We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay. Website Pictures do not do this place justice!”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay. Website Pictures do not do this place justice!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were traveling in a group of four. This was our first hotel after several days in Reykjavik. We were not sure what to expect, but it was amazing! The property is made up of several bungalows and small houses. We were in house that was two apartments. Ours was a two bedroom with a nice living room, kitchen and bathroom. Everything looked new and was very clean! The walls were a light green and had a lot of white trim and white furniture. It reminded us of an east coast beach cottage. We had a nice hot tub behind the house with our grill and table. We had a lovely view of the surrounding mountains and fields.
The onsite restaurant was fantastic. Lala kept great care of us and was always very happy. Dinners and breakfast were always great. If you are on a budget than you could easily get food at the market and prepare it in your kitchen. We had an oven, microwave, dish washer, and full sized refrigerator. The cabinets were also stocked with everything you find in your own kitchen.
If you have any questions or need a tour organized Olauf the owner is more than happy to help you. He was great, and we loved our stay. We would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austintxrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    121
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
166
289
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This guest house was amazing. I have traveled extensively throughout Europe and parts of Canada, and I have never stayed in such nice accommodations for the price. The houses are all beautiful, extremely clean, and spacious. They contain all needed amenities.

Also, the couple who runs the place, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant on site is also fantastic. I would stay there over and over again and would definitely recommend this place to all of my family and friends. If I make it back to Iceland, this will be my first choice of places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tetrusmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

What a lovely place , beauty full nature, exclusive guesthouses, amazing food and I must mention the hospitality of the owner , Thanks a lot Olafur you made the Sunday lunch a real treat for the four of us.

Just one hour from Reykjavik and then 1,5 hour drive to the airport a perfect way to end the week we had in Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagbjørt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My friend and I booked our trip to Iceland through a travel agency and absolutely could not believe the place when we got there. Nestled in a valley with beautiful mountains and a lake, these individual houses are the best accommodation I have ever stayed in anywhere. Each house has its own hot tub on its private deck that fills at the push of a button from an underground spring. The houses are extremely well furnished and would sleep a large group. For two of us it was like living in a palace! The onsite restaurant has delicious gourmet food and the staff and owners are some of the nicest people I've met travelling. From beginning to end our 3 night stay was 1st class. I cannot recommend this place enough. There are not words to do it justice. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: They are all houses - there is not a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJT_518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at Grímsborgir for only one evening, but had we known how wonderful it was, I definitely would have altered our itinerary ahead of time to stay longer. The accommodation was excellent, clean and spacious. The food was delicious, and our host Olaf was both kind and helpful. Would absolutely recommend to anyone and return if for a longer stay if I could.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great stay. The owner was amazing. Good dinner. Wonderful environment. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drfelippe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We can't say enough about this accommodation and its wonderful owner, Olafur Laufdal. The apartment was booked through our package with Nordic Visitor (see our review on that too), and we had the best and most comfortable lodging here of our week long stay in Iceland. The dinner was perfect, the breakfast delicious. We loved sitting in the hot tub in the midnight sun of mid-May. What a restful, luxurious place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLA_BBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
9.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Property: Hotel Grimsborgir
Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing