you liked our place and enjoyed the stay in its best.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews