We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury might be pushing it”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a self-drive trip. Breakfast was included in the price, but given that we booked it as part of a travel package we dont know the price we paid for this particular night.

We stayed in a normal room which was clean, but very, very small. No space to store the suitcases without having to step over them. The hotel did not provide any amenities (sth one would expect staying at a hotel with Luxury in its name). There was no telephone in the room to call reception. Finally it provided a kettle and cups but no tea and coffee?!?

Breakfast was good. Choices of breads, meats, eggs, juices etc. Overall a good start to the day.

In summary, this is not luxury. It was a nice, pleasant stay. Luxury would require a spa, hot tubs etc. If you get a good deal, stay here, as it can be good value for money, but luxury might be pushing it a bit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us.
I am sorry that you didn't get as much out of the stay as you were expecting. The thing is that the standard hotel rooms do not include as much as the apartments which cost more. In the apartments there is a hot tub, kitchen and living room. The travel agencies aren't always thinking about that and they rather buy the accommodation that is less expensive.
We have a lovely restaurant here and if people want coffee and tea they can always come to the restaurant and have tea, coffee, sugar or whatever they need.

I hope you had a good trip and enjoyed your stay anyway.

Wish you all the best,
Greetings,
María Brá Finnsdóttir, reservtions&marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 645 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want an 'away from it all' experience, this is the place. (There are no shops, no discos, very few people).
We drove from Reykjavik, and from here spent 3 days exploring the wonders of nature. We saw waterfalls, geysers, volcanoes, glaciers, and the wilderness of Pingholt. A simply stunning area of natural beauty.
Apartment was good too - clean, convenient and warm. Hot tub on decking too.

The evening meals were well cooked and presented, and the host and hostess most obliging.
All in all a very relaxing break.

Couple of minor points:
Would be good to have bath robes to go out to hot tub iin the cold weather.
Studio 3 needs a couple of armchairs or a sofa, and there was a smell of drains in the shower.

Thank you for a chance to recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay, we really appreciate it.
We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us in Iceland.

Wish you all the best
Best regards
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Reservations & marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in Grimsborgir for about 4 nights in early January. Somehow we were upgraded to a 4 bedroom house for just the 2 of us. We loved it. The cottage was beautifully decorated and everything was like.brand new. Since we were booked into private tours, we didn't have a car and of course we didn't know the distance from our cottage to the main house and since it was early January there were days that the road between us & the main house was icy and the owner would drive over to our cottage & pick us up and take us to breakfast or dinner and then take us back. We really appreciated their kind attention to us.

The breakfasts & dinners were truly excellent. So comforting after a long day of cold and wet sightseeing (early January) it was wonderful to have a delicious soup and amazing dinner.

One afternoon we arrived after a long day and we were so wet and our hiking clothes were soaked and the owner took our clothes and had them washed and dried while we were at dinner.

Such amazing, kind service and beautiful cottages. Can't say enough good things about them.

Room Tip: If you're going during winter months and don't have a car you should request a cottage close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time here at our hotel. Hope to see you again!

Wish you all the best,
Greetings
María Brá Finnsdóttir, Reservations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was the first place we stayed when visiting Iceland and was pretty much the best. We stayed for 3 nights and used it as a base to visit the golden circle and thingvellir national park - it's perfectly situated for that and not too far from Reykjavik. When we arrived we were personally escorted by Olaf to our apartment. The apartment was a real surprise as we had our own kitchen, 2 bedrooms, lounge area with sofa, and a private hot tub - great to comeback to after a day walking. Home from home! The apartments are newly built so are very high spec, and very clean.

We ate in the restaurant twice as there's not a lot of options locally. The food was enjoyable, and had a nice atmosphere. One night some locals were celebrating and got on the piano to sing some Icelandic songs which we enjoyed. The breakfast is very good too, with lots to choose from, like eggs, bacon etc to more healthier options.

Over all I thinks it's fair to say that this is a luxury experience in Iceland and well worth the money if you fancy a treat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willypratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us in Iceland.
Hope to see you again !

Wish you all the best.
Greetings
María Brá Finnsdóttir
Reservations & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January, and really enjoyed our stay. Upon arrival, Olaf (the owner) upgraded our accommodations to one of the huge guest houses (3), with it's own private hot-tub overlooking the beautiful scenery. The guest house was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and there were great sitting areas.

We ate dinner at the restaurant one night, and it was delicious! Breakfasts were the best of our trip--with a great selection of hot items to choose from, fruit and pastries.

The service we received was excellent. Everyone we crossed paths with was exceptionally helpful.

We would definitely return and recommend others to do the same.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you for your review on your stay.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us in Iceland.
Hope we see you again !

Wish you all the best.
Greetings
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in one of the hotel rooms for one night only. We were greeted by Olafur himself who is the most congenial of hosts with an impressive CV. This is a host who really wants to make sure you are taken care of, recommending various local attractions. Olafur let us have our choice of room which was a nice touch. The room was very comfortable and toasty warm, good tv, a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. Lovely clean, modern, walk-in shower. The style of dining area and rooms are furnished IKEA style; with a Scandinavian chic. We dined there and whilst the meal was on the expensive side, this is Iceland – two mains, desserts, a beer/juice and coffees cost us 11,500 Isk (around £58). Maybe it was a touch on the salty side, but a pleasant enough meal. Breakfast is well impressive with a good selection. The mini Danish pastries could have come from Paris! Absolutely scrumptious! Free wi-fi from the main building, but a little hit and miss from our hotel room. The location is stunning though and having a delicious breakfast while watching the dawn rise over the icy mountains is breath-taking. Thanks Olafur for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mipanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay here with us in Iceland.
We are glad you had such a wonderful time here with us and enjoyed your stay.

Wish you all the best.
Greetings
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked these apartments as an independent 4 night trip to Iceland in the hope of seeing the Northern Lights. The location is perfect for light viewing, if they appear you can view them from the comfort of your very own hot tub!

We were upgraded by the lovely owner to a large 3 bedroom apartment with its own hot tub, which was more like a villa than an apartment. Beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean. Wonderfully warm underfloor heating kept us snug as the outside temperatures reached -7degrees.

The owners, Olafur & Kristin are wonderful hosts with a wealth of experience in the hotel and hospitality industry, and it shows with their attention to detail. An on site restaurant provides a complimentary breakfast and some delicious evening meals if you don't want to cook your own or venture into Selfoss.

I would really recommend a stay at these apartments, trust me you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for an apartment with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay.
We are glad to hear you had such a wonderful time here with us, and we could make the best of your stay in Iceland. Good to hear you enjoyed beeing upgraded to a more nice apartment.


Wish you all the best.
Greetings
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
29.5 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
853 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
663 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
438 reviews
13.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: $500 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing