We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
108
90
29
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
90
29
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arctic fox table tennis one night farm animals minutes' drive ping pong northern lights degree view farm hotel waffles main building common room own bathroom double room nearby attractions guest house watch tv
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 248 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This was one of the highlights of our Icelandic vacation. What wonderful hosts and gorgeous property! There is a calf, many dogs, horses, a crow - a true menagerie of animals (after all, it is a farmstay). The guesthouse was just renovated and was simply stunning - very modern, clean and elegant. The food was awesome. We would TOTALLY go back. I think it would be a good family spot as well - there was pingpong (table tennis) there and good space for kids to roam.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Miserable. We stayed at the Vatnsholt Inn for a few days. We paid about 110 euros/night. We chose it based on online reviews. Major disappointment! The online photos, descriptions, and reviews were very misleading, in our opinion. The "hotel" is a long prefab shed outbuilding on the "farm," cheaply walled off into a row of mean rooms. The rooms are wretched, tiny, shabby construction, bad linoleum floors, unusable bathroom. Rooms smelled of bad plumbing and were noisy -- each time someone entered the room shed, it was loud and shook the entire building. No phones or wireless access. Bedding was low-quality but newish synthetic comforter and pillow. Room was somewhat clean -- there was mildew and some filth in the bathroom, a few human hairs on the sheets/pillows, etc. For showers, we ended up driving to a different town and used their (very nice) public showers/bathhouse.

The location isn't good either -- deep in the boggy and depressing area below Rte 1. The nearest town Selfoss is down-and-out. The farm was not maintained well, in my opinion. Livestock droppings around the hotel buildings weren't shoveled up during our stay. Dung flies got into our room, and attacked our face and eyes at night.

The common/eating/restaurant area is a huge cold room in a prefab outbuilding, half of which is a walled-off dark are where the livestock live. Internet access often didn't work. Breakfast was a lower quality but complete Scandinavian buffet. Nothing was "homemade" -- coffee and "juice" came from a vending machine, everything else was gas-station quality storebought. The same food came out every day until it was used up.

The other guests seemed miserable, and no one socialized with each other. The people working there were friendly enough, but didn't help much with advice about the area. The farm animals were friendly, some sadly flea-ridden dogs, and a surprising menagerie of expensive "status" pets (English Bulldog, Chinese Cresteds).

All in all, Vatnsholt felt like a tourist trap. The reality was a shock, compared to online reviews and touts. We won't stay here again -- when we return to Iceland, we'll stay at an Edda (school dorms converted to hotels for summer) which at least are built for human habitation. I'm sorry to say this but my advice is, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Dear A B,

first of all, we would like to thank you for taking time to write this feedback, as it is very important to know our guest's experience.

Secondly, we are very sorry to read, that our place did not meet your expectations. It is true, that our place might not be for everyone, as it is isolated farmhouse turned into hotel and not everyone likes this type of accommodation, which we fully respect and appreciate your opinion.

We would be more than happy to welcome you here anytime again in the future and try to prove you, that our hotel is really worth it.

Kind regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Disastrous stay.Selfoss is a very missable place.We only came to use this place as a base fro a couple of days.Despite contacting them several times that we wanted to eat when we arrived there was no food -a party was on. They eventually and grudgingly turned up with a very cold soggy hamburger! In our opinion this was grossly dishonest of the place.We ended up in what was the smallest room I have ever seen in over 40 countries.Very dull location - breakfast looked very tatty and stale.We gave it a miss. Never so delighted to leave a place.Probably suits people just doing short trips out of Reykavik.If you go much further you will realise how bad this place is compared to practically anywhere else in Iceland.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Dear ninebanks,

first of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to write this feedback, as it is very important for us to know the guest's experience.

Secondly, we are sorry to hear, that our place did not meet your expectations and you experienced situation as you describe. There is no apologize, that could smoother this situation, as from what I read, there were some party in the hotel ordered by Icelandic people and therefor our staff could not take care of your needs, as they should have.

We are again very sorry, but would be more than happy to welcome you here again in the future someday and make it up to you, as in our opinion, our place is absolutely worth it.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Iceland for our honeymoon in early Oct. 2011. We weren't originally going to stay over night in Selfoss but once I read reviews for this place I decided to change our itinerary and I'm so happy I did!! We actually ended up staying 2 nights here in the deluxe double room. Everything about this guesthouse/farm is wonderful. We were so impressed with the house, our room(very comfortable bed), the breakfast and dinner and the owners are wonderful people. They are so nice and fun and gave us a more scenic route to a few nearby attractions. They recommended places to go in Reykjavic to as we were travelling there next. This place was our best accomodation in Iceland out of 5 places we stayed across the southern coast. We couldn't recommend this place more!! I wish we could have stayed here our whole trip. Thank you Vatnsholt!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGarv1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Dear CGarv1225,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing you feedback with us. We value every feedback from our guests as it is the best way for us to learn what areas we should improve to reach 100% satisfaction of our guests. I am glad, that we made your honeymoon trip unforgetable!
We are also so happy to read, that you liked our restaurant and the breakfast as well.
It would be our great pleasure to welcome you anytime in the future!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This was our first trip to Iceland and after long delayed flight we were all in need of a rest. We arrived slightly early but were warmly welcomed.
The kids settled in well with the playground and the totally loveable Labrador Tinnie with his ball or lump of wood.
Dinner as mentioned previously was a fixed price but what a dinner!! I had the best lamb that i had tasted and my wife had the fresh trout. The children were happy with the chicken which we had the following night.
The playground was ideal and the rooms spotlessly clean. The staff, owners and all the animals were very friendly and all of us would not hesitate to return.
Location wise the hotel is an ideal base for Geysir, Gullfoss and the national park.

Room Tip: The rooms in the farmhouse are bigger and have views over the lake and have a shared kitchen area and lounge area.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TACR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatnsholt, Guest Relations Manager at Vatnsholt, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Dear TACR48,

thank you so much for taking time to write this lovely feedback, we truly appreciate it!

We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay here with us! Thank you so much for such a kind words regarding our palce and its staff, it is very nice of you!

It would be our pleasure to welcome you in our hotel anytime again in the future!

Kindest regards,

Hotel Vatnsholt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews