We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and would love to return”
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grimsborgir
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great concept and 100% attention to detail - many thanks for your hospitality.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank traceyalanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 645 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were a couple with an 18 month old toddler and the amenities of this place were heaven-sent for us. The large rooms where he could play indoors, the large bathroom. Not only was the large apartment guesthouse large, it was extremely modern, with all designer (Ikea) elements making staying here such a comfortable experience. We self-toured with our rental car all around southern Iceland, including a day at Joklusaron Glacier which is a long day's drive. It was wonderful to come back to such a luxurious apartment. I keep using that word because that is simply the truth; I have never encountered such a place on our travels elsewhere in the world, or other areas of Iceland! We were happy with the place and got to do our own cooking every night. We decided on this option since it was best for keeping up with the toddler's needs (picky eater) and had a Bonus supermarket only a 10 minute drive away. I agree with another reviewer who said it was not an apartment, but really a house all to ourselves. A really elegant one that is nicer than ours at home! Olafur and Kristin were so nice and called up to a farm they knew along the way of Route 35 to help us with road conditions, since we were contemplating taking that road up to Akuyreri (which we did, and was still pretty slow going on a non-rainy June day!) They were a wonderful host couple and I'd recommend the Grimsborgir Cottages to ANYONE considering going to Iceland since it is on the Golden Circle and it seems everybody goes there at least!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mton8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

As the name says, it is truly a luxury guesthous, especially for people who have seen other guest houses in iceland either online or from a previous trip to iceland its worlds apart. The compound is located in the middle of nature at a lake/river with multiple large houses with 1-2 appartments in them; each apartment has its own terrace to enjoy the view and nature as well as a hot pot (not a jacuzzi as it doesn't bubble) with fresh vulcanic water for a hot 40 degree Celsius bath. Ample parking in front of each house. each ouse is connected to the main house through a private circulare road. Rooms are new and very clean and just nice. the overall theme is nordic interior and its just nice to walk onto your terrace and sit and enjoy the sight in front of the house. They have small and larger rooms, the only downside maybe that when you travel with larger groups that sharing a single very large bathroom maybe unusual. In that case maybe smaller rooms for each family are a better option rather than one big one. It doesn't matter on teh budget as its calculated by person not by the room!

Breakfast buffet is inclusive and for lunch or dinner they offer a nice selection through the icelandic specialties, from lamb to lobster to fish everything was delicious! The quality of the food was excellent and even better than some highly regarded restaurants we visited around iceland!

The place is run by Olaf and Kristin who will help and service you throughout the stay with their warm and friendly service. And if your lucky the dog of the house will greet you if he is not roaming around somehwere in nature. just like the management he is a wonderfully friendly addition to the place.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and its located very strategically for day trips up to Vik, golden circle, Kalidatur, etc. its just 10 minutes away from Selfoss. Instead of staying in a expensive hotel in Reykjavik or along road 1, this is a true option for the budget and luxury given. The website does not do justice to the place, it is much nicer than on the pictures.

You can book directly with them and they are very easy and responsive to deal with via email.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners when rooms are free they will allow you to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorianGroebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and two kids stayed at this lovely guest house for four nights. The separate houses are beautiful, modern and comfortable, comfy beds and well equipped kitchens. The food served at the main lodge was superb, huge breakfast easily enough to bide you over till the afternoon, and delicious and reasonable dinner. The hosts could not be more helpful and accommodating. The views from the guest houses are lovely and each house has a hot tub,
The central location is absolutely perfect for exploring south Iceland: Geysir, Gulfoss, Pingvellir and Vik.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Our tour company booked this for us, so we were very happily surprised to discover this beautiful, spacious, light-filled house near the sights of Iceland's Golden Circle. The restaurant provides good food, and the hosts were very helpful and gracious. Lovely for a family vacation or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiladelphiaMatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We loved our stay at Grimsborgir Guest House for one night in the middle of our honeymoon! It was pure luxury to have our own hot tub outside our own cottage in such a beautiful location. And the owners were so sweet, they made me something vegetarian even though there was nothing on the menu. Brilliant, brilliant place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

A huge surprise in a rural area of Iceland. This guest house is made up of a dozen spacious and modern cottage units. Each of these independent homes has everything including an outdoor private hot tub, a complete luxurious kitchen, a formal dining table and a great room with a panoramic view of the surrounding scenery through the large windows. On first glance, the restaurant is nothing more than a converted cottage home. However, the service is great and the food is among the best we can find in Iceland.

SKL. Los Angeles

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losimonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
29.5 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
854 reviews
7.1 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
664 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
438 reviews
13.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range: $502 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing