We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best iceland hotel!”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This is the BEST hotel on iceland with a greatful and beautiful view and luxurious equipment. We were cordially received and love the beautiful landscape. This is our 2nd stay here in the last two weeks. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trollUNDelfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. I hope you are well. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Grimsborgir. Hopefully we'll see you again.
Wish you all the best.
Regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir
Reservations & marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grimsborgir
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 629 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012 and liked it a lot. We booked a 2br ‘studio’ apartment which was very clean, modern and comfortable. The layout was a kitchen/dining area, two bedrooms, and a very large bathroom, all nicely appointed. One negative is the lack of a sofa – the only seating was the four hard chairs at the dining table. It would have been nice to lounge somewhere more comfortable in the evening. Not a deal breaker though.

The owners provided exceptional service and I can tell that they really care about their guests and running a good business. Breakfast was first rate with a big selection of hot and cold food served in the comfortable dining room. On our last day we had to leave very early to catch our flight and would have missed breakfast but the owners were kind enough to bring a lovely selection of food to our room the night before so we would have something in the morning before we set off. They also helped with directions and hints and tips about what to see in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Iceland and thank you for the lovely review. We try our best to make everyone's stay extra special.
Hopefully we'll see you again!

Best regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I had my booking cancelled at a nearby hotel as renovations had over-run and they arranged for me to stay here. I was very happy with the apartment especially the bed which was firm but not too firm. I didn't get to use the outdoor hot tub as it ws -6C and the pipes had frozen! I skipped breakfast so can't comment on that. There are at least several separate buildings with apartments and reception and the restaurant are in another building. Everywhere was extremely clean. No complaints about this place if you are looking for accommodation near Selfoss

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enemy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for the review on your stay here. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and that the apartment was comfortable. We are very sorry that you couldn't use the hot tub.
Hopefully you had a good trip overall visiting Iceland.

Best regards
María Brá Finnsdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Like some other recent reviewers, we had originally tried to book the Hotel Ranga - in our case for the Easter weekend - but in hindsight, we were very glad we didn't, if only because from the point of view of seeing the tourist sights in the so-called 'Golden Circle' (Geysir, Gullfoss, Thingvellir, etc.), we discovered that this hotel was ideally placed in the Golden Circle itself, in contrast to the Ranga, from which the Circle turned out to be an hour's drive.

The accommodation at the Grimsborgir, taking the form of apartments, was of a high standard. Ours was a two bedroom apartment adjoining another much larger unit with which we shared a deck and outside hot tub. It looked pretty much brand new and was nicely decorated and very well equipped, with a good sized bathroom and a kitchen area with cooker, sink and fridge-freezer, as well a satellite TV and DVD player in the living room, and free WiFi (this last is, in fact, pretty much the norm in Iceland, with almost every hotel, cafe and restaurant in the country offering it - something hotels in other parts of the world should take note of, and emulate, now we are in the 21st century!).

The apartment units are arranged in a circle on a loop of road, with a building nearest the entrance serving as the reception and restaurant. We ate breakfast there each day (Prosecco and mimosas, as well as a full cooked breakfast, are among the many available options) and also had one excellent dinner.

The owners were extremely helpful and full of good advice about what to see and where to go, and generally we felt very much welcomed and well taken care of throughout.

We would definitely go back there and recommend the Grimsborgir to anyone who wanted to see South Iceland, which is where many of the better known sights are.

The only two improvements we would ask for are:

a) clearer instructions on how to use the hot tub, which we found empty on arrival. Our Icelandic neighbours in the other flat were obviously used to it, as we found them all enjoying it on our second evening there, but on the last night, when we wanted to use it, they had left and we felt it was too late (about 10:30pm) to start going back to reception to ask about it (there was no internal phone system, nor a handset in the apartment). We couldn't find instructions for it, so that was one thing we missed out on.

b) More shaded or less street lighting and/or a timing system to turn off the garage lights of some of the units, as all of these interfere with seeing the Northern Lights. We were lucky enough to be accorded over an hour's display one evening, but cursed the sodium lighting which we felt got in the way; we were actually tempted to drive out onto a deserted part of the road outside to get a better view, and only the fact that we were in our pyjamas at the time, plus the risk that they might suddenly stop, dissuaded us!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank henrydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us in Iceland. This is indeed a very popular location and is great for those who want to visit the amazing sights of the Golden Circle.
We are sorry that you did not get better instructions about using the hot tub, we would gladly have helped you out.

Hopefully we'll see you again!
Kindest Regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir
Reservations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel Grimsborgir is an unusual development which looks to have been a group of houses converted to holiday accommodation. The main hotel building with reception, restaurant and small bar even has the kitchen in a converted garage! That said the individual guest houses are large, comfortable and very well-equipped. Even the dining table was laid ready for entertaining - it was like a luxury show house!

We ate in the restaurant on a couple of nights and the food was excellent. Breakfast was also very good marred only by mediocre coffee out of a press button machine. Throughout our four day stay the food in Iceland was exceptionally good from the cafe at Geysir and the Cafe Paris in Reyjavik to the Fjorubordid lobster restaurant near Selfoss (despite the rather shanty town location).

All in all an enjoyable stay and a good location for sightseeing, star/northern lights gazing and day trips to Reyjavik.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Iceland and that you liked the food and the location.
I hope we'll see you again!

All the best,
María Brá Finnsdóttir
Reservations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

From the minute we arrived, and were given an upgrade to a wonderful and brand new guest home, every aspect of Grimsborgin was simply terrific. We had originally booked the Hotel Ranga, and I'm sure it would have been great. But based on our experience at Grimsborgin, we were thrilled that Ranga had overbooked, and we were switched to the Grimsborgin..

Their restaurant was fabulous, too. And, our hosts seemed to really care that every aspect of our stay was perfect.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mediapackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here with us in Iceland and lucky for you we could upgrade you to the guesthouse. Hope to see you again! Wish you all the best.
Kindest regards,
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Reservations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Four of us, 2 couples, spent 3 nights in the Grimsborgir apartments as part of a 5 day trip to Iceland. The objective was to spend 3 nights outside Reykjavik away from the light pollution to improve the chance of seeing the Lights. On arrival we were greeted by a Union Jack on the flagpole outside our rooms and instead of a 2 bedroom unit we were upgraded free of charge to one which slept 7 and had a massive lounge, fully equipped kitchen and huge bathroom. There was a hot tub outside for watching the Lights, if they arrived, and on the third night they appeared in all their splendour! The owner, Olafur, and his wife, Christina, were the absolute model of helpfulness and caring. An example was the preparing of the hot tub so it was ready when we got back from our days out so we could hop straight in. We had breakfast, packed lunch and dinner, all of which were superb. We had day trips with South Iceland Adventures which was another excellent time and added up to wonderful Icelandic friendliness and a desire to go the extra mile to ensure we had a great time.

Room Tip: Any one will do! They are all great
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjlfarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay here in Grímsborgir, we appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here with us in Iceland. We always try our best to help our guests. Hope to see you again!

Wish you all the best,
Kind Regards
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Reservations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
220 reviews
9.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
815 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
518 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
413 reviews
13.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: $476 - $1,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing