We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay here again!”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ended up here unexpectedly when our originally planned accommodations didn't work out. From the start the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our room was huge and spotless. This isn't the low key Icelandic 'rustic' hotel. Everything here is modern and comfortable.
The hot tubs outside were our favourite, they were never to busy and we always had one to ourselves.
The dinner buffet was excellent and the breakfast each morning (included with room price) has lots of selection, including healthy options. The owner was often at breakfast and dinner helping out. All the staff were happy to provide little extras like additional towels upon request. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrozycki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 633 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

We came here to eat dinner and it was a buffet evening. The food was superb. We all commented that we had not been to a high class buffet before! We have meat eaters and vegetarians in our group and there was something for us all. Would thoroughly recommend. The only downside was the price of the wine which was super costly but I think that's probably the same in most places.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie_BBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We rented a 5 bedroom home. It was decorated as you would find a luxurious beach house in the states...surrounded by a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains. The house felt fresh and new. Highly recommend for a stay when exploring thus area.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently stayed here on a ten day tour through Iceland. Beautiful setting with snipes whizzing everywhere and gorgeous vistas. Loved the elegant sparse decor of our room and the pink table clothes and blue dishes of the dining room. Service was excellent and food delicious. Yummy self serve breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaL6L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

That was a really fabulous experience. Very nice, big, clean cottages in the picturesque place. It will be perfect for big families. Hot tubes with thermal water is something fantastic. Nice cozy restaurant with great food. Best croissants in the world!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBudanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2014 and absolutely loved it. We stayed in one of the main apartments. It was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. There was also a hot tub outside that was fun - you can relax after dinner and wait for the Northern lights to appear! Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. Makes a great base for exploring the Golden Circle. We were sad to have to leave and hope to return again soon!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there the first three days of our week here, we knew whilst leaving that this setting and the people around us would create a benchmark. Located perfectly to explore the Golden Circle, great facilities, great location - highly recommended!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank W19oSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
641 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
224 reviews
9.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
530 reviews
13.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: $491 - $1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing