We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice of hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent choice of hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights here; the weather during our stay was terrible and we were so grateful that we had chosen Grimsborgir; our own hot tub was a wonderful treat to come home to after a wind and rain soaked day. The apartment was huge and beautifully appointed, it was within an easy drive of several amazing sights, and, for us, it turned out to be the perfect choice. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us in Iceland. The hot tub does sound amazing, hopefully we'll see you again.

Wish you all the best,
Greetings
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Reservations and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    115
    44
    13
    4
See reviews for
164
283
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and wife stayed here for one night and everything was pretty much excellent. I have now stayed in many country hotels within an hour drive from Reykjavik and this is the best one yet. Service was excellent, and both breakfast and dinner very good for a hotel in the Icelandic country side. The only complain I had is that the hot tub should have been a little warmer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Grímsorgir. We are very glad you enjoyed the time you spent here. Hopefully we'll see you again!

Wish you all the best,
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Reservations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I wish I had known before I came that I would have a fully operational kitchen at the Grimsbirgir. I would have bought food and beverage.

That being said, all in all, a very pleasant experience. We shared with our travel companions, and it was excellent. It was part of a package we booked, and our tour guides (booked separately) picked us up and dropped us off each day.

It is a great place to sit outside in the hot tub and watch the aurora after hiking on volcanos all day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us in Iceland. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here. The hot tub really does sound amazing.
Hope to see you again.

Wish you all the best,
Kind regards
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Reservations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a self-drive trip. Breakfast was included in the price, but given that we booked it as part of a travel package we dont know the price we paid for this particular night.

We stayed in a normal room which was clean, but very, very small. No space to store the suitcases without having to step over them. The hotel did not provide any amenities (sth one would expect staying at a hotel with Luxury in its name). There was no telephone in the room to call reception. Finally it provided a kettle and cups but no tea and coffee?!?

Breakfast was good. Choices of breads, meats, eggs, juices etc. Overall a good start to the day.

In summary, this is not luxury. It was a nice, pleasant stay. Luxury would require a spa, hot tubs etc. If you get a good deal, stay here, as it can be good value for money, but luxury might be pushing it a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us.
I am sorry that you didn't get as much out of the stay as you were expecting. The thing is that the standard hotel rooms do not include as much as the apartments which cost more. In the apartments there is a hot tub, kitchen and living room. The travel agencies aren't always thinking about that and they rather buy the accommodation that is less expensive.
We have a lovely restaurant here and if people want coffee and tea they can always come to the restaurant and have tea, coffee, sugar or whatever they need.

I hope you had a good trip and enjoyed your stay anyway.

Wish you all the best,
Greetings,
María Brá Finnsdóttir, reservtions&marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want an 'away from it all' experience, this is the place. (There are no shops, no discos, very few people).
We drove from Reykjavik, and from here spent 3 days exploring the wonders of nature. We saw waterfalls, geysers, volcanoes, glaciers, and the wilderness of Pingholt. A simply stunning area of natural beauty.
Apartment was good too - clean, convenient and warm. Hot tub on decking too.

The evening meals were well cooked and presented, and the host and hostess most obliging.
All in all a very relaxing break.

Couple of minor points:
Would be good to have bath robes to go out to hot tub iin the cold weather.
Studio 3 needs a couple of armchairs or a sofa, and there was a smell of drains in the shower.

Thank you for a chance to recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay, we really appreciate it.
We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us in Iceland.

Wish you all the best
Best regards
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Reservations & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in Grimsborgir for about 4 nights in early January. Somehow we were upgraded to a 4 bedroom house for just the 2 of us. We loved it. The cottage was beautifully decorated and everything was like.brand new. Since we were booked into private tours, we didn't have a car and of course we didn't know the distance from our cottage to the main house and since it was early January there were days that the road between us & the main house was icy and the owner would drive over to our cottage & pick us up and take us to breakfast or dinner and then take us back. We really appreciated their kind attention to us.

The breakfasts & dinners were truly excellent. So comforting after a long day of cold and wet sightseeing (early January) it was wonderful to have a delicious soup and amazing dinner.

One afternoon we arrived after a long day and we were so wet and our hiking clothes were soaked and the owner took our clothes and had them washed and dried while we were at dinner.

Such amazing, kind service and beautiful cottages. Can't say enough good things about them.

Room Tip: If you're going during winter months and don't have a car you should request a cottage close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time here at our hotel. Hope to see you again!

Wish you all the best,
Greetings
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Reservations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was the first place we stayed when visiting Iceland and was pretty much the best. We stayed for 3 nights and used it as a base to visit the golden circle and thingvellir national park - it's perfectly situated for that and not too far from Reykjavik. When we arrived we were personally escorted by Olaf to our apartment. The apartment was a real surprise as we had our own kitchen, 2 bedrooms, lounge area with sofa, and a private hot tub - great to comeback to after a day walking. Home from home! The apartments are newly built so are very high spec, and very clean.

We ate in the restaurant twice as there's not a lot of options locally. The food was enjoyable, and had a nice atmosphere. One night some locals were celebrating and got on the piano to sing some Icelandic songs which we enjoyed. The breakfast is very good too, with lots to choose from, like eggs, bacon etc to more healthier options.

Over all I thinks it's fair to say that this is a luxury experience in Iceland and well worth the money if you fancy a treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willypratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us in Iceland.
Hope to see you again !

Wish you all the best.
Greetings
María Brá Finnsdóttir
Reservations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
3.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
29.7 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
7.3 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Property: Hotel Grimsborgir
Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing