We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cabin, would stay here again”
Review of Gesthus Selfoss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gesthus Selfoss
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute cabin, would stay here again”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Loved this little place. Cabin was warm & cosy & staff were friendly & helpful. Although we did not have breakfast we saw the kitchen & dining room on arrival & like our cabin it was spotless. The only improvement we could think of was that a sachet or 2 of coffee/tea would have been nice. We would certainly recommend this place & would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulah74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
62
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a cosy cabin which comes with a private bathroom and a well equipped kitchen. We managed to prepare our own dinner for the night and breakfast the next day. The cabin is well managed and clean. It was a comfortable stay for us.

The owners were friendly. We arrived outside the check-in hours but earlier than our expected arrival time communicated to the management, hence the owner was out. We were still being attended to in a short time.

When asked for directions to certain point of interests, we were instantly given a free map of the southern part of Iceland and clear directions and histories of point of interest. The owner also made a call for us when we asked on how to settle a traffic summon received the day earlier.

All in all, a value for money stay and helpful owners. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowGlacier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Nice cosy cottage in the middle of the town. There is a little kitchen in the cottage with a fridge. Everything is nearby. There are two hottubs for you to enjoy. The caretaker was very friendly and helpfull. He had nice suggestions where to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Small but nice Cabins in a campsite. The cabins are small but for a night or two of sleep have all thats needed. There are 2 common Hot Tubs, which were ready when we arrived. The owner was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maor_Miguel_Ribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Probably the best value for money stay in Iceland. We paid 8k ISK and feel that we got quite a lot as part of the deal. The hotel is easy to find even though it is off the main road (actually a good thing). It is close to many supermarkets and shops so good place to stop and restock. We had a cabin which was surprisingly spacious, well decorated and had a new, clean feel to it. No problems with heating or showers but the hot water had a sulphur smell (this is normal in Iceland). Breakfast is not part of the deal but an extra. You can have it for convenience for under 2k ISK but there are shops around the corner for the budget conscious. There was an option to make use of the hot tub. The hot tub looked clean but we passed as it was getting a little late and we just wanted to rest. The owner seemed like a decent enough chap. We enjoyed a good, relaxing stay and if in Iceland again would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigWorgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at Guesthus Selfoss. Check in was a breeze, and the owner recommended some local restaurants. We were the only people staying that night but he still set out breakfast for us. Our cabin was warm when we arrived, which was a huge relief coming in from the freezing Iceland air. While the decor is a bit sparse and dated, the cabins had everything we needed and proved to be more than adequate. We were warm and comfortable all night. Only negatives would be the lighting (1 bulb overhead, 1 tiny lamp over the bed) and that the shower floor filled quite a bit. Otherwise, it's a great value for your money!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Cute to stay in a cabin. The price was far cheaper than the other places I stayed in Iceland - I wasn't expecting much, but was very, very pleasantly surprised!
On a side note, that although I enjoyed the Guesthouse, I actually wouldn't stay in Selfoss again, there are more beautiful towns nearby that aren't as populated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
11.6 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arctic Nature Hotel
Arctic Nature Hotel
#7 of 8 in Selfoss
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
587 reviews
19.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Apartments&Rooms
Bella Apartments&Rooms
#3 of 26 in Selfoss
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gesthus Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gesthus Selfoss

Property: Gesthus Selfoss
Address: Engjavegur 56, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gesthus Selfoss offers warm and cozy accommodation to people visiting South Iceland. We are located in the heart of the town Selfoss.We are called "The Star of the south" because of our location between all the interesting attractions in South Iceland.Gesthus consists of 22 nice little bungalows nestled between the trees (we call it the forest). Each house can accommodate from 1 to 4 guests.Every house has its private bathroom with WC and shower, cooking facilities and refrigerator. Our guests have access to two hot tubs heated with geothermal water, which are open during the summer time.In summer time our breakfast buffet is open from 8:00-10:00 hrs in our service center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gesthus Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing