We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gem of a guesthouse in the Golden Circle”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This "luxury guesthouse" was the hotel highlight of our 10 day trip to Iceland to drive the Ring Road. Just wish we could have stayed more than one night. The building we stayed in was brand new and our room looked as if no one had ever stayed there. It was furnished as you would expect an upscale B&B and the bathroom was the best by far of any of the accommodations we stayed in. There were also 4 hot tubs just outside our building that my two sons used. Wifi was also available in the room.

The restaurant had a dinner buffet that was incredible and a wide range of dishes to pick from. It was one of the best meals we had in Iceland though it was rather pricey. The breakfast buffet was also wonderful and the dining room and main house were just as lovely as the rest of the property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1parislover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time writing this wonderful review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland. I hope we'll see you again.
All the best
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grimsborgir
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 629 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Again, because there were six of us, this hotel more or less chose itself. Apartments calls to mind tall buildings. These are actually bungalows. Ours was split into a large part which could take up to 8, and a smaller part which I guess could take four. We shared the driveway and hot tub with the other part of the bungalow, but otherwise we might as well have been separate, so large is the house.

The kitchen is fully fitted out, and the fridge full stocked - a megabar. Decor is heavily white so bring eyeshades as not every bedroom window has blinds. A very good breakfast was included in our fee of €680. We also had a very good buffet dinner at ISK6900 each. The dining room was a bit cramped as it is part of a converted house. Don't know how the kitchen staff cope with a home kitchen, but they do very well.

This made a nice change from the usual small hotel rooms, and the hot tub was great.

Location wise, it is handy for the Golden Circle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuaychap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Grimsborgir and for the review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland. The hot tub really is a treat.
I hope we'll see you again!
All the best
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Having stayed here as our last stop road tripping around Iceland, we had wished we'd stayed here for a few days instead of doing the whole island! You can get a true flavour for Iceland just staying in the south west, with the Gyser, Waterfalls, Iceberg lagoon, lava fields and blue lagoon. This hotel is ideally situated in the Golden Circle. We booked the two bedroom apartment, as there wasn't much difference in cost from the room only option, and it was great, UK TV, useful kitchen, nicely furnished (although very Ikea) and very comfortable beds. The breakfast was the best we have had throughout the island, and beats many top hotels that we have stayed in across the world. We hope to return in the winter to see it all covered in snow! On a side note - ALWAYS TAKE THE WINDSCREEN COVER WHEN RENTING A CAR!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gecko7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Grimsborgir and for the wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland. You should definately come and visit us again in the winter. It's a great location to see the northern lights when they are visable.
All the best
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

First of all I would like to say that the property and accommodations would rival any 4-5 star property in Europe. Beautiful spacious rooms with modern well-appointed amenities such as wide screen TVs and wifi dominate. Outstanding breakfast with a wide variety of choices in a beautiful dining room.The staff is charming especially the proprietor who personally greets and welcomes each guest. But the property is literally located in the middle of nowhere (although Selfloss is nearby). Go here to be pampered and to relax in the wilds of Iceland but be prepared to catch up on emails or to take advantage of the great satellite TV because the property is pretty remote.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Grimsborgir and for the wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland and I hope we'll see you again!
Best regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir - Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The guesthouses were one of the best places we stayed in Iceland. We arrived after 11pm and they still greeted us with a smile. The rooms are nice and clean and the towels are very soft! The dining room is very quaint and the breakfast was good. They were able to supply gluten free bread!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kallins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for the lovely review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland and that you thought Grimsborgir was one of the best places you stayed at.
I hope we'll see you again!
Best regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir - Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were initially attracted to this hotel because it claimed to have private hot tubs. So I tried to book 2 apartments. Unfortunately I was informed that there were no available apartments. However I was told that all the rooms had hot tubs, 3 shared hot tubs for 14 rooms.
At any rate, we were really disappointed when we got to our rooms and found that there were no hot tubs at all in our unit! There may have been hot tubs somewhere that we could have used but truly, Iceland is icy cold even in July and I would not want to have to hike or drive between my hotel room and the hot tub. Perhaps I should have said something while we were there but it was cold and rainy when we got to the hotel and so we only drove over to the main house for meals (at which point the people were busy and I didn't want to make a scene).

Speaking of meals, the buffet dinner was FANTASTIC. However, I am not sure but I think that I may have overpaid for dinners during our stay. We opted not to book an inclusive package because, according to the website, the dinner choices were very limited and we would have to choose our entrees when we booked the rooms. Had I known about the buffet and been able to include it in the package I would have definitely gone with the inclusive package.

Finally, the room darkening shades were insufficient. It never gets dark outside in Iceland in July. Our rooms were in what appeared to be a very new building so perhaps this situation will change. Last week when we were there we found that on one side of the unit we were in, the rooms had white curtains with room darkening shades problem was that those shades fell about 12 inches short of covering the length of the window. On the other side of the unit the rooms had dark curtains which did not really keep out enough light. The only solution we found was to drape the bedspread over the curtain rod. Hopefully the Grimsborgir will soon install better room darkening shades.

At any rate, in spite of all of the above, I would definitely recommend the hotel because the chef is Fantastic. Each item on the buffet dinner was absolutely delicious! So much so in fact that it made up for everything else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is really lovely, rooms and apartments are well appointed and spacious. Food good and views lovely from this hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that likes peace, quiet and nature, you must have a car to get here.

Room Tip: some rooms have hot tubs but these are on the front and so not very private
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland. I hope we'll see you again!

Greetings,
María Brá Finnsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
220 reviews
9.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
815 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
518 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
413 reviews
13.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: $476 - $1,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing